We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is exactly in the city center, rooms are very large, luxury level, and staff is just perfect. The breakfast has huge variety and is top quality. Although it ia very high priced, it's worth the money. Would definitly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valy_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Valy_RO,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    213
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
108
225
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern and centrally located, and very clean.

We stayed here for one night and asked the hotel to book us an Italian restaurant the week before we stayed there. I checked TripAdvisor for a recommendation and told the receptionist the name. It transpired that this restaurant was fully booked, and an alternative was found. When we arrived we were given a map with the address of the restaurant but no name and were told it was walking distance and very easy to find. The receptionist was nowhere to be found to clarify the restaurants name, so we ventured out on foot.

We walked a mile or so in the poring rain and could not find the restaurant for love or money! The Stuttgart roads are multi-lane highways and can be up to 80 meters wide. The street signs are poor and it was quite intimidating as there were a lot of drunk football fans on the streets. We were very unhappy. Why didn't they offer us a taxi rather than an umbrella? Unbelievable.

We took a taxi back to the hotel and ate in the bar. We ordered two glasses of wine from one waiter and another two from another waiter. The measures were 50% larger from the first waiter. We both had a club sandwich and mine was missing bacon, and my wife's had bacon but no egg. Sounds petty but at the prices you get charged you expect consistency.

Once back in our room we phoned room service for some ice; expecting a nice bucket full of ice. Instead, we were given a very small bowl with about 10 pieces of ice in it and a spoon! The double bed was two singles pushed together with two single duvets. That to me signifies twin beds not a double.

We decided not to have breakfast as it was approximately 24 Euros each which is more than you sometimes pay for lunch somewhere nice. Wifi was not easily visible and tea and coffee making facilities would help.

In conclusion, it's all about management here, or lack of it. Someone has spent a lot of money on the hotel infrastructure, it's a shame these inconsistencies have let them down.



Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Tim G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we have spoken with our service team and given them more trainings to prevent any future occurrences.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is very well located near the main shopping street of Stuttgart and the information tourist point from where you can make an interesting city tour. Service is good and hotel is among the leading hotels of the world. Nevertheless, I stayed in other properties with the same definition and still found that there was something missing here. Everything works but there is always a but.... Amenities in the bathroom are great, but the space for showering is small and depending on the position of the shower it leaks to the fllor. TVi is good, but although there is a variety of European channells, in English you can watch only news. Moreover, internet is extremely expensive and does not seem to be working properly, the wifi signal was rather shaky sometimes and the system of hooping on and off does not work properly. At the reception no one informs about the internet policy and instead of being offered a newspaper in the room, in the breakfast, I would rather have free internet in my bedroom. At one of the nights, I woke up several times due to the banging of doors at the corridor, which felt uncomfortable. I know the hotel is not responsible for its guests al the time, and there was an additional door in the room that could be closed (which levaes the classic room to feel smaller) but it was not pleasant. Old fashioned in a way, works for a certain public.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan M, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear CristinaSPaulo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team.

At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concern. We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located within a very short walk from the main train station in Stuttgart. It is next to the large and beautiful Schlossgarten (one can do a 10km jogging loop within the park). It is also next a long pedestrian zone with great shops and restaurants. It is a great location for business or leisure in the city with the advantage of quick access to most places by train as well. Of course there is on site parking if you come by car. Service is excellent in all areas: reception, bar, and breakfast. The breakfast buffet is of a very high quality and includes some cooked to order items. The rooms I have had are very comfortable and well configured and included a nice selection of amenities. Rooms are very quiet - mine have had a small hall and second door which eliminated any possible noise from the floor, a feature I really appreciate. This is one of my favorite hotels in the area and one of the very few I would strongly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I suggest a corner room with a view to the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfarm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear gfarm1981,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay with us; it will be my pleasure to thank the team for providing such an excellent service to you. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and thank them for making your stay special.

We agree with you and are very proud of our location, on one hand directly next to the park and on the other hand in the middle of the city center, with walking distance to the shopping district (the famous Königstrasse).

Thank you again so much for your positive comments about our hotel. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Firstly anyone visiting Stuttgart could do a lot worse than this hotel, it's five stars but four and a half of those stars are for the staff, room and breakfast. Great bed and nice bathroom and the staff are the best one could ask for as has been documented.
But, lets face it, it wouldn't hurt to have free WIFI, these days if i am paying for a five star hotel it seems a bit penny pinching to pay 8 euros for half an hour when, if i could be bothered, i could walk to a cafe and get it for free.
Secondly a five star hotel really should buy some new towels occasionally. I really couldn't tell if ours were big bathmats or not. I think they were just about ready to be folded and used for packaging food parcels to third world villages.
And why no gym? just convert a room - that one that everyone wants to move from because it overlooks the bins (every hotel has one) and buy a running machine and something heavy to lift. Because no i don't want to go to another hotel for that, if i'd wanted to go to that hotel i'd have booked there in the first place. Which somebody reading this review might well do, so come on guys...it's five stars. It was a good job i didn't try to order a waldorf salad out of hours, I have a feeling they would have 'run out of Waldorfs.'
But these are tiny issues really, we enjoyed our stay and would go back. We came by plane so didn't need the station which is across the road. We had a junior suite which was lovely...wait, one more thing...would it be so hard to have more than two English speaking channels?
anyway...
The cafe part of the hotel is packed full of ladies with shopping bags devouring large slices of cake (the women not the bags) and the wine-restaurant that backs on to the rear passageway is run by a wonderful woman who happens to be English called Jackie. be sure to give her a large tip and tell her I sent you. It's right where all the main shopping is so if that's your thing you'll love it. Unless saunas are your thing and then you'll be disappointed unless you have the presidential suite....which I hear is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ollyc1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ollyc1962,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team.

Please note that we are providing our guests with 30 minutes of free WiFi in our Lounge, and free internet in our business center located near the front desk.

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concerns. At Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

this property did not miss a beat-great value for the dollar, perfect location, outstanding service, caring and attentive staff throughout.
I would not stay anywhere else in this most charming city, and the location is immediately facing the main train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Larsed,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay with us; it will be my pleasure to thank the team for providing such an excellent service to you. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have just returned from visiting Stuttgart Christmas market & stopped at the Am Schlossgarten. The location is excellent, right next to a main walkway full of shops & only 5 minutes walk from the Christmas market. Also very close to the rail station. We stayed in a superior double room which was lovely. Huge bed, we reckoned about 7 ft wide, with a large TV, mini bar & seating area. No kettle, so I was glad I packed my own (being very British). Breakfast in the hotel was good, mainly fruits, breads & yoghurts with options of eggs however you liked. Found the staff more than helpful & everyone was very pleasant. For such a central location, this was a nice quiet hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 612 which was a lovely room but only had views of offices. I would guess that rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vera123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear vera123,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and wonderful to hear that you visited the beautiful Christmas market. I will be sure to share your comments with my team and thank them for making your stay special.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#4 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#10 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Maritim Hotel Stuttgart
#13 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Property: Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Address: Schillerstr. 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#13 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international 5-star hotel is situated in the park landscape of the castle gardens of Stuttgart closest proximity to the Konigstrasse shopping area as well as many cultural institutions such as the city theatre, the famous ballet and opera house, the city gallery, and the new as well as the old castle and belongs to The Leading Hotels of the World(R). The luxurious hotel is only a few minutes away on foot from the central train station Stuttgart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing