We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected MUCH more from this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected MUCH more from this hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

First of all, I think it's a rip-off if you have to pay extra for WiFi in a business hotel. If that WiFi is on top of that extremely slow (e.g. loading a normal newspaper page takes forever and streaming a youtube song is impossible), than you get really frustrated as a client.
I chose this hotel because of its gym and swimming pool which is, according to the hotel, open until 10PM. When I arrived there at 9PM, everything was already closed.
Breakfast is also quite expensive for what you get.
Rooms are big, but very old.
Bar isn't very cosy.

Conclusion: I would definitely not recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    121
    113
    53
    24
See reviews for
44
63
22
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The location of the hotel is very convenient in the center of Mannheim, easy accessible by car or public transportation. Good for shopping and exercising outside (parks/river nearby for running).
Although the hotel was renovated a couple of years back, it has a very outdated design.
The rooms are ok, only the bathroom was in a bad shape - tiles broken and falling off the walls.
Breakfast and terrace are quite enjoyable.
Ok if you get a good room away from the noisy streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girasol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unfortunately I had to stay 2 nights in this hotel because all the other proper once in Mannheim have been occupied (happens all the time during fairs/exhibitions). My room looked like originally furnished in the 70's, the carpert is full of stains and I would not recommend to touch it barefoot at all. The bathroom had no heater only a Infrared lamp (I'm not kidding) and the room itself is extreme basic, more like a hostel than a hotel. The past year I properly slept in 50+ different hotels all over the world, but this one is really hardcore. The size of the room is too small to open up a suitcase on the floor. The entire night I heard the elevator going up and done. Breakfast is basic, no fresh juice and they even charge 18 Euro extra for it. Can you imagine it is 2014 and you have to pay extra for the internet ? Something like 5+ euro/hour... I was close to freak out as I paid already 400+ Euro for 2 nights. I rather recommend sleeping in a hostel or on the main station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuxe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mannheim hotels

Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have been going to Mannheim on and off for years. This hotel was previously the Holiday Inn which is showing its age expecially in the guest rooms. With my recent stay, I haven't seen any signficant improvements now that its part of the Leonardo hotels. Room quality is average, breakfast area is large and offering has variety. However on busy days, obtaining a table with set-up sometimes is challenging. There is no A/C so be cautious in the summer months. There are nicer places to stay in the area at relatively the same room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden otherwise your room may face the noisy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankl989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have selected Leonardo Hotel for an indoor swimming pool for my 4 year old girl who would spend her days with her father while I was working. The swimming pool was well-heated and I enjoyed swimming twice during my stay.
The room has no charm but the hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Mannheim as well as the business centre where I had to work every day.
When I arrived in the hotel, it turned out that the booking I made was another Leonardo Hotel in Mannheim suburb. So when you are making a booking, I suggest that you should double check it again.
The only downside of this hotel is that the internet is not free of charge and in fact you need to pay per tablet, which I think outrageous, considering the internet availability everywhere in Germany.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was shocked to see the 5,60 euro cost of an hour for WiFi, really?!?! that should really be included in this day and age. And they didn't have any A/C; they suggested that we open a window but when there is no breeze and your room is situated on a noisy street what is the point?!?!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hospitality was lacking here. The front desk seemed unconcerned and remote, as if they would just as soon not have Americans stay with them. The room was large for a European hotel, but the breakfast was lacking and there was no Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#8 of 45 in Mannheim
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Mannheim
Wyndham Mannheim
#17 of 45 in Mannheim
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Address: N 6 3-7, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Mannheim and with upscale equipment the Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center is ideal for the sophisticated business and leisure traveller. The hotel is the perfect starting-point, if you are a visitor of an international congress at the Congress Center Rosengarten Mannheim, of exclusive sport and music events at the SAP Arena Mannheim or one of the numerous representations at the Nationaltheater Mannheim. Resident global companies such as BASF, Roche Diagnostics, John Deere and ABB are only a few minutes away from the hotel. Extended shopping areas directly close to the hotel, walks at the Luisenpark Mannheim or a view to the stars from the Planetarium are only a small outlook to the further various offers in Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mannheim City Centre Hotel Mannheim
Mannheim Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing