We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recently renovated?”

Badisches Landesmuseum
Ranked #6 of 52 things to do in Karlsruhe
Attraction details
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“recently renovated?”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

the Turkish booty is what we came for this time. Seems nicely curated. Is all teh collection from Baden though?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcwDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    67
    15
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
206 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Nice view from the tower”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The palace (which the museum is in) is marvelous!
We came on Friday afternoon and were announced that entrance is free between 14-18. Good!
We wandered through the museum, nice exhibition and not many people.
The highlight for us was climbing up to the tower, and see the whole city (almost...) from above.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Müllheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Badisches Landesmuseum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you have the chance to visit this historical museum please don't miss it. I have seen there an exhibition on the pre-historic cultures the upper Rhine Valley. The museum itself was already worth the visit. Even when there is no exhibition you will find beautiful and fascinating exhibits of the whole area of Baden-Württemberg from pre-historic times and the middle ages up to the 21st century. It is a very lively museum even for those who do not live in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eleonore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good cultural and historical museum”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This museum is located in the large palace (Schloss) in the center of Karlsruhe. I went on a Friday, when admission is free, and spent some time wandering through the museum. I was unfortunately here during a heat wave, and like most buildings here, it was not air conditioned. They have an excellent collection of exhibits on ancient artifacts, medieval history, world culture, and things related to the history and culture of southwest Germany. I recommend seeing this on your visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The badisches landesmuseum is a palace of the Karl of city. Spread across a wide area, it is easily reached from the city. It has picturesque views. The large palace opens at 10 a.m. However, those who are not acquainted with the city history may need to do a little homework and then go to understand it better, or hire a guide. I would recommend this only for photography and a casual visit. Nothing too much exciting, except the scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank grazingbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badisches Landesmuseum also viewed

Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Badisches Landesmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing