We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here just for one night. Outside the hotel looks grand, inside its difficult to find your way. No warm welcome. The room I had was small I even did not know these still existed ! It was hot but roadnoise kept me from sleeping with windows open. Shocking 15,- euro for wired internet. the bar is cosy but expensive.
The breakfast room is in the basement, crowded and warm but choice of food excellent.

Room Tip: Get a double room away from the busy street / traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Manager at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast,
wir möchten uns sehr dafür entschuldigen, dass Sie nicht herzlich willkommen geheißen wurden, denn gerade unsere Mitarbeiter werden wegen ihrer Freundlichkeit immer gelobt. Unsere Umluftanlage funktioniert nur bei geschlossenem Fenster. Die Internetgebühren haben sich geändert, das schnurgebundene Internet ist für die ersten 30 Minuten kostenfrei. Unser großes Frühstücksbuffet im Gewölbe im Untergeschoss erfreut sich immer großer Beliebtheit, ausreichend Plätze sind ebenfalls vorhanden. Sehr geehrter Gast, wir bedauern sehr, dass der Aufenthalt nicht Ihren Wünschen entsprochen hat und möchten uns für alle Unannehmlichkeiten entschuldigen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
die Direktion des MARITIM Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 341 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Certain aspects of the reviews listed rang true with me. I agree that the furniture in the rooms was rather dark and sombre but everything was clean and well maintained.We were on the fifth floor and weren't troubled by street or traffic noise when the windows were closed. The weather was quite cool when we stayed here and we were only too glad to keep the windows closed at night. I imagine though that ventilation could present a problem in soaring temperatues.
The reception area and bar have an air of faded elegance which I found quite charming.However, I did find the fug of cigarette smoke less charming. British people have become accustomed to the comfort of smoke-free meeting areas.Fortunately, I had requested and was given, non-smoker's accommodation so the problem was only apparent after dinner.
On a more positive note the quality of the food served and the attention of the staff were second to none. I can't recall having a better buffet breakfast and the array and assortment of starters and desserts was mouthwatering and of exceptional quality.
i'm sure the time will come when this hotel is treated to a face-lift and i hope some of its inherent charm will remain.In the meantime, enjoy what it has to offer. It has many positives.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor seemed to be parallel with the top of the water tower. This is illuminat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizKPershoreWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Manager at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the friendly assessment, of our house. We have passed your compliments on the food and the service departments.
We hope to welcome you again as a satisfied guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been in Mannheim pretty often in the past months and am still looking for a hotel that is OK. So I decided to try the Maritim this time around and will not be going back.
As mentioned in some of the earlier reviews, the hotel is old and needs renovation. The room that I was first given was very small and very smoky. I checked with the reception since I had specifically asked for a non-smoking room and was immediately assigned another room and told that I was "upgraded" as compensation. Hwoever the new room wasn't really much bigger. What amazes me is that 5 star hotels in Germany still give you a "single" room when they know that the booking is for a single person! Which means that the beds are much smaller!!! Somehow I cannot get used to that since the price one pays is not really that much lesser.
Internet is not so pricey but the connection is really slow so you have an issue downloading large files!
I skipped breakfast, so can't say much about the food.
The reception staff is very friendly, especially the lady at the reception desk when I checked out.
All in all-not worth the price and the stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Manager at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to report to us about your stay in our hotel. We regret
your visit did not meet your expectations. Please take to account that our house, which is
of the 4 star category, had been built in 1901 and falls under monument protection. Thus
our rooms differ in size. We are happy to read that you were pleased with the friendliness
of our staff. We would be delighted to have you choose our house again on your next visit to Mannheim and to welcome you as a satisfied guest.

Yours sincerely,
MARITIM Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in Mannheim for a conference in the Rosengarten. The congress centre is just opposite the hotel and it can be the only reason that this hotel survives.

My room on the first floor was straight out of the 70s. With dark furniture, brownish bathroom and yellow net curtains. Awful and depressing. There was no hotel owned wi-fi and no safety deposit box in the room. 4 stars? Everything in the hotel felt tired, including the staff. Whilst they were behaving correctly, there was nothing particularly friendly or welcoming in their behaviour.

The only positive about the hotel was the bed in the room- comfortable and clean.

I couldn't wait to check out and I sincerely hope that I won't need to stay there again.

Room Tip: Asking they have newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Manager at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to report to us about your stay in our hotel. We regret
your visit did not meet your expectations. The rooms on the first floor are only partially renovated and are on the list to be refurbished . Unfortunately we cannot offer free wi-fi
at this time but hope to offer this to our guests in the near future.
We would be delighted to have you choose our house again on your next visit to Mannheim and to welcome you as a satisfied guest.

Yours sincerely,
MARITIM Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited 30 Jan 2013 - 1 Feb and have tried to write this review a number of times. The current heat wave (it was 27 degrees on Monday 15th April) made me think it is time to add this review.
BACKROUND
I have stayed here on and off, over the past 13 years and cannot get over the style of the place - the building and location are great. If this was the UK it would be refurbished as a stylish and very expensive hotel. But this is the centre of Mannheim and the Maritim awaits the complete makeover. Following which there would be a waiting list to stay here.
The competition between hotels in the centre of Mannheim appears to offer similar levels of service and facilities, all with good and less good aspects.
Mannheim is host to a number of Congresses over the course of a year - when this happens it can be impossible to get the first or second or even any hotel in the city. My advice is always try to book an Hotel as early as you can.
I booked here because I have affection for the place and couldn’t get in my first or second choices.
ROOM
On check in I was asked “Smoking or non-smoking?”- which coming from the UK is very odd, and does mean you can have a room where people have smoked. I got a room at the back on the third floor - simply put it was quiet and huge, a little jaded - but the traveler photos show this if you look carefully. This means you can leave the windows open for fresh air and not be woken all night by the sirens and other night noises of this city.
The important point is that rooms can be fine outside of "summer" or to be precise when the temperature is lower, but in the height of summer there is no relief from the oppressive heat and unless you are in a good position at the back, having the window open means you will be woken all night (I always carry ear plugs for this reason and have used them here on previous visits when at the front) and even with the windows open the heat inside can be oppressive.
BAR
This is great, dark and atmospheric and often has music with good piano. The service is generally good, the range also good. It was good this visit. It opens late and is nice for a late drink and a chat. BUT people seem to be able to smoke in here - if so then I do not use it.
BREAKFAST
The range and service is absolutely excellent - including Gluten free cereals – hurrah!! There is a vast range of choices, both hot and cold, not quite as good a hot range if you are vegetarian (or coeliac). The only thing which surprised me was the orange juice wasn’t real. The big downside is that as the year progresses it can get very warm (hot) here and can be quite unpleasant to eat here. This visit was great. I enjoyed the breakfast a lot.
CHECK OUT
The service is generally good - I was lucky and missed the mass check out from the attendees at the congress, but it can be time consuming and from past experience, queuing doesn’t seem to happen here.
OVERALL
Personally I find it hard to rate the Maritim, it is good in parts, very good in parts, but the building and furnishings can feel a little tired and with the temperature rising over the year the hotel feels a little limited.
Stating the obvious the rating depends on the location of the room you get and what time of year you are staying. Winter to Spring the Maritim is well worth using and if you get a good rate it is hard to beat for location and a good breakfast. The large back bedrooms are great and the bathrooms have what seemed to me wider baths, with showers over them which are adequate.
I will be first to book if the Maritim ever has a makeover and refurb with operational air-conditioning because I (usually) like the place. For this trip in, winter it deserves a 4, I slept very well and enjoyed the facilities I used. I think if I had to have stayed at the Maritim this week ( Mid April)it would be different, since I have not had a room ever with aircon that worked and let’s face it the most important thing is a good night’s sleep.

Room Tip: - Always book as early as you can, large congresses can take over hotels if not the city - Breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0zyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Manager at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to thoroughly rate your stay in our hotel. We would be delighted to have you choose our house again on your next visit to Mannheim and to welcome you as a satisfied guest.

Yours sincerely,
MARITIM Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is old but well furnished. I had arranged an early check in, but after a long trip I was disappointed at how slow both the check in and also checkout processes were. My room was nice and had a good view of the water tower. The breakfast was ok and the bar area looked nice. My big complaints were only two English speaking free TV stations (I thought all hotels provided BBC for free, but not this one) and paying 27 euro a day for high speed Internet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Directeur général at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear customer,
many thanks for taking the time to report about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to read that you liked your room and its spezial view! However, we regret that the check-in and check-out process were slow. Unfortunately, we cannot offer more English speaking channels and wifi at a cheaper rate at the moment, but we hope, that this will change in the near future!
We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Mannheim and welcome you as a satisfied guest.

Sincerely,
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Part of a business trip with 35 people in the party.The hotel itself is very grand from the outside and has a good position opposite a park with good shopping all around. The check in was very efficient and we were in the rooms very quickly. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom was ok if a bit small. The main gripes are that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room, this is quite unusual these days. The TV was a tube monster but the only English channels were 2 poor ones NO BBC just some sky international news which is crap in comparison with the Beeb. Also there was no iron in the room, again this is unusual these days. Mannheim itself is very nice near the centre but the suburbs are a bit grim, but hey, this is the industrial heartland of Germany so not unexpected. Everything ran to time with frightening efficiency! How do they keep the airport and roads open with a foot of snow when they shut in Britain with half an inch?

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the park, rear views not so edifying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMan, Directeur général at Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear customer,
many thanks for taking the time to report about your stay at our hotel!
We are delighted to hear, that you liked the position of the hotel and its appearance! We are also satisfied to hear, that the check-in was very efficient and that you liked the rooms. Please take into account that our house, which belongs to the 4 star category, was built in 1901 and falls under the protection of monuments. Thus, our rooms are of different sizes. Unfortunately, we cannot offer more English speaking channels at the moment but hope that this will change in the near future. We also regret, that our TVs do not exactly meet the current expectations but we also hope this will change in the near future. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel at your next visit to Mannheim and welcome you as a satisfied guest.

Sincerely,
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim

Address: Friedrichsplatz 2, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range: $90 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant first class hotel built in the renaissance style and located in the midst of the particulary beautiful Friedrichsplatz Jugendstil complex forms certainly the ideal framework for guests looking for that very special place. The flight of stairs flanked by columns and the vestibule finished with Carrara marble, Venetian crystal and ornamental plasterwork reflect the exclusivity and the wealth of tradition of our Parkhotel.The very special wedding ceremony! Allow yourself the pleasure of a civil wedding ceremony in the elegant and stylish wedding room of our Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim. Your accommodation is in the city centre surroundedby countless attractions. For instance the Water Tower just in front of our hotel , the principal landmark of Mannheim. Do not miss the impressive waterworks and luminous fountains. The Electoral Residence Castle, on of the largest baroque castles in the world, the oldest baroque Town Hall preserved in its original walls, the museums and the historic observatory and the Luisenpark are within easy reach from the hotel. The city location in the heart of the famous Baden and Pfalz vineyards and wineries makes it a valued destination for wine connoisseurs from all over the globe.Do you prefer your stay to be in a very special atmosphere? Then you will feel welcome in the Maritim Parkhotel in Mannheim. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim Hotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing