We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business-like but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Let´s be clear: Calling this hotel "City Center" is a little cheeky. You´ll need to spend 7-10 Euros cab fair to get there, if you don´t want to walk 15 minutes from the main train station in Stuttgart - which is probably as close to a city center as you might reasonably expect.

But there was a friendly welcome after arriving late early in October which was nice. The German approach to small talk is always mixed but it resulted in a minor upgrade in this medium sized business hotel. The rooms as not cramped and everything is laid out with the traveller in mind, but I was surprised to have been told that I was getting a large bed. Do not ask me what a small bed looks like No minibar in the room, but a bar downstairs open at least until 11pm, if you want a drink in the hotel. As there is little to visit in the immediate surroundings, and the hotel positioned on a main road, you´ll probably choose the bar. Good breakfast buffet with probably everything that you might expect and efficient if not unusually warm service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 764 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located on the outskirt of the city centre. 1/2 underground stops. Underground about 300 metres from hotel. Hotel although clean, in some areas was noted to smell of stale cigarette smoke. Rooms very bare with a lack of storage area for clothes.definately not a 4 star in my opinion. Breakfast expensive, best have breakfast in railway station one stop away as there are no visible restaurants or eating places in the vecinity of the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank WillyGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For starters, the hotel is not in the "City Center" but in the middle of a construction zone, a long uphill hike from the train station.
There was one frantic clerk trying to check in about 15 people. When we got to our small room, the double bed had just one pillow on it, there was no safe, the bathroom had just one glass, a leaky shower (no tub), ultra-thin towels and a coffee maker with no coffee. There's a charge for the bottled water. But...the air conditioning worked.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I expected it to be much more beeing the premium brand over Ibis. Yes it is more premium but absolutely not worth the price difference. The room is very similar to budget quality although maybe a little bit bigger. The restaurant is OK and breakfast buffet is very good.

The price however does not live up to its quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok let's get this out of the way first. Michael O'Leary must have named this hotel because it isn't in the city centre! It's a 10min walk away from the Hauptbahnhof in the opposite direction. Had they been more truthful then I'd have scored it higher. Otherwise it's a standard Mercure affair but with quite small rooms. Very clean. Free wifi code given without asking but although pretty quick some sites would not load (Google frustratingly being one) meaning they have some sort of firewall issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I chose this hotel as it has a car park and is close to the city center - exactly what I wanted. Overall I'd recommend this hotel to others, but be aware of the following:
- it is possible to walk to the center but it's a main road with a lot of traffic so not particularly pleasant.
- my room was away from the main road so it was very quiet. No idea how good the insulation is if your room faces the main road.
- The rooms were clean and functional but a little basic, i.e. no fridge, no kettle
- My son very much enjoyed the choice of TV channels (esp. Sky Sports)
- Can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't try it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dh3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A typical Mercure Hotel, perhaps a bit on the lower side, if you look carefully at their plain bathrooms. It was clean and the receptionist wer kind and effective.

We drove to Stuttgart on a rainy evening and, despite the GPS we missed the Hotel. The GPS brought us back but due to extensive construction work we had to go around several blocks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlejandroJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
778 reviews
Ibis Stuttgart Centrum
#22 of 146 in Stuttgart
686 reviews
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Stuttgart City
#28 of 146 in Stuttgart
658 reviews
Ibis Styles Stuttgart
#6 of 146 in Stuttgart
829 reviews
Aloft Stuttgart
#14 of 146 in Stuttgart
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center

Address: Heilbronner Str. 88, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $89 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Stuttgart City Center offers 174 modern airconditioned rooms and is located in the north of Stuttgart, 800 m from the main train station and the city centre. The international airport and the Stuttgart exhibition centre are 15 km away and easy to reach by car or public transportation within 25 minutes. The hotel also features a restaurant, six conference rooms, a bar, high speed internet and wireless access and basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart City Stuttgart
Accor Hotel Stuttgart City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing