We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not a bad Hotel.
The lifts in this hotel when i stayed had a very bad smell. I dont know what it was but everyday it smelt like something had died on the inside.
Rooms not large but ok. Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Dont use the safe. 0000 will open the safes in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozza36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Lozza36,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very sorry for the fact that the lift didn’t smell good during your stay, we will take care of it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 727 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Super convenient - right at the train station - so perfect for quick a stop-over. Check-in was a breeze, my Leader's Club membership was noted, and I had a nice gift in my room. They needed a few minutes to ready the room, so I had a voucher for a drink, which I enjoyed in the bar adjacent to the lobby. Check-out, no problem, along with a little treat... at the train platform in no time. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Josanpu,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with my team and thank them for making your stay special.

We do pay attention to every guest and always do our best to fulfill our guests’ individual wishes. As a Leaders Club member you can provide your stay preferences in your personal profile and we will then do our utmost to fulfill your special requests. The more up-to-date your information, the better we can serve you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived at 15:45 and had to wait til 17:00 to get our room only after serious pressure.
Check-in was hellish as they would not let us check as a group and had to fill in individual forms.
Asking for a good restaurant we were led to a cafetaria round the corner only to find out later there was a quality restaurant upstairs. They excused themselves saying there was a dress code and reservation neede which were both untrue. After ordering breakfast in the room (complementary) thety charged € 17 which after complaints were a "mistake". Internet charge is € 15 per 24/h. Rooms do not stand up to price/quality standards.
Did not feel welcome at all in this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuffler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Shuffler59,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry for the fact that your room was not ready upon your arrival.

To be sure to get a seat in our restaurant the best way is to make a reservation in advance. We do indeed have a dress code which is an elegant evening dress.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to stay here, but what i can say is "perfect" stay during my trip for 2 nights here. Location is the best for this hotel, just attached to shopping street of Stuttgart and opposite to Hbf; so very convenient for everything. Service is superb. Room is very nice and bed is very comfortable. One of the best hotel during my trip in Germany. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Visitlimp,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your great comments to my team.

We agree with you and are very proud of our location, on one hand in the middle of the city center and on the other hand directly next to the park.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great room, lots of space and a large bathroom. First class service with opening of beds for the night. Close to a park and walking distance to the opera house. Breakfast was fabulous. Nice vinotek restaurant. Everybody spoke perfect English. Realy five stars hotel. Shopping streets one one side and a nice park on other side. Close to railway station.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank 274856Tone43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear 274856Tone43,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our room, the breakfast, our VINOthek and the first class service of our friendly staff.

We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.

Your Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten is a great hotel and certainly that is why we booked it. Our winter vacation was constantly on the go, so despite Althoff Hotel being entirely mismatched to our travel style, we committed to 3 nights stay so we could throw our things down, relax and know that we were getting top notch service and comfort.

Location: We visited at Christmas time, so it was PERFECT for us. It is at the north end of the maze of markets. At other times, there is a flurry of activity and shopping in the area. Very upscale. It is also perfect for train travellers. There is such an ease of mind when the main train station is steps from your hotel. We also spent one day at Ludwigsburg and one day at Esslingen, which are both quick commutes from this hotel.

Rooms: Because this hotel is out of our price range, my husband and I booked a "single" room - meaning a double bed in a smaller bedroom. There was a surcharge for the double occupancy, as expected. The reservation staff was kind enough to warn me that it is a smaller room, but honestly, I thought it was perfectly spacious for the two of us and two medium suitcases. The bathroom was lovely and even had a fresh rose in it.

Service: The only disappointment was NO FREE INTERNET! There was a daily rate in the rooms, and free internet in the lounge, but after a long day, it would be nice to relax in your own room while you look at your email. Just a thought. Breakfast is also quite expensive. Great great service overall however. We didn't need it, and perhaps that is why we felt the price tag was steep. Of note, we did spend a fabulous evening in their 1 Michelin star restaurant and enjoyed it thoroughly!

PS: I have to commend Christian Geßlein for making our bookings by email and being so incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Hykwok,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your visit to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten. It made me very proud to read your wonderful review; I will be sure to share your comments with my team and thank them for making your stay special.

Our hotel is indeed situated in the center of downtown Stuttgart, hence walking distance to the shopping district (the famous Königstrasse), the Christmas market, and the main train station makes it very easy for our guests to travel to our hotel.

Our Executive Chef takes great pride in serving only the best meat and produce - nice to read that you were able to enjoy his cooking so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel, decent rooms although my air con was a pain. Good bar, underground car park with lift access (€18 a day) . Very friendly and efficient staff.
Very good bistro, did not try the Michelin restaurant but it looked good.
€23 for breakfast is steep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffSchl0ssgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear PIHP,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I will pass on your comments to my team.

Please let me tell you that our Café on the ground level offers an à la carte breakfast every day from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., where the prices are lower than the prices for the breakfast buffet.

We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,309 reviews
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Camino
#9 of 146 in Stuttgart
793 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Maritim Hotel Stuttgart
#13 of 146 in Stuttgart
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Address: Schillerstr. 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#13 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $172 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international 5-star hotel is situated in the park landscape of the castle gardens of Stuttgart closest proximity to the Konigstrasse shopping area as well as many cultural institutions such as the city theatre, the famous ballet and opera house, the city gallery, and the new as well as the old castle and belongs to The Leading Hotels of the World(R). The luxurious hotel is only a few minutes away on foot from the central train station Stuttgart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing