We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No airconditioning--avoid this hotel until Fall”
Review of Wyndham Mannheim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Mannheim
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed June 22, 2013

When we arrived, the hotel informed us that the hotel was in a "soft opening". We hadn't seen this fact on travel websites we checked when booking, and the hotel's been open for three months. The hotel is understaffed and has no airconditioning in the guestrooms. We were facing north on a cool day (cloudy, high in the low 70's) and we still couldn't get the room cool enough for real comfort, even when we called down to housekeeping to borrow a fan. There is a window that opens, but the room is designed for air conditioning, not ventilation. If the hotel runs out of fans you will swelter.

The room was OK, clean and new but with scuffs in the paint. We couldn't find the remote for the TV, so we called the desk and were told that there was no staff to find another remote.

The groundfloor windows are covered in dust, so the exterior appearance is Third World, rather than German.

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The hotel may think that they are discounting sufficiently to make up for the lack of service and amenities, but we think it's still overpriced and should be avoided for now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a low floor, away from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonorCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Wyndham Mannheim Hotel.
We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our hotel. It is always our goal to give our best and work hard to maintain our high service standards.

We would like to inform you, that in the hotel are still extensive renovations going on this year.

We look forward to welcome you at the Wyndham Mannheim Hotel despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 462 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for night, at first when we turned up we thought that the booking was a mistake,as thw hotel resembled a building site. But we eventually found the entrance. The rooms were just ok, they are trying to make the rooms modern and to the naked eye they are but they are rennovating on the cheap with cheap materials. One difficult thing to work out was the lighting which was up of three table lights which didnt light the room up. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment, but the hotel shouldnt be taking guests at the moment.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharpgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Wyndham Mannheim Hotel.
We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our hotel. It is always our goal to give our best and work hard to maintain our high service standards.
We would like to inform you that we are still in the pre-opening stage and there are still extensive renovations going on.
We look forward to welcome you at the Wyndham Mannheim Hotel despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from the Wyndham Mannheim Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was super clean and modern. The stuff is friendly and helpful. Mini bar is included. Free parking, they have their own garage.
Restaurant area looks very modern, with white table-clothes on the dining tables. We didn't go to eat, though, we were running late.
It was a Christmas time and when we checked out they gave us a small gift - set of body creams. I didn't expect that!
Overall, for the money we paid ($100), we couldn't have found a better hotel! I paid the same amount in Paris and Rome and there were 2* cheap hotels, the worst ever in my life. Awful small old rooms with thin walls (and chipped wallpapers on it) and no air conditioning. It was disgusting. So, this hotel in Germany was the heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and the praise about our friendly staff and the overall hotel. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Wyndham Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank V8710MApeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank G9953GRrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Mannheim, Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank carinas524
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank 691gerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Mannheim, Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Friedensplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mannheim

Address: F 4 4-11 | SH. I.R. Frankfurt Betriebs GmbH, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Sir Friedrich Hotel Mannheim)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mannheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Mannheim is a stylish designed hotel in the centre of the city of Mannheim. The shopping promenade "Planken" is known as "Champs-Elysees of Mannheim" - lined with fashionable shops, regal houses, and world-class restaurants. Simply step outside to take it all in. Easily accessible from the international airport Frankfurt am Main - and just a 10-minute stroll from the train station - our Mannheim hotel is the ideal choice for holidays, corporate travel, and weekend getaways. Experience the elegance of the Wyndham Mannheim. The 151 newly renovated hotel rooms brim with urban style and energy. The rooms of Wyndham Mannheim offer you a coffee machine, a flatscreen TV and Wifi free of any charge. The breakfast buffet in Wyndham Mannheim is also a true insider tip and meeting point of the residents of Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing