We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better with a few small touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Location within 10 min walk to main station. Staff were polite and friendly.
Good gym and great spread for breakfast.
Single room was ok but no air conditioning.
There was a kettle and some tea bags but no coffee (what the ??)
My colleagues who stayed in the double had a nespresso machine in their room though!
All the news channels you could hope for but no movies (what the ??)
No room safe. Internet costs an arm and a leg but it is free if you go to the business centre on level one.
All in all, functional but just. Good breakfast spread is probably about the only 5 stars I'd give.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank tricky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 412 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Best hotel to stay for more than two days in Mannheim. Good location, in the city center. Several tram stops close to the hotel. A 10 minutes walk from the Main Train Station.
Rooms are very good in everything, I would only say too soft mattress and pillow.
Staff is friendly and helpful, proffesional and polite attitude.
Hotel gym is the best I had ever seen, placed in ground-floor with window-walls with views to the street. Sauna facilites are also very good.
Breakfast has a massive variety of everything, one of the best hotel breakfast I have experienced ever.
As a negative point, no wifi (at least not included in the room fare)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avrilcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel three, four times in the last two years and I actually like it.

Advantages of this hotel:
- Perfect location and walking distance to the main trainstation (800 meters)
- Breakfast is really good with attention to the details. The focus here is German/European food
- Small but well equipped gym to do some exercise
- Counter staff is really efficient and well trained so checking in/out is fast.
- Ironing room on 5th floor is a somewhat unique idea but has three ironing boards and all the paraphernalia
- Minibar was free in my package - unfortunately nobody told me and I only saw this on checkout
- Hotelbar is very nice, but there are even nicer places around the Wasserturm nearby

What I did not like:
- Rooms facing the main street are a bit noisy, so make sure to ask for a room facing the quiet other side
- 10 Euros for 24 hours internet is way too much
- A waterboiler and tea are provided in the rooms, but unfortunately no instant coffee

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main road are much quieter than those facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days in April '12. My experience in this hotel was quite a good one. Service at the reception was short and sharp. Staffs were polite and helpful when I asked. Other employees (housekeeping/maintenance) all gave short greetings whenever we pass by each other and they're well mannered.

There is wifi in my room with a fee but it's costly so I did not use it. However, I'm happy with the availability of 24-hours business center (2 PC's and a colour printer) free of charge and without limitation. Throughout my stay, there were hardly anyone else using them.

While the comforter is comfortable, the pillows were just little bit thicker than the comforter. At least they were quite big so I could fold them for the height. :D

My room has got no air-condition but this does not bother me during my stay as it was winter. I only needed heater and the room has 2 units.

Room service was good. Though a bit costly, the food quality, presentation and service was good.

Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyJaneTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

but not much for amenities. Didn't eat in the hotel (seemed expensive) or use any of the fitness facilities. The beds are OK. No WI-FI and the wired internet was very expensive. Front desk staff were not too friendly - very short and all business. The location is great tho, so if all you want is a clean reasonably priced bed this will do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WV61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My stay at Dorint was sponsored by Stuttgart Marketing. While my stay here for the night wasn't spectacular, it wasn't too bad either.

The rooms were spacious, but hey, no air-conditioning?!

The lobby was buzzing with people, not too many to make it seem like a crowd though. Just the right number of people which didn't make it look like you were stuck in a hotel with only two other guests. The Jazz bar on the ground floor is a neat little place to hang out in the evening. It overlooks the busy street.

They've did not have a masseuse at the spa when I visited (they said they were looking for a new one) and neither was there anyone at the sauna room to guide me about the temperatures or anything else. I really did not feel like taking off my robe in that sauna room!

I don't know about the Internet rates, but there was one common computer with Internet which you could use for a while.

I'm on the fence on this one for now, until another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sosha_sosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in December 2010 just for 1 night during our German trip. The hotel is rather average but nod bad. Our room was standard. The bathroom was spacious. The hotel is close to train station. We had to chech out early in the morning so didn't get breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#7 of 45 in Mannheim
326 reviews
1 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
#16 of 45 in Mannheim
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim

Address: Friedrichsring 6, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Dorint Sofitel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mannheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range: $102 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim is a modern 4-star hotel, centrally located and directly linked to the congress Center Rosengarten.The hotel features 287 rooms and suites, an a la carte restaurant, a bar, a terrace, a fitness area including a sauna and modern fitness equipment and 13 conference and function room for up to 600 people.For guests arriving by car, the basement garage offers adequate parking at all times with up to 1,100 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Kongresshotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing