We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Italian”
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #54 of 602 Restaurants in Mannheim
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Italian”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We really enjoyed the fresh preparation of the meals. While the pasta line can take a little time, your meal is prepared fresh to your specifications. Would also recommend the pizza, especially if the pasta area is 3-4 people deep. Atmosphere is festive, loved the lounge area upstairs. I would recommend and return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleDance921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    133
    103
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good Italian cusine”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is one of my favourite Italian resturants. The atmosphere is pretty good. The food is very tasty. I usually eat pasta but there pizzas are also very nice. My favourite is FILETTO DI MANZO E RUCOLA. If you like italian, then this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but too long waiting time”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I like their concept of live pasta but too much waiting time. Last time I went there, they served me a half cooked pasta which I had to return and wait again for fresh one to be made. I would suggest to block a place first and then fetch your food else you will be left standing wondering how to relish the long awaited food. All in all, not a bad place to go if you have the time and patience to wait in a queue as long as 45 mins for your food to be served to you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roopali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Good fresh food, prepared whilst you wait. I have tried the pasta dishes and usually the Carbonara with Spaghetti.

As you enter, you get a card from the till and then go to one of the serving points to place your order - one for pizzas and 3/4 for pasta dishes. There is a small menu listing the options. It can get busy lunchtimes, so be prepared to wait 15-20 minutes. All food is prepared whilst you wait - spaghetti put in the boiler, and then, in the case of the Carbonara, all ingredients added to the pan, with the option to leave any out. I usually decline the garlic. You ask for your drink at the time of ordering your food, and then you hold your card near a card reader where the cost is added.

Even lunchtimes, there is adequate seating, although you may have to go upstairs. After you have finished, your card is swiped at the till and you pay. Credit cards are accepted. There is also a dish of Gummi Bears near the till, so you can help yourself!

It helps to speak some German, but you can get by with none.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kvukwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good quality, atmosphere and value”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We really liked this restaurant, the food was good, fresh and well cooked plus generous portions. The system is a little confusing at first but once you get the hang of it actually works really well as you can have as much or as little to eat and drink as you like and can eat quickly or take your time. It can get busy but there are plenty more seats upstairs. We enjoyed the buzz and the atmosphere. It was also very good value. Would go back for tasty and good food, friendly staff and flexibility of format.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windmilltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing