We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
Reviewed May 12, 2012

closr to the railway station and just round the corner from the main shopping street.
nice quiet room with safe, fridge,tv etc but unfortunately no kettle.
good selection for breakfast, the second morning we were there it was easter so everyone had a decorated egg and a biscuit bunny by their breakfast place which was a nice touch. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

I come to Stuttgart every 3 years for a trade fair, where all hotels are usually 100% full, I book Unger early enough to find a room for one very important point, LOCATION; this hotel is a 2 min walk to Konigs Strasse the main pedestrian street in this city, for shopping, dinning and strolling after a long day of work, rooms are not the best but very much acceptable, while breakfast is really good and staff will do their most for your satisfaction, I recommend this hotel if you're most interest is location and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We wanted a hotel near the Stuttgart Hbf, because we plan to travel by train to visit other small towns near Stuttgart. This place was the less expensive choice that seems to fit the bill, as it is only 5 minutes walk away. It is also near the Konigstr, the main shopping area, so it was easy to walk around. The Christmas Markets were also within easy walking distance.

The room we stayed in is adequate size for a Triple Room. The bathroom is also comfortable size. The breakfast is very good, with lots of varieties of eggs and cold meats and sausages. The staff were "functionally helpful", answering your questions but more out of duty rather than being friendly. Some of the staffs' demeanor reminds me of those of some of the older generations in Eastern Europe.

While this was one of the least expensive hotels near the Hbf, it is still relatively expensive compared to other cities or towns in Germany. I guess Stuttgart is a very expensive city. It doesn't even have wifi, though if you have your own computer, you can connect to the cables. However, there is a computer terminal near the Breakfast Room which guests can use free-of-charge, just get the access code from the Reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I had arranged to meet up with a family member living in Stuttgart to do some sight seeing and experience the Christmas market. After a long day's journey it was a relief to find the Hotel Unger as convenient for the station as it was claimed to be. Just off Konigstrasse, everything was within easy reach. My single room was quite small but it was more than adequate for my needs, The bathroom was ample in size and spotlessly clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast set me up for the day. I stayed four nights and would certainly return.
Exploring one of Gernany's largest Christmas markets was magical [favourite corner was the crib scene with carved wooden human figures but the donkey, sheep and goats-yes goats - were very much alive]; then there was the Gluhwein,gingerbread and stollen bread.Stuttgart is a vibrant[and very prosperous] city.

Room Tip: Many rooms face the street but on the whole Konigstrasse is fairly quiet-[not sure about weekends]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Changed hotels after I saw my room. The hotel looked better downstairs than it was. My room was tiny and claustrophobic, like a dorm room, and I could hear coughing and talking through the walls. And who doesn't have WiFi these days? Or W-LAN as it's called in Germany. I couldn't bear the thought of being in that closet for a night and switched to Motel One around the corner which is newer, hipper, and much nicer, despite a name that sounds cheesy to American ears.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you're on a severely tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LevRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just going on business to Stuttgart, the local organisation arranged his hotel for me. Although it is advertised as 4 stars hotel, for me it is a standard 3 start hotel. Very convenient hotel that is just a walking distance to Stuttgart Hauptbanhof.
The hotel look ok from the outside easily recognised although it is not top design. Staff are friendly and rooms are adequate.
The standard room is a little bit small, small attached bathroom, clean but slightly old fashioned.
It is good hotel for short trip business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is my second time staying here on a congress trip. The best thing ist he huge and extremely varied breakfast, the best I've had in Germany so far. The location is also very convenient near the station and the shops. Having separate toilet and bathroom is very good. The bathroom is also very nice and big and well equipped.
The things they could improve on is having a simpler way to watch TV if you don't want to use all the services they provide via TV because actually accessing the TV channels is a bit of a pain in the neck. Also they only have CNN news and very few non German channels. They should have BBC and Al Jazeera etc. The pillows are very soft, too soft for me as I like a harder pillow. The people on the reception were friendly, helpful and efficient. I'll definately stay again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
IntercityHotel Stuttgart
#59 of 146 in Stuttgart
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
ARCOTEL Camino
#8 of 146 in Stuttgart
784 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Kronen Hotel Stuttgart
Kronen Hotel Stuttgart
#21 of 146 in Stuttgart
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof

Address: Kronenstr. 17, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range: $143 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Unger beim Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unger Beim Hauptbahnhof Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing