We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - with a VERY bad WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Certificate of Excellence
CopenhagenDenmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average - with a VERY bad WiFi”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel - and the amenities/facilities in this hotel are pretty basic. It's quite a nice hotel despite having only 3 stars - and is appr. 5-8 min. walking (casual) to the city centre.

I don't know if I arrived during a fair or some special occasion - but I had to pay €167,00 (List price is €99 according to price list in reception) for 1 night. This included WiFi and breakfast - but in addition I had to pay €14 (!!) for 1 night in the hotels private garage - not OK!

However I cannot recommend this hotel if you are a business traveller. The hotel wifi is probably the badest I've come across in years! No wonder it is included in the price - because it's worthless. I had good signal strength - and connected without problems - but the bandwith is so small that it took 17 min. (!!!!!!) to load a regular webpage! Absolutely useless - which extra annoying when you have work to do - and little time to do it! I ended up using another provider (Telekom) that was avaiable and paid €4,95 for one hour - this worked perfectly!

Bathroom however gets plus points for having a normal shower - and not a shower in the bath!

The fact that I booked a business package (at a very high price for a 3 star hotel) - and couldn't work at all makes this hotel completely useless to me. I will not come back until I am certain this problem is fixed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    367
    91
    10
    8
See reviews for
114
212
90
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location: just only short walking distance to Paradeplatz. Staff: very efficient. Some were nice and friendly. Room: Mercure’s standard. Clean. But defect light was not replaced. Service: cocktail of the day was the best deal in the evening. Car park at reasonable price. All-in-all: 4 points.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcmc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Checking in and out were a breeze. They were fast and efficient. The rooms were always clean.

I think the location is not fantastic as its far away from the tram stops. It would have been better if the location was closer to tram stops like on F2-F4

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sozo_Centre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A bit awkward to get to by car - until you understand the Mannheim one-way street system. The air conditioning in the room was a boon as the outside temperature was in the mid 30 degree Centigrade range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodnpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mercure Mannheim is a testament to the generally high standards that we expect of hotels across the world nowadays. It scores highly in many respects but despite getting most things right it just fails to excite. I don't know why that should be - maybe it simply lacks character and characters.
The plus points are breakfast and the restaurant in general although a decent steak will set you back €32 plus. There's also a outdoor courtyard area in which you can eat which makes a pleasant change.
Although location is convenient and quiet, it is in a largely residential part of inner-city Mannheim and not the retail/bars & restauarant heartland although its not far to walk.
Shame it doesn't have a gym or pool. Plus you have to pay for Wi-Fi access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam Hayden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Mercure Mannheim is a clean, consistent, and simple hotel in Mannheim. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the town square and shopping areas, and feels a little outside the main buzz of the town. The breakfast was good, with a reasonable selection of the usual suspects. Internet connections are expensive and consistently slow. A nice, simple spot.

Room Tip: There are no safes in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaydenAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.8 mi away
InterCityHotel Mannheim
InterCityHotel Mannheim
#7 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus

Property: Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
Address: F 7 5-13, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mannheim
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star hotel offering 150 rooms, the Mercure Mannheim am Rathaus is 500 m from the city centre and is easy to get to by car or public transport. The hotel is close to a popular shopping area, Mannheims landmark water tower, and the Rosengarten convention centre. Frankfurt Airport is only 80 km away. Our hotel offers facilities for guests with limited mobility, a bar, a restaurant and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Mannheim Am Rathaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing