We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel / Comfortable Accomodations / Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterCityHotel Mannheim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterCityHotel Mannheim
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel / Comfortable Accomodations / Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the InterCity Mannheim for one night. I selected this hotel because I was flying out from Frankfurt the next day and room rates in Frankfurt were extremely high. I was able to book a room at the Intercity Mannheim for about US$78. This recently built hotel is located adjacent to the Mannheim Train Station and just a 35 minute ride on the InterCity Express (ICE) train to Frankfurt Airport. The downtown / shopping area of Mannheim is an easy 10 minute walk or alternatively you can take one of the trams that stop just outside the hotel.

Upon arrival the front office receptionist welcomed me to the hotel. She was young, energetic, and spoke fluent English. She assigned me a room on the 7th floor. The lobby and other public areas of the hotel are decorated in rich, contemporary colors, giving the feel of being in a high-end hotel. My room was of a good size, especially for a room in a European hotel at a sub-US$100 room rate. The room was nicely decorated, contained new and modern furnishings, a flat screen TV, safe, and was equipped with central heating / air conditioning.
The queen sized bed was very comfortable and had clean and crisp linens.

The bathroom was also of good size, bright, was spotless, had all new modern fixtures, and plenty of counter space. The shower stall (no bathtub) offered of plenty of room to move around.

Although the hotel is located adjacent to the train station and the train tracks, I could not hear any noise from the passing trains when the window was closed.

At check-in, the hotel will provide you with a free public transit card that you can use for the trams and buses in the central Mannheim area.

Overall, I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at the InterCity Mannheim. All of the reception staff I encountered during my stay appeared to be in their 20's and were always pleasant and helpful in assisting guests. All of them seemed to speak fluent English.

This hotel offers new, modern, and very comfortable rooms at good rates. Of the many InterCity hotels I have stayed at in Germany, the InterCity Mannheim is the nicest and most modern. It's location next to the train station makes it a good option if you plan to visit other cities in the area or even if you are over-nighting before or after a flight into or out of Frankfurt Airport. As mentioned above, it's only 35 minutes to the airport on one of the ICE trains. The fare runs from 19-23 Euro.

GETTING THERE

As you exit the train station towards the downtown, turn left. You will see the hotel which is only a one minute walk from the station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    145
    49
    16
    6
See reviews for
9
56
33
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights, and did not have any problems. My room was located on the 9th floor (it was a business room), it was silent and the room amenities functioned properly. The front desk staff was kind and helpful.
Please note that Wi-Fi is not free. The price was EUR 10 for 120 minutes, and there were 1-, 2- and 3-day (EUR 38) packages with better prices.
I would definitely stay here again as everything was smooth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlaukosKhalkedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfect location for business in Mannheim.

This modern 2-year old hotel is a 1-minute walk from the main train station. The air conditioned rooms are clean and functional. The only negative is that the bathroom door is frosted glass. We usually keep the bathroom light on at night in a new hotel (with door almost closed) so we can find the bathroom at night. Glass door allows too much light into room.

Hotel has a very small bar and restaurant.

Stays include free tram tickets for area trams, which are located immediately outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

As a jumping off point for Hockenheim and the German GP, it doesn't really get much better. Clean, modern, stylish rooms and a genuinely nice place to come back to after slogging round the track. Location is almost perfect. We were in 210, so a lot of train noise, but if you avoid that side of the hotel, then it's pretty much perfect.

Staff were friendly, very helpful and, shamefully for us, their spoken English is impeccable.

Local travel is free using a ticket from reception, which is complimentary. Nice touch. Tram, bus and train connections within yards of the front door.

There are plenty of casual eating places within a 2 minute walk, for something more, you need to travel a wee bit further afield, but the city centre is compact and in a grid layout very similar to Glasgow city centre.

Having heard some other experiences in other hotels in other towns, I'm so glad we booked here and wouldn't hesitate recommending it. The 5th o would have been earned if the room was a bit quieter, but proximity to train station is both a life saver and a millstone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DamienKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is very convenient, being by the train station and a short walk to ZEW and the university. Also, since you get a free tram/bus pass and the stops are right outside, it's easy to get anywhere in the city (though it is also walking distance to the main shopping area, the Wasserturm, etc.).
Rooms are modern, clean, and nicely designed, if small. Some of the best soundproofing I've experienced -- you can barely hear the trains going by, and I heard no interior noises either. Breakfast is excellent, from bread and jam to eggs and meat to bircher muesli, fruit, yogurt, etc.
However, the room service options are limited, if for some reason you need them.
The only problems I experienced were that the HVAC system didn't seem up to the task, as it was unable to cool the room adequately, which is important since opening the windows invites extreme train noise.
Also, the front desk and bar were sometimes understaffed, requiring longer waits than necessary, but the staff once available were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
262 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel. It is centrally located, just across the road from the railway station. There are loads of restuarants, cafes and shops close by.

The staff were always most helpful and welcoming. (0n arrival we phoned reception and asked for an additional pillow and it arrived in 2 minutes!) The rooms were spotless and comfortable as was the bathroom. The bed was very big and there was a good TV and a safe in the room.

It was a great surprise to be given a free 2 day travel pass for use on trams and busses. We used this to good effect to see the city and to get us to a gig at the SAP Arena.

We did not eat at the hotel as there were so many eating places nearby.

While it was fine for us very very light sleepers might be disturbed by the noise from trains.

There was no parking available so we had a walk of about 400 metres to our car

I was going to use the internet but at a minimum of 15 Euros for an hour I felt this was a bit expensive

Overall we were happy and would certainly use again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you want convienence and a nice place to stay, the InterCityHotel is just right. Great location since it is just outside the train station. Easy walking distance to down town Mannheim. They also give you a tram and train pass to anywhere locally. Breakfast was very nice as well. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkM36364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.5 mi away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.1 mi away
SYTE Hotel Mannheim
SYTE Hotel Mannheim
#5 of 45 in Mannheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Mannheim

Property: InterCityHotel Mannheim
Address: Schlossgartenstr. 1, 68161 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterCityHotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our InterCityHotel Mannheim in the immediate vicinity of the main station and close to the centre of the city which is famous for its unusual street layout designed in squares. Thanks to its central location you can easily discover all of the highlights of the city such as, for example, the National Theatre or the Mannheim Kunsthalle, a museum of modern art. The exhibition and congress centre can also be reached easily on foot. Make use of the FreeCityTicket for local public transport in Mannheim and the Rhine-Neckar District which we provide you with on your arrival and which is valid for the duration of your stay. The InterCityHotel Mannheim can offer its guests 155 rooms in different price categories in modern design. The rooms are furnished with minibar, WiFi, television, safe and with a modern bathroom. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your InterCityHotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing