We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visual treat at Wyndham, Mannheim”
Review of Wyndham Mannheim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Mannheim
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A visual treat at Wyndham, Mannheim”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wyndham Mannheim was a visual surprise for me. I liked the fact that it looked and felt different from standard European hotels, it had a cool, urban vibe with its art deco interiors set in a contemporary tone. I loved the monochromatic color scheme of the room which ranged from creme, taupe to dark brown. It managed to transport me to the early 30’s, yet grounded me in present times because of its distinct lighting fixtures, and modern bath amenities. The breakfast buffet was excellent, set in a high-ceilinged restaurant offering a sumptuous array of food for weary travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeway709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    110
    58
    35
See reviews for
32
96
22
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

we have booked here because for another colleagues the usual hotel were we used to go was too expensive.....very frankly speaking Wyndham hotel was a good surprise even if some details can be imroved. Room big enough and confortable, the same for the bathroom, very good breakfast and the best thing is the very good location ; very downtown, a couple of minute from the tram stop in Marketplatz and a little bit more to be in Paradeplatz and in the shopping area.
a suggestion : our ususal hotel provide for free all the guest with a mobility ticket
LAst but not lest personell very gentle and available, for me advisable

Room Tip: I had a room looking at the courtyard and early in the morning the smell of the kitchen, preparing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvatore m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Salvatore,
thank you for your booking at Wyndham Mannheim. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your time in Mannheim. You are within walking distance to the pedestrian zone in Mannheim that is why we thought we do not need the free mobility tickets at the hotel. But we will discuss this at our next team meeting.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Tried out this hotel to see if the newly restoration was good. It looks pretty cool on the surface but in the background still an old and not so nice hotel. The room was extremely dark and almost not possible to get enough light to be able to work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_Travlr_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,
first we would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at Wyndham Mannheim.
We took care of the dark rooms thats why in every room are extra floor lamp to brighten the rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Mannheim despite your unfulfilled expectations, in order to convince you of our service at Wyndham Mannheim.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mannheim hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel without parking, without restaurant, without good accommodations, with people that has no idea how to treat their guests, without air conditioning...this is a good hotel to stay if you like to suffer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinhacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Wyndham Mannheim.

We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our service. It is always our goal to give our best and work hard to maintain our high service standards.

It is correct, that there is actual no special lunch or dinner restaurant at our Wyndham Mannheim. We provide a small a la carte Menu at our hotel bar for our guests. Also we do provide a parking garage in the basement of the hotel for € 15/night. If there is no more space there is a parking garage at the "Marktplatz" nearby.

We look forward to welcome you at the Wyndham Mannheim despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'm astonished that this hotel hasn't received better reviews. I was only there for a night, but my experience was excellent in every way. The room was quiet (as requested), well furnished and very modern. Free wifi, water and fruit juice were provided. The price was moderate. I did some research before choosing this hotel and I wasn't disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WillVill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hotel Wyndham added an extra exchange fee from SEK to Euro. Insted of paying 8,76 SEK (Master Card rate) for a Euro, Wyndham cahrged 9,19 SEK. This is not a serious business method.
The breakfast and room was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Hakan,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Wyndham Mannheim.

The Wyndham Mannheim accepts to exchange your currency in euro. We had some technical problems with our credit card payment machines and the currency exchange. Our provider is informed and the problem is already solved.

We are very pleased that our breakfast and rooms are well-liked and we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Wyndham Mannheim. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First I have to say that I stayed at this hotel in its "Pre-Opening Phase" (as they called it in their letter to us which we received at check-in). So I could be that many of the flaws will not appear in the future when the hotel has officially opened.

The first impression was a good one: Stylish lobby, friendly staff at check it. One of the two lifts was under construction but this is related to the hotel not being really finalized I would think.

My first impression of the room: Very dark! The lighting concept is many stylish lamps but none of it was really lighting the room. The worst is the lighting in the bathroom: One head light, no light at all in the mirror (this could only have been planned and constructed by a man).

The style of the furniture is modern and dark, looks nice. The room and bathroom were clean (maybe they learned something from the negative comments of other critics).
When I tried to switch on the TV and only found 3 channels, I tried to call the reception - the phone was dead. After some trial & error I found out that the phone was not even connected ! The plug was still in its original "package" so it was obvious the phone has never been plugged in before. When calling the reception and informing them, they only said "Oh really" - no apology at all.

The mattress was good (firm), the cushions however (2 per bed) way too big and hard (a selection of a soft and a hard cushion would have been better).
Since this hotel is new, I do not understand how they could put carpets in there - so unhygenic! I prefer wood / stone floor to carpeting.

The shower had no curtain or cabin so the bathroom was flooded (including my stuff and clothes) after showering.

The "ballroom" where breakfast is served is a nice room - unfortunately most of the tables were for groups of six or more people. When having breakfast (especially in a business hotel) I'd prefer tables for two instead of groups sitting together - we could not talk in private about our business meeting.

The breakfast was average at the most - pre-sliced / packed cheese and salami, some cereal, some bread, scrambled or boiled eggs. One coffee maker for all guests so you had to queue.

The location is very good, just one block away from the market place with a few nice looking restaurants / bars.

I wonder what will change until the hotels officially opens.

Here's a summary of the positive and negative experiences / aspects:

POSITIVE:
+ good location
+ nice style / decor
+ free WiFi
+ good firm mattress


NEGATIVE:
- bad lighting, especially in bathroom
- carpet instead of tiles or stone floor
- no shower curtain / cabin so the bathroom was flooded
- phone was not plugged in
- no manual for TV (there's a trick to find more than 3 channels)
- no selection of cushions, cushion was too hard and big
- at night people roaming the street where very noisy (room 207)
- bed was very short, not even 2m long I suspect
- only average breakfast quality
- only very few tables for two at breakfast

Room Tip: Room 207 is facing the street. I was staying at a Wednesday night, many people (student groups, scoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you very much for your reservation at the Wyndham Mannheim and for your feedback of your stay with us.

We are always trying to keep our standard of service at a high level and must be assured that we take your comments very seriously. On review, like yours, we are instructed to improve our service continuously. We want to thank you for your praise about our friendly staff, the furniture and specially our housekeeping team. We have to excuse the problem with the telephone and the TV thats not a standard of the hotel. The half of our rooms have carpet and the other half wood floor, shower curtains will be coming soon.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Wyndham Mannheim to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.7 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Friedensplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mannheim

Property: Wyndham Mannheim
Address: F 4 4-11 | SH. I.R. Frankfurt Betriebs GmbH, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Sir Friedrich Hotel Mannheim)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mannheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Mannheim is a stylish designed hotel in the centre of the city of Mannheim. The shopping promenade "Planken" is known as "Champs-Elysees of Mannheim" - lined with fashionable shops, regal houses, and world-class restaurants. Simply step outside to take it all in. Easily accessible from the international airport Frankfurt am Main - and just a 10-minute stroll from the train station - our Mannheim hotel is the ideal choice for holidays, corporate travel, and weekend getaways. Experience the elegance of the Wyndham Mannheim. The 151 newly renovated hotel rooms brim with urban style and energy. The rooms of Wyndham Mannheim offer you a coffee machine, a flatscreen TV and Wifi free of any charge. The breakfast buffet in Wyndham Mannheim is also a true insider tip and meeting point of the residents of Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing