We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super hotel, though occasional service lapses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Stuttgart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Stuttgart
Ranked #4 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super hotel, though occasional service lapses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This in general is a super hotel, particularly taking into account its location in Stuttgart and in Germany. While I have stayed there with my family once or twice, I've stayed here on business likely 30+ times. There are several things I particularly like about this hotel:

1. valet parking and luggage service;

2. a terrific, large, clean swimming pool to get in your laps along with a huge and diverse sauna facility, which is a great way to begin a day or relax and de-stress after a long day of meetings and travel;

3. the staff are pretty friendly and genuinely reach out and try to be helpful, the restaurant (particularly at the bar) has great food and drinks, the concierge is great with help (sending / receiving faxes, printing e-mails and attachments, pressing suit / shirts, arranging punctual room service breakfasts, etc.);

4. the location is extremely central and easy to reach;

5. room quality and service is very much superior to the other offerings in Stuttgart and what is typical for German hotels;


In terms of drawbacks, I'd note the following:

1. the hotel isn't terribly cheap and is not suited for the budget-conscious;

2. service can at times be slow (eg, I've been late for meetings when my valet-parked rental car was not brought out front as promised, the luggage porter didn't show up, etc.), however the hotel has generally improved and I haven't noticed this recently;

3. the main restaurant has become a French restaurant more in the mode of attempting to "educate" guests as to what fine food in the view of the chef may be as opposed to providing "comfort food" to business travelers at the end of a long day; for example, last week I was served an appetizer that mixed chocolate, duck pate, raisins, bread, and some type of berry gelatin - while this may be some folks' taste, that really didn't agree with my stomach; also, instead of being able to sit anywhere, they had only one room open with candles, white table cloths, etc., I was trying to have a meal and drinks with a couple of business partners and that just wasn't the right situation, though the valet-parking and central location made for a good place to meet; I think the hotel would be better off if they also had a normal dining option for folks not interested in expensive, exotic "french" cuisine and cuilnary experiments provided in tiny portions at exceptionally high prices. For food, try the bar - they do have caesar salads and burgers there!

4. If you're headed to the airport for an early morning flight (say, to the US), do factor in extra time as with rush hour and distance to the airport, it'll take a while to get there. That being said, the hotel is super and great for business.

All-in-all, though, I would say this is a super hotel as the service is top notch and the staff genuinely try to help. When something does go wrong (we're all human after all), they try to make it right, take whatever off the bill, whatever it takes. I emphasize, though, that all of this comes at a price...

Room Tip: Personally, I like rooms out front with a view of the city, when I've been placed out back (Germ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selim_Mokni, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Le Meridien Stuttgart, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear "GeorgiaJoe",

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice and detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you could enjoy your stay at our hotel once again.
Wwe also noted your improvement suggestions - as for example in our restaurant or our valet parking - and forwarded them already to the concerning departements. Thank you very much for your help.

Dear "GeorgiaJoe", we would be pleased to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Selim Mokni
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    355
    100
    35
    12
See reviews for
137
352
91
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is quite lovely, the bar and dinner areas are okay though food pricey. The rooms were lovely and neat with good sound proof. The outside location has some construction going on around and its about 10 minutes walk into the city centre with shops and all. Not too many restaurants around this shopping street except for steak house.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nene_iwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

this hotel is located right in the center, near the central railway station and the old and new castles, which explains I guess the expensive price. but it is comparable to hotels of same level in stuttgart. the personnel is very nice and helpful. the rooms are very nice, clean and quiet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We picked this hotel based off TripAdvisor ratings. We were not disappointed.

The rooms were nice and spacious for European standards. We had 2 rooms. One for the teenagers (two twin beds) and one for us (1 queen bed). The hotel even came with a little bathrobe and slippers.

It was within a short walk to the Hauptbahnhof (main train station) and downtown was nearby and there was a Schlosspark across the street. Had there not been construction going on, the view would have been wonderful.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was quite nice (and quite expensive).

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of traffic, ask for one that faces the courtyard and not the Schloss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we stayed at le meridien hotel this september (21-29/sep) and realy enjoed our stay.our twin room had a view of the adjacent park and the central train station. the room was large, modern, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. the hotel had every ammenity one would expect to find at a luxury hotel- efficient and polite service, a breakfast buffet to die for, free internet positions at the lobby, air conditioning that actually works and of course the great rooms. no one travels in order to watch tv, but it is a pleasant surprise to have english speaking channels in the room, including my favourite bbc channels. being about five minutes walk from the central train station, made it easy for us to explore all the local sites using the excellent public transport, as well as taking day trips to other cities like luidwigsburg, heidelberg. tubingen, esslingen, ulm and even strassbourg in france, all accessible by train. choosing to stay at the le meridien certainly made our holiday fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itaiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City USA
Level Contributor
666 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a top-notch hotel, in a great location right across from the Mercedes-Benz mother ship. Because of the hotel's built-in clientele of Mercedes-related businessmen, its success is pretty much assured. Some of the room furnishings & amenities are just "check the box" good enough, like the cheap bathrobes. There is little that is "above and beyond". That said, the chef does run fine restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As part of our Mercedes Benz European Delivery Program, we selected a hotel near downtown Stuttgart. Our first choice hotel was unavailable and we're so glad it was. We would have never been able to experience the first class customer service provided by LeMeridien. From the moment we exited our taxi, we were thoroughly impressed. The kind African gentleman at the door, the front desk staff and the Front Office Manager, Stephan H., were all profeesionals and exemplified customer service at its best. If you have an opportunity to meet Stephan, you will indeed say that he should hold the title of 'Best Hotel Manager' throughout the World. He displays a genuine concern for your personal stay and makes every effort to customize your visit within his control. The rooms were well fitted and quite comfortable. The beds were not the most comfortable we've slept. There was an occasional emergency vehicle siren but the walls were fairly soundproof beyond that. Now to the disappointing part of the stay... We picked up our new MB and had to leave to start our Black Alps Rally! We would have certainly extended our stay and enjoyed more of the downtown area, which was steps from this well-run establishment. Again, Stephan and staff could start their own Hotel Service Training Academy and make millions!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selim_Mokni, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Le Meridien Stuttgart, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear "Tropicalo",

Thank you very, very much for your beautiful review. We can hardly describe how honored we are to read this lines. Thank you so much! Compliments such as yours do make us feel reconfirmed in picking the right job, cause it is the happy guest we all work and strive for. We feel really proud and we for sure shared your comments with our staff.

Dear "Tropicalo", we are all very excited to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Selim Mokni
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
#6 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#7 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Stuttgart

Property: Le Meridien Stuttgart
Address: Willy-Brandt-Strasse 30, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#6 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#11 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Stuttgart 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover LE MERIDIEN STUTTGART: your luxury hotel in downtown Stuttgart, opposite the beautiful Schlossgarten park, close to main station, exclusive shopping opportunities on Königsstrasse and all major sights of the city. Stay in one of our 292 elegant rooms and suites with state-of-the-art equipment; enjoy finest French cuisine at Restaurant Le Cassoulet and pure relaxation at our wellness and fitness center Le SPA. We are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Le Meridien Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Stuttgart Hotel Stuttgart
Stuttgart Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing