We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“High cost for mean service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top Kongresshotel Europe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Top Kongresshotel Europe
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High cost for mean service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed 1 week in this hotel in Stuttgart. Quite large room but not confortable bathroom. Too cold air in the room in summer, and it wasn't adjustable! Breakfast good but not outstanding. Internet not for free, it costs 17 € per day!!!
The cost for this hotel at the end was very high considering the services, I don't raccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    37
    11
    2
See reviews for
6
16
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Kongresshotel Europe offers excellent service in English, making it an ideal choice for international travelers. Concierge service from the front desk is excellent.

The rooms are clean and contemporary and very comfortable. The shower stalls are not fully enclosed, so it's easy to slop water on the bathroom floor, but that's no more than a minor annoyance and a classic example of form taking precedence over function.

The "Spanish" restaurant downstairs offers a tremendous complimentary breakfast and excellent meals at dinner. An English-language menu is available. In the Summer, there are regular grill nights outdoors in front of the hotel. Ali's Bar, on premises, is air conditioned and comfortable.

The hotel is conveniently located about thirty minutes' walk from Feuerbach businesses like Bosch and Coperion, and also close to the city zoo. Numerous parks and the nearby Killesberg offer pleasant walks or runs. The Wichtel brewery restaurant on Stuttgarterstrasse is an easy walk, as is Gaststaette Distelfarm, a comfortable Swabian restaurant with a panoramic view of the city.

Kongresshotel Europe is less than 100 metres from the Maybachstrasse subway station, five stops away from the Hauptbahnhof on the U-6. This makes the airport roughly 45- 50 minutes from the airport by train. Cabfare from the airport is about 40 euros; the train is less than 6 euros. Take the S2 or S3 from the airport to the hauptbahnhof, then U6 toward Gerlingen to Maybachstrasse.

Broadband internet service is available, but at 13 euros per day - in distinct contrast to the Etap Accor hotel next door, where wifi is free.

All in all, Kongresshotel Europe is an excellent, 4.5-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We booked through expedia as part of a euro tour into switzerland and germany. We were were excited to stay here as the pictures on expedia (the travel website we booked through) looked really good. As this was towards the end of our trip we were looking forward to something modern and clean.
The room we were given was dated to say the least. We complained as the room we booked on the website looked nothing like the one we were given. In the end after much argument we paid a supplement for a modern style room. modern room not much better than the dated one described. Not happy. Location - nothing around but public stop nearby. Restaurant not bad. Not an extensive menu but basic and reasonable prices.
Overall if staying for 1 night a dated basic room would be sufficient. If budget allows I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I certainly enjoyed my stay at Kongresshotel, but I kept finding things that made me think "damn, if they just changed this detail everything would be a lot better!"

Good cop: The area where they serve breakfast is very very beautiful (Restaurant Granada, on the lobby floor) and the breakfast is very good as well. The new rooms ("Relaxing") have a fantastic bathroom with a huge glass window toward the room. This gives a feeling that the room is bigger (and it's spacious enough in the first place). LCD tv was nice too. The hotel staff were happy to help, room service was excellent and the Granada restaurant had good food (moderately priced). Room light design was very good too, it made you feel comfortable at all hours. Good amenities. Shampoo bottles (rare in Germany, they usually just screw a shampoo bottle onto the bathroom wall), slippers, very nice bathrobe, goodnight Haribo, afternoon snack.

Bad cop: they need a better elevator! First of all: it's slow! It was slow enough to bother me in a 6 floor ride. Plus, the doors and buttons look ready to fall apart. Not a real problem, but I can't believe they don't spend a little money to make it look as good as the rooms. Also: as always in germany... internet! 13euro per day?!? Come on, that's paranoid. Everywhere in the world you can find hotels with free wifi, or at least with cheap wifi. However, that was a problem in every hotel I've visited in Germany, so I won't take it into account. Glasses for the minibar were clean but looked as if they were placed there two weeks ago.

Anyway, the only serious problem I had was sleep. I'm not an easy sleeper, so these may not bother you at all, but anyway here's what bothered me:

a) One pillow type - and not a good one. I actually *never* ask for specific pillow types at all, but when you only have one type it should at least be a medium thing: not too hard, not too soft. They had only extra-ultra-uber-mega-soft pillows.

b) Heating. This was the main thing actually. There's no temperature control system, so you just try to get the room warmer or cooler by turning the heating from hotter to cooler. That doesn't work well. I found myself waking up in the middle of the night because the heating had decided to suddenly interpret my setting (which 2 hours ago gave me moderately warm air) as "make the air boil" and then when I would lower it to a normal temperature I'd wake up an hour later finding out that the supplied air was icy. A setting of "12 o'clock" on the rotary switch doesn't mean that air is supplied at a specific temperature. It means "not as hot as 15 o'clock and not as cool as 9 o'clock". But these values are not specific either, so what at first was "warm" can become "extra hot" or "frozen" later. Seriously if there's one thing they really need to change, that would be this.

c) I booked a double room for single use to have a more comfortable bed. Instead I found two beds stacked next to each other. Yep, it's not the first time it happens, but it's never good.

d) there are no window blinds and the thick curtains don't completely shut the light off, so I found it hard to get an afternoon nap.

Overal, I enjoyed the room very much, it was comfortable and really nice to hang out in, but they just desperately need to install a better heating system.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menelaos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I selected this place as a "safe bet" for me and a friend. When my friend left I changed hotels to Hotel Hansa where for 1/3rd price I got the same facilities and cleanliness. It is fine, and the people who work there are nice, especially in the restaurant where the food is good, but for the price I would have expected somewhere more newly refurbished and less like and "old style" UK hotel. The place next door looked similar for 1/2 price- it was called ETAP Hotel Stuttgart City Centre. TOP Kongress is however slap bang next to the underground which is handy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BootieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
239 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Stayed here a week with a huge group of colleagues from all over Europe, and used their meeting rooms for a 4-day workshop. The staff were very accomodating of our difficult group and the place was great for the workshop. Front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

Negatives? The A/C was very, um eccentric, which was a problem because it was very warm in Stuttgart when we were there. Internet was expensive and unreliable. Beds weren't very comfortable.

Location is fair. Nothing much nearby, but is adjacent to a subway station, so you can take the tram downtown very quick and easy.

OK if you can get a good deal, but nothing to seek out.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Unreliable A/C
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
TOP Messehotel Europe
#76 of 149 in Stuttgart
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Ibis Styles Stuttgart
#7 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Stuttgart-City
#73 of 149 in Stuttgart
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Ibis Stuttgart City
#19 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Kongresshotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Kongresshotel Europe

Property: Top Kongresshotel Europe
Address: Siemensstr. 26-28, 70469 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Top Kongresshotel Europe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Top Kongresshotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing