We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere mountains of food”

Restaurant Dionysos
Ranked #150 of 590 Restaurants in Mannheim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere mountains of food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in town as a group of colleagues so didn't know the area at all. A quick google and this restaurant was recommended. Upon arriving it was packed for a Tuesday so that was a good sign. Fortunately they were able to seat all 6 of us and were very accommodating. The menu was vast so we thought we would order starters and mains. We also got a welcome complementary drink which was nice. Our starters were massive and more like a main course and came with a separate salad bowl. As there was so much I ate half of it to allow for my main course. Main course was also massive. I ordered salmon and I had 2 massive salmon portions with a good selection of vegetables. We left loads between us and we should of really just ordered a main course only. Overall food was good, wine was good and the lady serving us was very pleasant. Only complaint was the fish was a little dry but other than that a great night. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    44
    20
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loads, Cheap and average Quality”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We dropped by Dionysos when wandering through Mannheim shopping area. The restaurant is near the main road. We ordered 3 dishes - all super large and not bad - would call it even tasty but you feel the quality of the food is just average.
The dishes not been authentic Greek but OK for Germany .-). We paid only 33€ for our lunch, which is not bad.

Service was ok, outside seating was bit bad due to the close road. Can recommend Dionysos!


Verdict:

+Price
+Service

-Quality of food processed
-Outside Location

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good food for a normal German prices for the midday lunch. Nice admosphere. Friendly waiters. And ofcourse the usual welcome drink like you have in every Greek restaurant. Just under 30 euro for two persons is not to bad for the centre of Mannheim.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ok For Greek Food I guess a bit mixed”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

A big Greek restaurant with lots of outside seating. I had a mixed meat dish sort of mixed grill which was quite expensive and was OK but could have been more. You get the usual full plate with rice garnishes etc but thought it expensive for what it was wife's fish was OK. Best bet in places like this is to stick to the standards like Kofta and kebabs. Not a bad meal service prompt, no problem getting a seat. If I wanted a Greek meal I’d go back but pick something different. But the market leader for this sort of food still has to be Istanbul in Markt Platz

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_In_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food...great service”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Food was amazing....appetizers, bread, wine, and lamb great

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keishaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Dionysos also viewed

Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Restaurant Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing