We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High cost for mean service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Top Kongresshotel Europe
Ranked #50 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed 1 week in this hotel in Stuttgart. Quite large room but not confortable bathroom. Too cold air in the room in summer, and it wasn't adjustable! Breakfast good but not outstanding. Internet not for free, it costs 17 € per day!!!
The cost for this hotel at the end was very high considering the services, I don't raccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Top Kongresshotel Europe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Kongresshotel Europe offers excellent service in English, making it an ideal choice for international travelers. Concierge service from the front desk is excellent.

The rooms are clean and contemporary and very comfortable. The shower stalls are not fully enclosed, so it's easy to slop water on the bathroom floor, but that's no more than a minor annoyance and a classic example of form taking precedence over function.

The "Spanish" restaurant downstairs offers a tremendous complimentary breakfast and excellent meals at dinner. An English-language menu is available. In the Summer, there are regular grill nights outdoors in front of the hotel. Ali's Bar, on premises, is air conditioned and comfortable.

The hotel is conveniently located about thirty minutes' walk from Feuerbach businesses like Bosch and Coperion, and also close to the city zoo. Numerous parks and the nearby Killesberg offer pleasant walks or runs. The Wichtel brewery restaurant on Stuttgarterstrasse is an easy walk, as is Gaststaette Distelfarm, a comfortable Swabian restaurant with a panoramic view of the city.

Kongresshotel Europe is less than 100 metres from the Maybachstrasse subway station, five stops away from the Hauptbahnhof on the U-6. This makes the airport roughly 45- 50 minutes from the airport by train. Cabfare from the airport is about 40 euros; the train is less than 6 euros. Take the S2 or S3 from the airport to the hauptbahnhof, then U6 toward Gerlingen to Maybachstrasse.

Broadband internet service is available, but at 13 euros per day - in distinct contrast to the Etap Accor hotel next door, where wifi is free.

All in all, Kongresshotel Europe is an excellent, 4.5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We booked through expedia as part of a euro tour into switzerland and germany. We were were excited to stay here as the pictures on expedia (the travel website we booked through) looked really good. As this was towards the end of our trip we were looking forward to something modern and clean.
The room we were given was dated to say the least. We complained as the room we booked on the website looked nothing like the one we were given. In the end after much argument we paid a supplement for a modern style room. modern room not much better than the dated one described. Not happy. Location - nothing around but public stop nearby. Restaurant not bad. Not an extensive menu but basic and reasonable prices.
Overall if staying for 1 night a dated basic room would be sufficient. If budget allows I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I certainly enjoyed my stay at Kongresshotel, but I kept finding things that made me think "damn, if they just changed this detail everything would be a lot better!"

Good cop: The area where they serve breakfast is very very beautiful (Restaurant Granada, on the lobby floor) and the breakfast is very good as well. The new rooms ("Relaxing") have a fantastic bathroom with a huge glass window toward the room. This gives a feeling that the room is bigger (and it's spacious enough in the first place). LCD tv was nice too. The hotel staff were happy to help, room service was excellent and the Granada restaurant had good food (moderately priced). Room light design was very good too, it made you feel comfortable at all hours. Good amenities. Shampoo bottles (rare in Germany, they usually just screw a shampoo bottle onto the bathroom wall), slippers, very nice bathrobe, goodnight Haribo, afternoon snack.

Bad cop: they need a better elevator! First of all: it's slow! It was slow enough to bother me in a 6 floor ride. Plus, the doors and buttons look ready to fall apart. Not a real problem, but I can't believe they don't spend a little money to make it look as good as the rooms. Also: as always in germany... internet! 13euro per day?!? Come on, that's paranoid. Everywhere in the world you can find hotels with free wifi, or at least with cheap wifi. However, that was a problem in every hotel I've visited in Germany, so I won't take it into account. Glasses for the minibar were clean but looked as if they were placed there two weeks ago.

Anyway, the only serious problem I had was sleep. I'm not an easy sleeper, so these may not bother you at all, but anyway here's what bothered me:

a) One pillow type - and not a good one. I actually *never* ask for specific pillow types at all, but when you only have one type it should at least be a medium thing: not too hard, not too soft. They had only extra-ultra-uber-mega-soft pillows.

b) Heating. This was the main thing actually. There's no temperature control system, so you just try to get the room warmer or cooler by turning the heating from hotter to cooler. That doesn't work well. I found myself waking up in the middle of the night because the heating had decided to suddenly interpret my setting (which 2 hours ago gave me moderately warm air) as "make the air boil" and then when I would lower it to a normal temperature I'd wake up an hour later finding out that the supplied air was icy. A setting of "12 o'clock" on the rotary switch doesn't mean that air is supplied at a specific temperature. It means "not as hot as 15 o'clock and not as cool as 9 o'clock". But these values are not specific either, so what at first was "warm" can become "extra hot" or "frozen" later. Seriously if there's one thing they really need to change, that would be this.

c) I booked a double room for single use to have a more comfortable bed. Instead I found two beds stacked next to each other. Yep, it's not the first time it happens, but it's never good.

d) there are no window blinds and the thick curtains don't completely shut the light off, so I found it hard to get an afternoon nap.

Overal, I enjoyed the room very much, it was comfortable and really nice to hang out in, but they just desperately need to install a better heating system.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menelaos_Megariotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I selected this place as a "safe bet" for me and a friend. When my friend left I changed hotels to Hotel Hansa where for 1/3rd price I got the same facilities and cleanliness. It is fine, and the people who work there are nice, especially in the restaurant where the food is good, but for the price I would have expected somewhere more newly refurbished and less like and "old style" UK hotel. The place next door looked similar for 1/2 price- it was called ETAP Hotel Stuttgart City Centre. TOP Kongress is however slap bang next to the underground which is handy

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Stayed here a week with a huge group of colleagues from all over Europe, and used their meeting rooms for a 4-day workshop. The staff were very accomodating of our difficult group and the place was great for the workshop. Front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

Negatives? The A/C was very, um eccentric, which was a problem because it was very warm in Stuttgart when we were there. Internet was expensive and unreliable. Beds weren't very comfortable.

Location is fair. Nothing much nearby, but is adjacent to a subway station, so you can take the tram downtown very quick and easy.

OK if you can get a good deal, but nothing to seek out.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongresshotel, Verkaufsleiter at Top Kongresshotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
0.1 mi away
TOP Messehotel Europe
TOP Messehotel Europe
#96 of 146 in Stuttgart
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Stuttgart-City
B&B Hotel Stuttgart-City
#39 of 146 in Stuttgart
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Stadthotel Weinsberg
#79 of 146 in Stuttgart
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Stuttgart City Nord
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azenberg
Hotel Azenberg
#10 of 146 in Stuttgart
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Kongresshotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Kongresshotel Europe

Address: Siemensstr. 26-28, 70469 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range: $100 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Top Kongresshotel Europe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Top Kongresshotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing