We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loyal Best Western customers: Sleep somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed November 13, 2012

For all travelers with platinum and diamond status: Forget about the upgrade that should be free of charge due to your status. Though there were rooms available, I was asked to pay 60 Euros for an upgrade (single to double room). The reason, I was told, is very simple: They don't do free upgrades. When checking out I complained again on the upgrade but they didn't care.

The next issue was that the mattress was extremely laid through, in various rooms. Apparently the hotel does not invest in modernizing their rooms, though they claim to do so in previous replies to posts.

The bathroom style is Russian communist, apparently they bought the tiles extremely cheap from the Russian army when the USSR got dissolved.

Since there are more Best Western's in Stuttgart, my recommendation is to stay in a different one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Travellng with a friend though Germany was made just a little bit nicer by the friendly folks at Hotel Ketterer in Stuttgart. We were traveling by train, so the ca. 1 kilometer walk down Koenig strasse from the train station was very convienient for us. The staff was freindly and helpful. It was very warm and humid on the evening that we arrived to check in, so the air conditioned room was very much appreciated. The room that we got had two single beds that were very comfortable. The bathroom and shower were clean. The tv was HD with a wide section of programming. We utilized the WiFi in our room which is password protected and high speed. We had breakfast inklusive with our very reasonable room price. The breakfast was typical german "Fruehstuck" fair including a variety of bread meat, cheese, coffee, juice, musli, cereal milk, fruit etc.....very pleasant atmosphere overall in the hotel. The location on Maria strasse is centrally located at the end on the walking boulevard of Koenig strasse. the hotel itself is situated on a quiet pedestrian walking street as well.
We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Stuttgart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over-looking Maria strasse to avoid the sounds of passing pedestrians.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

A decent hotel, sincerely overpriced. The manager of this hotel was incredibly uptight and insisted on continuing a disagreement long after I had moved on and apologized for the perceived transgression (emphasis on perceived). Small rooms (which is not uncommon) and the heat could not be regulated. Only had CNN in English. However, the breakfast was divine and the location was superb (Ubahn 50 ft away).. I also must compliment them on respecting the "do not disturb" sign, which is not always the case in Europe and the Wi-fi worked pretty well (occasionally dropped off). Would have chosen somewhere else in the first place, but Stuttgart was full last week.

Room Tip: Try to be off the Marianstrasse, it can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Best Western Ketterer is located in the shopping district of Stuttgart. It is clean, the breakfast buffet is good. I had a big room looking out to the back so I did not have much of a view. The bathroom is a bit small, also as soon as you turned on the bathroom light, the fan started which I didn't like. Too noisy.
The hotel is in interconnected old buildings which leads to rather long walking distances. Some of the rooms are also rather small (not mine though).

Greatest plus: Free internet, Nice people
Minus: Small bathroom

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel was fine for our stay. It was not glamorous, but was perfectly located for the Christmas Market, and a decent price. The included breakfast buffet was terrific, with a variety of meats, muesli, cereals, cheeses, eggs, sausage; Everything you could want, regardless of where you're from. The hotel seems to be located on the dodgier end of the block, but is still only a couple minute's walk to the busy shopping streets and the amazing Christmas Market.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMLAUGUST09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This hotel is located in "Stadtmitte", central downtown, of Stuttgart, S-Bahn, and U-Bahn station are three minutes distance.
The hotel is little old and rooms are small, however it has very good breakfast buffet, wireless internet connection, and also staffs are kind and friendly.
Bed is also small, but not bad. Pillow is German style(?), thin. But the reception has others.
The hotel is good for business and also sightseeing.
Only problem is stay in high summar, the hotel has no air conditioner. I do not recommend, when it is very hot.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YassStainbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

My husband and I took a three night long weekend trip to Stuttgart, December 10-13, 2010 to attend the Christmas market (fabulous) and the Mercedes Benz museum and factory. We flew to Frankfurt Airport and there is a direct 70 minute high speed train which cost between 80-114 euros per person round trip. I selected this hotel due to its availibility and price and closeness to the main Stuttgart Train Station. You can walk to the hotel (a bit of a hike if you have alot of luggage) or take a subway to the next stop. We opted for a taxi which cost 8 euros, as this was our first trip and we spoke no German (no worry, most everyone knows English well) . The hotel is a decent place for the price, everything is very clean, and it is centrally located in the shopping district. The breakfast buffet is very good--eggs, sausage, homemade breads, local jellies and honey, different types of sliced meats, boiled eggs, and a nice assortment of yogurts, museli and cereals. They serve you coffee and whisk away used plates as soon as you are done!
The only complaint was the bed quality, the middle sagged in a little but it was firm, not a problem for me, but my husband was not comfortable.
The Christmas markets are beautiful---bring euros because no one takes a credit card there---but the other stores all take VISA/MC.
We took the train to Eslingen and they had a fabulous Christmas market and a Midievel market and the town is beautiful, definitely worth the trip. We bought each a 3-day train pass from the hotel, they keep them in the drawer and they cost 12.50 euros which they will add to your bill. Get it on the first day. Also, they have free wi-fi from the room and will give you a username and password.
We also rented a car from the front desk (I would have tried to use Hertz to see if I could get a cheaper rate, but this was a last minute thing!), and picked up the car at the Stuttgart train station. Cost 130 euros. We drove 1 1/2 hours on A81 to Triberg in the heart of the Black Forest (gorgeous). Bought a cuckoo clock and ate black forest cake. A must: spend 5 euros for the Garmin navigation system and plug the address of the Best Western in Triberg. Also, you must know how to drive a stick shift.
Hope this review is helpful, and have a great trip if you decide to go!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieRydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Feuersee
Novum Hotel Rega Stuttgart
Novum Hotel Rega Stuttgart
#40 of 146 in Stuttgart
146 reviews
Ibis Stuttgart Centrum
#20 of 146 in Stuttgart
698 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#59 of 146 in Stuttgart
275 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Rathaus
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#63 of 146 in Stuttgart
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City

Address: Marienstr. 3b, 70178 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Ketterer)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Rathaus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: $63 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located right in the city center of Stuttgart. The Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof is a small, modern hotel in the heart of Stuttgart. All rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Boulevard Stuttgart City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stuttgart
Stuttgart Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing