We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Renovated Spaces-For the Most Part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Stuttgart
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated Spaces-For the Most Part”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is my second stay at this hotel and like I stated in my previous post, the location for this hotel can't be beat. You can walk to nearly everything and if it isn't in walking distance, the train station is across the street and the U is right on the corner.

I was pleasantly surprised to find newly renovated rooms, offering a larger bathroom than in my previous stay. The rooms, like before, continue to be comfortable, quiet and a good place to relax and get a good night's sleep. However, not all rooms are renovated, much to the disappointment of my coworkers. Granted, none of the rooms are bad-they just wanted the new spacious bathrooms!

I was disappointed in some of the staff during this trip. Most of the front desk staff were unfriendly and short when asking questions or making requests (none of them were unreasonable, such as wake-up calls or other typical questions you'd ask the front desk).

You do get 30 minutes a day of free Wi-Fi though. You have to ask at the front desk each for it though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Mr Todd

Thank you for your detailed feedback and we are pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay, in particular the room. May we however offer our sincere apologies for the disappointing service.

We have discussed your comments with our Front Office Manager to ensure that this will not happen again.

Also, we are currently working on a different internet solution with our provider to make access easier for our guests.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the STEIGENBERGER GRAF ZEPPELIN very soon.

Yours sincerely

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    582
    151
    56
    28
See reviews for
263
571
98
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our eleventh visit to Stuttgart, and we've stayed at the Graf Zeppelin many of those times. It's always reliable. It's location couldn't be better -- right across the street from the Hauptbahnhof, from which you can go virtually anywhere -- locally or distant. The reception staff is super-nice and helpful. The WiFi is free for 30 minutes each day, and you need a new sign-in code each day, we discovered the hard way.

We actually stayed at the Graf Zeppelin twice on this trip, at its beginning and end. We were picking up a new Porsche, and our first night was part of our Tourist Delivery package. We paid for our second night, at the Porsche corporate rate. Our room was a small suite, probably given to us because the hotel wasn't fully booked at the end of July.

When we returned in late August, we had booked with Lufthansa's Miles and More reward points and we paid the same rate -- a little less than 150 Euros, including breakfast. Since the excellent breakfast buffet is very pricey, we considered this summer special rate quite a bargain.

Our only problem with our lovely, spacious room was that the room must have been designed by the same designer-gone-mad as our hotel in Baden, Switzerland, just not quite as mad. The bathroom door was made of frosted glass, not as privacy-killing as in Baden, but still illuminating the whole room when someone uses the bathroom during the night. What could these people be thinking?

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Mr Sandro G

Thank you for your detailed feedback following your stay in September.

We currently work on a different internet solution with our provider to make access easier and faster. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

The upgrade to one of our suites is an appreciation for return guests that we always like to do if availability allows.

We are sorry to find the bathroom not to your liking. The transparency of glass should emphasize the soft transition between the two rooms and let natural day light into the bathroom.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin in the near future.
Cordially yours

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

this was our second mercedes delivery and each time we enjoyed our time at the graf. The room was modern updated comfortable and clean and I loved the rain shower. Im not sure how everything in Stuttgart can be so modern and updated yet I see little construction or interference with life. I will go back again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Mr. Peter

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We have been renovating the hotel for about a year and finished just this summer.

Great to hear, that the rooms as well as the bathrooms with the 2 sinks and rainbow showers, partly even with TV above the bathtub are comfortable and very much enjoyable.

Mr. Peter, we hope to welcome you soon again at the Graf Zeppelin.

Best regards,


Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great location opposite the railway station with comfortable soundproofed rooms. Whilst we received superb service in Zeppelino's restaurant and at breakfast, staff on reception fell far short of a 5* hotel. Having booked and paid for 2 rooms we were told on arrival that we had only one until we proved otherwise by producing the voucher. On checking out we were asked to pay for the rooms although we had already handed over the pre-paid voucher at check in.. Fortunately I had a duplicate which I produced after the second demand for payment, At no time was any apology made for the error and it seemed to be up to us to prove the rooms were pre-paid. I realise that computer errors occur but a pleasant manner and an apology would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingscot6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

We are very sorry about the misunderstanding with the rooms and the payment.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will certainly do an internal follow up with the agent involved.

We as the hotel have the responsibility to prepare your check in, control the details provided by the agent and to ensure a warm welcome for all our guests.
As you mentioned, errors can occur in rare cases and should be handled in a professional way and without any hassle to the traveller.

We have started an intense training refresher for all our staff to improve our service attitude especially in difficult situations.

We do hope you have the opportunity to return to the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin to experience a faultless stay. We believe we can restore your confidence in the service we offer and make up for the first experience.

Cordially yours,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a fine business hotel in a premium location which is completely let down by its rude, dismissive, and poorly trained reception staff who are incapable of dealing politely (or at all) with the most basic request .

A complete contrast to the cheerful smiling cleaning ladies who could lead by example.

While we were happy with the rate for the two rooms, one of the receptionists however made it very clear to us that our expectations should be moderated due to the fact we were on a booking.com rate.- hardly professional.
The rooms though small are clean and comfortable and while the hotel was busy during our stay, the lobby & bar area was rarely crowded with little noise from the corridors.
The cost of breakfast for all five of us exceeded the daily room rate, needlesss to say we found an alternative.
Overall a disappointing experience and probably better suited to a business traveller on expenses.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear guest

We are sorry to hear that you did not find the hotel to your liking.

We have forwarded your comments about our service to the respective heads of department in order that they may address these issues directly with their team.

We would like to point out though that making a great deal on one product should not automatically lead to the expectations of discounting all products.

We offer a 5* breakfast buffet with a wide choice of egg specialities, baked beans, bacon, sausages, baked tomatoes, meat loafs, a selection of French cheese, smoked salmon, different fish, approx. 10 different sorts of bread, choice of cereals, 7 different kinds of jam, 4 different kinds of honey, yoghurts, 6 cakes, fresh fruits, a teabar with a great choice of teas and even fresh Moroccan mince tea, coffee specialities, sparkling wine and 8 different juices.

We believe that this represents a great offer for a fair price, but is of course a question of personal taste if one likes buffets or not. We offer Roomservice breakfast or lighter breakfast choices at the Zeppelin Bar for those who prefer not to use the buffet.

Please consider that our reception team did not want to be rude or dismissive but could not meet your expectations of a free upgrade.

Dear traveller, we welcome your feedback and would have appreciated the opportunity to improve your stay whilst you were here or at latest try a Service recovery upon check out.

We hope we have the opportunity restoring your faith in the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin during your next stay.

Cordially yours,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I spent four nights in this hotel, as I walked through the door; I was greeted by extremely nice and helpful lady (Ms. Nadja Roso). She was kind enough to help settle in very quickly and fell at home. The staff in this hotel is their greatest assets. I will defiantly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUBAISAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Rubaisam

Thank you very much for your great feedback which we will of course forward to Nadja!
We are delighted to hear you felt like home in our new Graf Zeppelin and hope to see you soon again for your next visit in Stuttgart.
Cordially yours

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Rating: I give this hotel a 3 because of their spotty internet (which they also charge for! One of my main pet peeves), terrible A/C + very un-even service.

Hotel/Location: It´s very conveniently located right across from the main trainstation and just around the corner from the big pedestrian area. The building itself is not a thing of beauty. A medium sized hotel (on the smaller side).

Room: We had 2 inter connecting rooms (221 + 222). I will describe them individually as they were quite different from eachother.
221 (kingbed)
Pro´s:
A room on the larger side
Bathroom with large shower
Pretty good storage facilities
Good view
Newly renovated
Ok minibar
Clean and new

Con´s:
Noisy (terribly busy street outside)
Hot, hot, hot! As the pretty much non existent A/C just doesn´t cut it and keeps on cutting out. And if it cuts out you can´t start it on your own from the room.
No bathtub
Internet signal that is anything but strong at times. Very uneven
Slippery floor in bathroom/shower. I fell.
Poor amenities
Hard bed/not good bedlinen/bad ie hard and flat pillows

222 (twinbeds),
Pro´s
Bathtub
Great storage

Con´s
Not newly renovated (at least i hope it´s not...)
Impossible to make dark! It was like sleeping inside of an orange in the morning, completely red!
Noisy
Also very hot as the A/C just is not good

Staff: Hit and miss. I must say that with the exception of 2 very nice girls (blonde, tall and slim) at the Front desk that was a very dissappointing department... The breakfast staff were lovely and so were the cleaning ladies

Internet: Ggrrrr, the connection was not great in our room and it kept on cutting off. It was fine as long as we sat at the desk, but as soon as you tried to use it in bed it was cutting off. I also, in this day and age, hate to pay for internet! The system is also a bit silly, once you decide that you want to logon you have to call front desk, tell them for how long and they then bring you a paper with a log-in and password.

Food: Only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was fully acceptable. Staff were lovely!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Ms Asta72

Thank you for your detailed comments about your experience at the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin.
Most of the rooms have been refurbished and the remaining rooms will be back within the next couple of weeks. Until then, we did face some challenges with internet in only a few areas of the hotel.
The same is to be said for cooling: our full system will be running normal again after all rooms are back into service. Until this time we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
All other comments were passed on to the relevant department heads so they can investigate and address issues directly with their teams and initiate improvements wherever needed.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin in not too distant future.

Cordially yours,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#4 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauptbahnhof
Arcotel Camino
Arcotel Camino
#10 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Maritim Hotel Stuttgart
#13 of 146 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Property: Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Address: Arnulf-Klett-Platz 7, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stuttgart
#2 Green Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ,,Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin" is one of the top addresses in the swabian metropolis of Stuttgart. Following extensive remodelling, the hotel inspires guests with a mix of timeless elegance and modern design. The 117 luxurious rooms and 38 suites not only offer mere comfort, they also exude an ambiance in which you will immediately feel at home. Red lacquered surfaces create exciting accents against the elegant dark woods - while the warm colour tones, leather and fabrics invite you to simply sit back and relax. The rooms' technical equipment also leave nothing more to desire: flat-screen TVs with connections for notebooks and MP3 players are standard in every room category. Three restaurants offer Swabian kitchen to award-winning cuisine, an exclusive cigar lounge, a breathtaking spa, 11 modern conference rooms: the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin is at the puls of the city. The WLAN is free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin Stuttgart
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing