We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good reliable hotel with a great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Over the last 13 years, the Dorint has been my first choice hotel, until I stayed in Mannheim regularly during the summer.
It is still often my first choice in the cooler months, but when the weather warms up I find it uncomfortable, the rooms have some form of air Conditioning – but I have never found it effective and when it is warm unless you are in a quiet room high up where you can open the windows, then it is very difficult to get a good nights sleep. Temperatures often reach the high 20’s and above and the humidty can be very oppressive.
This is a review of a stay 23 / 24 January – it is late to submit this but with the really hot weather this week (April 15th) the temperature hit 27 Degrees and was very humid) I think it matters. I do make notes these days.
LOCATION
The Dorint is fairly central in Mannheim. Not a long way from the Railway station but I catch a taxi if I have a suitcase – which amused the taxi driver since it is almost within sight of the station. It does mean I feel guilty and tip more.
ARRIVAL/CHECK IN
The service and overall impression was great as always, the entrance is large spacious and the staff helpful and welcoming.
THE ROOM
The room was at the front and noisy with the windows open – with the windows closed it was stuffy, even in January . There was nothing I would call airconditioning. Overall the room was to a good standard - clean and pleasant. The Bathroom was a bath with a shower over – adequate with some toiletries.
In common with most of the other hotels the English TV choices arent massive CNN and BBC, but I have come to almost enjoy watching hollywood films dubbed into German
THE BAR
In my opinion this is a delight, spacious and inviting with excellent service a vast range of drinks from Averna to hot beverages, with excellent wines by the glass or bottle.It is worth trying the local white wines There are nibbles and it is modern and a good place to sit and pass the evening or rendez-vous with colleagues. There was no pressure to have a drink or to move on. Very relaxing.
BREAKFAST
Breakfast is in the restaurant – it is a large area and can get quite busy. In most respects this is the best breakfast on offer an enormous range - with a chef available to cook fresh eggs and a massive assortment of breakfast goods.Personally, I would note the hot breakfast could be improved with clearer labeling for special diets –Vegetarian and of course Gluten Free. The range of Teas is absolutely wonderful and the Orange juice is a reminder of why orange juice should be drunk, it is fresh and absolutely delicious. The service is slick and efficient with interested and motivated staff.Overall I liked this the first time and I still love going for breakfast here. At peak times it can be very busy and this is sometimes off putting. So try to eat early (I do) or I assume late.
CHECKOUT
In such a popular hotel this can be very busy the service is slick and professional - so the wait isnt too bad -I chose the wrong "queue" but overall you will get out as quickly as you got in and if Reception call a Taxi it is quick to arrive and efficient.
OVERALL
Overall, ask any traveler to Manheim and the Dorint Hotel is usually their favourite, the plusses outweigh the minuses and in consequence at peak dates it can be fully booked very early on. On this visit I was a little disappointed my room was at the front and noisy, I didn’t get a great nights sleep, but I know the hotel well enough to take the rough with the smooth. I do love the bar and I do love the location and the breakfast. I will be back - definitely when the weather is cooler if not sooner.

Room Tip: - Book as early as you can - Ask for a room at the back or high up or both - Ask for airconditioni...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0zyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 387 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times on business. This is a good solid hotel which seems to run like clockwork. The checkins are always swift and easy, as with checking out. The rooms are a good size, modern and well kept. The bedding is always clean and in good condition, not tired and distressed. The buffet is a good size, nicely appointed and even includes fresh squeezed orange juice along with all the other juice choices. It's a short walk from the Central train station, which you could take a cab if you really wanted too but not really required. It's close to the central area and of course the Water tower for some tourist type shots. I have still yet to try the spa and fitness area, as they were renovating it last time and this visit there wasn't time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the high 20-50's seem to be towards the back of the hotel for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I travel to Mannheim often and have tried several hotels. The Dorint is my first choice. The room is always ready when I arrive even when I arrive before check-in time. The room is always clean and is a nice size. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The hotel has a convenient and well furnished exercise room. Typically, I have the exercise room to myself. My few complaints are minor. The room does not include small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion. All you have is a squeeze bottle of soap in the shower and at the sink. They also tend to be stingy with the towels, which means just one large towel and one small towel. The first 15 minutes of internet is free. If you want any more you have to pay. The fifteen minutes begins when you first log on and ends fifteen minutes later even if you only used 5 minutes of internet time. The internet time (whether purchased or free) is not connection time, but clock time. Consequently, even if you only want 10 minutes of connection time, but you want to use that 10 minutes at different times of the day, you have to purchase time. Some rooms can be noisy if they face the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that does not face the main street in front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is one of the better hotels in Mannheim Germany. It's located close to the Water Tower and conveniently within walking distance to the shops in the area. The rooms are very clean and a little more modern than some of the traditional European style beds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busy2bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice atmosphere and the rooms are very nice and clean.
The location is in the center of city so it is close to restaurants and shops.
The hotel restaurant is very nice and the food is great with a good selection as well as a good option to compose your own 3-meal course out of the complete menue. The breakfast has good standard with plenty of options.
Parking facility is good with parking garage available underneath the hotel. Note: Just remember to pay the garage fee in the hotel reception upon leaving the hotel since it is not possible to pay at the garage exit gate, this I learned the hard way :-)
In general a pleasant stay and I look forward to stay there again upon next visit to Mannheim.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

For me, as I am getting on in years, the most important aspect for any hotel stay, particularly when on business, is a quiet comfortable room enabling a good night’s sleep.
The room and bed were comfortable but the level of street noise made sleep difficult. Also the lack of hot drink/tea/coffee facilities in the room did not enhance those restless hours. There was not any complimentary water in the room – there was water in the mini-bar but dearer per cc than the bottled beer…
On the positive side the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Do not have a room fronting the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I always stay here when travelling to Mannheim for business. Very decent business hotel with a lot of rooms. Good food, extensive breakfast, parking adjoint, nice atmoshpere, always business people in the bar during evening/night. Close to the city center. Rooms are standard size, but with all amenities. They also run a loyalty card program, which is nice added benefit for frequent visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#19 of 45 in Mannheim
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim

Address: Friedrichsring 6, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Dorint Sofitel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mannheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range: $105 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim is a modern 4-star hotel, centrally located and directly linked to the congress Center Rosengarten.The hotel features 287 rooms and suites, an a la carte restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a fitness area including a sauna and modern fitness equipment and 13 conference and function room for up to 600 people.For guests arriving by car, the basement garage offers adequate parking at all times with up to 1,100 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Kongresshotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing