We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean and Welcoming”
Review of Hotel Wegener

Hotel Wegener
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wegener
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here for three nights while visiting our son who is studying at the University. We were glad we had stayed here. First, it's only a block from the train station and convenient to shopping, restaurants and the university. The rooms, while small, were very clean and well cared for. The buffet breakfast was the best we had while visiting several hotels throughout Germany and France- tasty, fresh, varied and served nicely on white tablecloths, etc. The staff were welcoming and helpful with regard to directions. Their English was sufficient for me to communicate since I know very little German. The Wegener is not a luxury hotel with lots of amenities but if you're looking for a clean, well located and relatively inexpensive hotel in Mannheim, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muspe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

I've never been in Mannheim before so it was not easy to find the right place. I finally followed the other recommendations and I was really happy with my choice.
I booked directly in this hotel and the owner was very friendly, asked for my room preferences and I could see the room on their website which gave me a good fist impression.
Arrived there, I was really tired and their helped me with a parking lot directly in front of the entrance door (the owner removed his car and provided me with a parking allowance which is needed in this area) - this was so great as I was travelling through Germany and carried so many things with me.
Someone helped me with the luggage and I got the key and he helped me to the room.
The room was lovely, small but with an average size compared to other city hotels build in the 60ies, the bathroom was very nice, with a shower cabin, very good choice of toiletries and this kind of old fashioned towels I love where the hotel name is woven into the towel. My impression was that these small things are making the difference!
The hotel was quiet (imagine the main station is 300 m away!) and I felt very safe there. The door was doubled so I didn't hear any neighbors.
The bedding was excellent and I slept very well.
The breakfast was in a cosy breakfast room with a very good choice of things. I was glad to see that the owner's family is there and everybody really cares for the guests. I was highly impressed because of that too.
W-Lan worked perfectly and I could prepare myself for my meetings the next day.
Shopping in Mannheim is a pleasure (I wasn't aware of this before) and you can reach all these places by a short walk.
One last thing: the minibar is filled with non-alcoholic beverages for a very reasonable price (each item was charged with 0.50 or 0.60 EUro only). You can also by beverages directly at the reception desk. I wish this could be a good example for other hotels as well!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reiseschreibmaschine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I reserved Hotel Wergener because Mannheim is near from FRA airport (only 30 minutes by ICE) and Hotel Wergener is only 200m from Mannheim Hbf. Outside view, public area, and most room facilities are average of 3star hotel, and in average of Germany hotel, clean in spotless. The room has huge basin, and in minibar, one mineral water bottle costs only 0.5EUR. Special feature is excellent breakfast. Of course there is no selection of egg cooking, but there are over 20 selections of sausages and bakery. I have never seen such great selections.
The hotel has no A/C. In spite of near location from Hbf and main street, surrounding area is quiet, and I could sleep well with open window.
I highly recommend this hotel in Mannheim.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank conriccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I made my reservation by phone after visiting the hotel website, mostly based on the excellent location just a few steps from the main railway station. (I was arriving by train from Frankfurt airport.) When I arrived, I was a little worried at first, because the hotel doesn't look very nice from the outside and the front desk area as well as the internal hallways look very old-fashioned.
My room was nicely furnished and in excellent condition though. The bathroom/shower was very nice and clean as well. It seems that the rooms have been refurbished just recently.
Nice surprise: the stuff in the minibar was very inexpensive - the price for the mineral water was less than what I paid at a shop in the railway station!
The room rate (incl. breakfast) was €62 on a weekend, which I found good value, considering the size and quality of the room. Unfortunately I slept too long to enjoy the breakfast, so no comment on that.
The one thing I didn't like, was that VISA is the only credit card accepted. Therefore I had to pay cash because I have MasterCard and Amex only.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank driver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
15
Reviewed October 8, 2004

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Wegener during September 2004.....and had a wonderful stay! Nice CLEAN, nicely furnished, rooms; a variety of sizes and accommodations; excellent showers and baths; wonderful helpful staff; awesome fresh breakfast buffet, included in the room rate; convenient to downtown area, train and tram stations. The next time in Mannheim, we will definitely return to the Wegener! A HIDDEN TREASURE!!!!!!!!!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
N.Y.
11
Reviewed December 22, 2002

Great hotel!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessior586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Am Bismarck - Mannheim
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Mannheim
H+ Hotel Mannheim
#27 of 45 in Mannheim
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kurpfalzstuben
Hotel Kurpfalzstuben
#10 of 45 in Mannheim
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
STAYTION
STAYTION
#12 of 45 in Mannheim
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#32 of 45 in Mannheim
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wegener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wegener

Address: Tattersallstr. 16, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range: $138 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wegener 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wegener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wegener Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing