We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and quiet”

Badisches Landesmuseum
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I visited Karlsruhe during a month academic visit to karlsruhe institute and whenever i felt overwhelmed by work , a 30 min walk around this place and the surrounded wood were very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    66
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
303 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend a Rainy Day”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice walk down the pathway lined with numerous statues. A good place to spend a rainy, cold day inside the museum. It's very large and reasonably priced. Ask for english tour guide.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Attention museum lovers”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I wish I had read reviews before I went so we would have gotten the English audio guide. We love museums but all the commentaries and notes were in German. We paid 8€ for all the exhibits but didn't fully appreciate the exhibits. However, it seemed to be very well presented and the rooms seemed endless of beautiful artifacts from Baden-Baden's 900 year history.
I appreciated that they had one area where you could take your picture with costume pieces and that they had fold up chairs (not heavy or bulky) so you could sit if you needed to.
They had free coat check service which was nice since it had been raining.
You could climb up the steep and tightly wound spiral staircase to get to the tower which offers breathtaking views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice and beautifull”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

travel to -8 Celsius temperature cool enough to surround this place, during morning and evening I visited this place. behind this place there is a lake that has been frozen and is very quiet so it's pretty fun to be in that place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yogi_Syah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
222 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“The previous reviewer was spot on.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was taken here by some friends that live in karlsruhe. Was planning on seeing the museum but it was closed, so we took a stroll around the enormous park. The building is beautiful and the park is as well. But it was a hot day and there is little shade. You need sunglasses in front of the museum because of all the white rock. Its so bright with the sun shining down on it. Behind the museum is grassy with ponds full of swans. The site was beautiful and i have some nice pictures but its not a place yqou would need to go out of your waqy to see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelers_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badisches Landesmuseum also viewed

Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Badisches Landesmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing