We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This "Leading Hotels of the World" brand property was a wonderful experience for us. The staff were pleasant, helpful and discreet. The modern, well-appointed public spaces and rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel is close to Konigstrasse which is great for shopping for both bargain and luxury items. There were good German restaurants close by as well as Italian eateries and sushi places. It is across the street from the train station and next door to the Tourist Information Office. The hotel caters mostly to the business traveller, but it was an excellent vacation stay for us. Underground parking was available and safe. We concur with our dislike of management's insistence on charging for wifi--that is outmoded and an anti-competitive practice. You can still go to the lobby, however, and print your boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Zacklee,

Thank you very much for the positive comments on your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten soon!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 724 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a junior suite for 3 persons. 5 star experience in a large room and perfect bathroom with large shower.

Typical german,but modern interior with all things needed for a problemfree stay.

Staff very serviceminded with perfect english language capabilities.

Königstrasse (pedestrian street ) is just around the corner

Only negative: Skip the expensive hotel breakfast and head for the huge 7 Euro breakfast in the cafe around the corner

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear hasse13,

Thank you for sharing your experiences! We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me tell you that our Café on ground level offers an à la carte breakfast every day from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., where the prices are lower than the prices for the breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice hotel perfectly located. My room was large, clean and comfortable.

So why 3 stars ! Because I believe that in 2012, if a hotel doesn't give free internet access it doesn't deserve more than 3 stars. Ok to pay for the breakfast, or the parking, but internet access !

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank pdesaab_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear pdesaab_7,

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. I only can ask you for your understanding, that we charge costs existing from third party providers only to the guests who make use of their services. Please also let me draw your attention to the fact that there is a workstation at the reception where you can use internet free of charge.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and are sending

our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Conveniently located across the street from the train station. It is at the edge of a park and we enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace overlooking it. The staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel should merit a top rating, however the wifi was terrible. I had to sit in the lobby to access wifi and even then it was spotty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear traveller90210,

Thank you for the great description of your stay.

I deeply regret the problems you had experienced with our WiFi connection - there was a short period indeed where the connection was very slow and broke down. Please contact me, we are happy to refund the costs for the WiFi usage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel at the next occasion.

Sending our best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my 2nd business stay at the hotel. Again I was struck by its convenience for arrival by train, for enjoying the gardens and the nearby historical buildings by foot and the cultural centre is a few minutes walk away (on both occasions I have walked to the Opera). The outside facade is drab for a hotel of this quality, but the attentive and friendly staff as well as the general condition of the interior makes up for this. The breakfast room is elegant, tables set well apart and the experience of a high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Laurence N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your stay with us.

The entire team is happy about your laud - please let me tell you that our hotel is a listed building, changing the facade is not allowed unfortunately.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next business trip to Stuttgart soon.

Best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Brilliantly located excellent hotel. There is not a single thing negative to say about it.
The front desk, housekeeping, 'Vinoteck cafe' and bar staff were all fantastic.
Not really an awful lot else to say....................wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Stuttgart!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Shuggyb,

Thank you for your nice description of your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sending our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Right across the street from the train station and right on the shopping mall, what a great combination. The room was very tastefully decorated in rich reds and golds. I used the business center computer to check email and print boarding passes because I refuse to pay for internet service on top of the price of the room. I agree with another reviewer who said it is amazing how the hight end hotels charge you for internet and a chain like Ibis does not. The adjacent shopping plaza and train station access tunnels were frequented by loud teenagers who were drunk and out of control at night. Not the hotel's fault, but a serious social problem. You had to walk right through this chaos to get to the hotel. The plaza was literally trashed every night and the poor sanitation worker were out early in the morning, as we witnessed as were going to a great pastry/coffee on the plaza for breakfast 2 mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocPhil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear DocPhil2011,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay with the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.

Please be assured that we have had several meetings with our neighbors and representatives of the city and are optimistic to find a medium-term solution for the teenager situation you described.

We hope to be able to show you first achievements when you stay with us the next time.

Sending our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,296 reviews
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
784 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Address: Schillerstr. 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#13 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $174 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international 5-star hotel is situated in the park landscape of the castle gardens of Stuttgart closest proximity to the Konigstrasse shopping area as well as many cultural institutions such as the city theatre, the famous ballet and opera house, the city gallery, and the new as well as the old castle and belongs to The Leading Hotels of the World(R). The luxurious hotel is only a few minutes away on foot from the central train station Stuttgart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing