We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not on the airport, but really close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ranked #26 of 149 Hotels in Stuttgart
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not on the airport, but really close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an industrial estate near the airport. So, luckily the restaurant is fine. Other than a Lidl, nothing else is within walking distance. That said, the hotel is very nice, rooms are modern and attractive, and it's quiet. A free shuttle will come get you and bring you back, it is a ten minute ride. This hotel is worth the shuttle ride as opposed to the nice, on-site but very overpriced Movenpick.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    188
    70
    25
    12
See reviews for
91
69
45
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although I've been to Stuttgart many times before, this was my first time to stay in this hotel and certainly not the last.
Hotel location is excellent; less than 10 minutes drive to the airport and fair grounds. A new U-Bahn line was recently extended nearby, so you can reach city centre in 25 minutes directly. The area is very quiet so you can have a very good sleep.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel staff are very friendly, which is not regular in German Mercure hotels!
In short, I liked this hotel and will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel when interviewing for a new position in the area. The office I needed to go to was within walking distance, so it was convenient. There is a U-Bahn station across the street, as well as a gas station and small discount supermarket. There isn't much else besides that. It's about 20 minutes on the U-Bahn to get to the center of downtown (Konigstrasse). Overall, it's a nice, quiet area but there is nothing to see or visit in the surrounding area.

The hotel was nice, the room was comfortable, and the service was good. They do charge for wi-fi, which I think is crazy these days, it should be free in hotels. They did have two computer stations down in the lobby you could use for free though. There is a small restaurant in the hotel that served an average German menu. They also charge for parking, so I parked on the street instead.

There is also a German Imbiss (take-out food) about two blocks away, that serves typical German fast-food items.

I would recommend this hotel if you have business in the immediate area, or if you need to be close to the airport (5-10 minute drive). There is no direct train line that takes you to the airport however, but I believe there was a Mercure shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Travelling to Italy in 2 cars with 10 people, I chose this hotel for its convienient location to the autobahn as well as its great value rooms. It's situated in a business district, close to the airport, so if you're looking for an hotel close to the city centre, this isn't it. The rooms were very modern & spacious & the beds were extremely comfortable with large en-suite shower rooms. Staff were very friendly & helpful. There's also an underground car park which we took advantage of. We didn't eat at the hotel as we arrived quite late, but, anticipating this, I had booked a table at a nearby pub/pizzeria, 'The Flying Ship' which was not a dissapointment. An excellent value hotel, especially if you're flying into or out of Stuttgart or need a bed for the night after driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we needed something with early morning airport access that wasn't too expensive. It served its purpose and was a good stay overall.

Pros: Clean, good value, free transportation to the airport

Cons: in sort of an industrial area; not a lot of restaurants, etc.

Weird things: My mom had stayed earlier in the summer and was not excited about going back. She said the room was dated, there were marks on the walls, that it was kind of dingy, etc. When we stayed there together later in the summer, however, the room was great. It was like some of the rooms had been redone and some hadn't, so be sure to request a renovated room if you go.

Also, it's an airport hotel and there is free transportation, but...we must have missed the fact that the shuttle doesn't run to the airport regularly, because we had to call for pick up. We didn't have a working cell phone and thankfully information called for us, otherwise we would have been stuck paying for a taxi. On the way back out we requested our transfer the night before, but a flight crew came in and filled it, so the hotel booked a regular taxi for us which we took. They paid for it and the taxi was on time and professional, but none of the transport--their vehicles or the taxi--were marked with the hotel brand name, and it all seemed a little odd, although, again, they got us where we needed to be on time so no real complaints.

The location is...weird. It seems a little farther out than most airport hotels are, but it's definitely far from town as well. There is, however, a U-bahn stop right next door, so it's a convenient half hour ride into the town center from there. There is also a Lidl next door for snacks, etc. The area around the hotel is safe feeling but all businesses.

So, overall, if I were in the same situation--needing a hotel near the airport--I would check out other options, but if I couldn't find anything else I would feel comfortable returning here in terms of comfort, safety, etc.. I would request a refurbished room, however.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tellana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had af great room in high quality. We are very satisfied with the room and the breakfast. It is not the last time that we will use the hotel. Also we had free WI-FI and that was very important for our family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjanielsen240874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had problems getting the shuttle to pick me up at the airport. Hotel as such is OK but the restaurant needs attention. I had to wait for more than 35 minutes for a main course (a stew) with only 10 people in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thogersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuttgart
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe
0.7 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
DORMERO Hotel Stuttgart
#11 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport & Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Hoferer
AC Hotel Hoferer
#47 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
SI-Suites
SI-Suites
#10 of 149 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
#2 of 14 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe

Property: Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe
Address: Eichwiesenring 1/1, 70567 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#20 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished 4 star Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe offers 148 air conditioned rooms with pay TV and telephone. The hotel features one restaurant, four meeting rooms, a bar and a pay parking garage. Stuttgart airport and the new exhibitioncentre are 4 km, the city centre, the stadium and the Cannstatter Wasen showground are via highway B27, only 12 km from the hotel. Well known companies are close as well. Free airport shuttle upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Stuttgart Airport Messe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing