We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a good spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #25 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Location is great, the rest is rather mediocre. Considering the price there may be better places with more value for money. Still okay for a business trip. Slept well and had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    108
    57
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
54
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

closr to the railway station and just round the corner from the main shopping street.
nice quiet room with safe, fridge,tv etc but unfortunately no kettle.
good selection for breakfast, the second morning we were there it was easter so everyone had a decorated egg and a biscuit bunny by their breakfast place which was a nice touch. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I come to Stuttgart every 3 years for a trade fair, where all hotels are usually 100% full, I book Unger early enough to find a room for one very important point, LOCATION; this hotel is a 2 min walk to Konigs Strasse the main pedestrian street in this city, for shopping, dinning and strolling after a long day of work, rooms are not the best but very much acceptable, while breakfast is really good and staff will do their most for your satisfaction, I recommend this hotel if you're most interest is location and good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We wanted a hotel near the Stuttgart Hbf, because we plan to travel by train to visit other small towns near Stuttgart. This place was the less expensive choice that seems to fit the bill, as it is only 5 minutes walk away. It is also near the Konigstr, the main shopping area, so it was easy to walk around. The Christmas Markets were also within easy walking distance.

The room we stayed in is adequate size for a Triple Room. The bathroom is also comfortable size. The breakfast is very good, with lots of varieties of eggs and cold meats and sausages. The staff were "functionally helpful", answering your questions but more out of duty rather than being friendly. Some of the staffs' demeanor reminds me of those of some of the older generations in Eastern Europe.

While this was one of the least expensive hotels near the Hbf, it is still relatively expensive compared to other cities or towns in Germany. I guess Stuttgart is a very expensive city. It doesn't even have wifi, though if you have your own computer, you can connect to the cables. However, there is a computer terminal near the Breakfast Room which guests can use free-of-charge, just get the access code from the Reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I had arranged to meet up with a family member living in Stuttgart to do some sight seeing and experience the Christmas market. After a long day's journey it was a relief to find the Hotel Unger as convenient for the station as it was claimed to be. Just off Konigstrasse, everything was within easy reach. My single room was quite small but it was more than adequate for my needs, The bathroom was ample in size and spotlessly clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast set me up for the day. I stayed four nights and would certainly return.
Exploring one of Gernany's largest Christmas markets was magical [favourite corner was the crib scene with carved wooden human figures but the donkey, sheep and goats-yes goats - were very much alive]; then there was the Gluhwein,gingerbread and stollen bread.Stuttgart is a vibrant[and very prosperous] city.

Room Tip: Many rooms face the street but on the whole Konigstrasse is fairly quiet-[not sure about weekends]
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, MI
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Changed hotels after I saw my room. The hotel looked better downstairs than it was. My room was tiny and claustrophobic, like a dorm room, and I could hear coughing and talking through the walls. And who doesn't have WiFi these days? Or W-LAN as it's called in Germany. I couldn't bear the thought of being in that closet for a night and switched to Motel One around the corner which is newer, hipper, and much nicer, despite a name that sounds cheesy to American ears.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you're on a severely tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LevRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just going on business to Stuttgart, the local organisation arranged his hotel for me. Although it is advertised as 4 stars hotel, for me it is a standard 3 start hotel. Very convenient hotel that is just a walking distance to Stuttgart Hauptbanhof.
The hotel look ok from the outside easily recognised although it is not top design. Staff are friendly and rooms are adequate.
The standard room is a little bit small, small attached bathroom, clean but slightly old fashioned.
It is good hotel for short trip business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#8 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterCityHotel Stuttgart
#71 of 149 in Stuttgart
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Kronen Hotel Stuttgart
Kronen Hotel Stuttgart
#17 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Novum Hotel Rieker Stuttgart Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof

Property: Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Address: Kronenstr. 17, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unger Beim Hauptbahnhof Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing