We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, Comfortable, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the City Hotel when we visited Stuttgart to enjoy Canstatter Wasen. We were able to get their quickly via train, but were able to enjoy being a bit further away in the evening.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, with a private balcony that you could kick back and enjoy the Stuttgart skyline drinking a beer or wine from the in-room bar (which was VERY reasonably priced, unlike most minibars). The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was sparkling clean. The breakfast included with the stay was also excellent, and the breakfast room is BEAUTIFUL.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
51
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itu-SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This a very pleasant hotel. Its members are kind and warmly polite. Well situated, its accommodations are simply but comfortable. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizItu_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the City Hotel during our city break in Stuttgart. On first impression the immediate area around the hotel seemed a little grim although we encountered no problems during our stay. The hotel is well located very close to the U-Bahn station ‘Olgaeck’ which provides frequent trains and is only two or three stops from the city centre. There are restaurants, bars and a grocery store all within easy walking distance, although it is best to research beforehand the type of places you may wish to visit to save any wandering around.

In terms of the hotel, their staff is friendly, helpful and everything is kept clean. But I do feel the hotel needs some modernisation to compete with the likes of Holiday Inn etc. Our room and bathroom were large enough and contained a mini bar but no tea & coffee making facilities while the TV set was very dated indeed. Apart from reception and the breakfast area, the décor of this hotel is a rather outdated. We were very disappointed to find no hotel bar as we enjoy a hotel nightcap before retiring for the night – most similar German hotels we have used provide this service, even if it just a beer pump and a few bottles attached onto reception. The breakfast area is very impressive and filled with natural light from a glass roof. The food is good but the amount laid out is quite small for the size of room and we had to ask for something to be replenished every day. Hot eggs are available but you have to ask and this isn’t clear – we only realised when we saw others served.

Overall, we had a nice trip and no problems with this hotel. Were we to visit Stuttgart again we would probably choose somewhere that offered a little more for our money, although I would stay at the City Hotel again for a shorter stay and/or if it were modernised.

Room Tip: There is no public bar at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LintonWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here while in Stuttgart for business. The single room was tiny and very basic, which is okay but the bed was so unevenly worn I nearly rolled off onto the floor during the night. Breakfast was delicious and the location made it easy to get around. Nice enough but by no means luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmumNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My Husband & I stayed in this hotel in April. The location is great!! The hotel was very clean, the food was good & the staff was very helpful. We would stay again if we are ever in the Stuttgart area!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimieJo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Loved the location. Free parking in courtyard,if space available, otherwise you have to find a space on street. Clean Room. Near train. Close to many downtown attractions. Nice and helpful staff. Breakfast plenty of choices. Nice comfy bed with soft linens. I would stay here again without hesitation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkatevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed here with my two sons in May. We had a triple room, which had 2 twin beds pushed together and a makeshift futon on the floor in the corner of the room. The beds were comfortable, but the futon was not. The bathroom was clean but small, as most German hotel bathrooms are. No air conditioning but we were able to leave the window open at night for some fresh air. The breakfast room is wonderful. It is in an atrium room so there is beautiful sunlight in the morning..the breakfast options were really good. We enjoyed that the hotel was within walking distance to a grocery store and also the trains. We also were able to walk around a massive shopping area. There is a fantastic Italian restaurant, La Piazza, just down the street that has a wonderful outdoor terrace for dining, we ate there twice and loved it both times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Rathaus
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Rotebühl
Central-Classic Hotel
Central-Classic Hotel
#28 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Gastehaus Ziegler
#51 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abalon Hotel Ideal
#44 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Wartburg Hotel
#32 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Pension am Heusteig
#40 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Uhlandstr. 18, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing