We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco

El Greco
Ranked #51 of 1,355 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

What an excellent representation of Greek food! We started off with a mixed started plate, consisting of stuffed grape leaves, various vegetables purees, butter bean salad, calamari, and various other goodies. Everything was fresh and delicious! For the main coarse I ordered grilled whole fish, which came with potatoes and a tasty, well dressed, Greek salad. The fish was perfectly cooked and a true culinary experience.

The meal was completed with a Greek coffee; one of the more flavorful drinks I've ever tasted!

A little of the beaten path, but well worth the walk. Excellent food and friendly service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet with great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

When you get tired of schnitzel and noise, this is the perfect place to come.

This Greek restaurant is near the Maritim hotel where I stay, so I love to come here for the delicious food, attentive service and attractive space. It is decorated to feel like the Greek Islands: white walls, Greek statues and a stone floor painted with white between the stones, and pothos vines growing along the ceiling.

I've eaten here three or four times and the food is always good. I especially love the grilled octopus served with caramelized onions and drizzled with balsamic vinegar sauce. The Moschofilero white wine is delicious - one of my all-time favorite white wines.

Service is good and I think the waiters own the place; I see the same two men each time I come here. The menu is also in English and the staff speaks some English.
I am perfectly comfortable coming here alone and am always made to feel very welcome.
It is not a touristy place; seems like mostly locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetwriter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Greek in Downtown Stuttgart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Ate here 8 APR 14 with a friend. No reservations were required if you go early (5 PM) as the restaurant fill up after 6 PM. Large selection on the menu. Delicious lamb dishes. Also tried a white and a red Greek wine, both were very nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gatoreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A taste of Greece in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Great little place to pop into , if you can get a table at this popular spot. Delicious seafood as well as many Greek specialties. Nice and freindly service.
Reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good I went back the next night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

What a great find. Nice atmosphere and the food was fantastic. The moussaka was as good as any I had in Greece. The cold appetizer platter was great too... Terrific place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FlightAttendantBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing