We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AAAA Hotelwelt Kuebler
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was invited over to Karlsruhe for a meeting and it appears that the company use this hotel as the guest like it for its quirkiness. Within the site there are 2 hotels, a restaurant, bars, and brewery.

This is the strangest hotel that I have ever been in, the decor is a cross between Alice in Wonderland and Willy Wonka. You entered the door to the bedroom and went straight down a flight of stairs to a decent size room that had a nice view of the street. The room was open plan to the bath room and was only separated by a glass partition.

The was a comfortable SINGLE bed under what appeared to be a stair case. The room itself was clean and had everything that you need, however I am not keen on the single bed.

The hotel itself had rooms that look like faces (from the outside) and there were weird and wonderful structures throughout.

The restaurant was good and had a nice atmosphere - however I do think that it was the brewery. There was also a slide between the levels - which was very fun after a few German beers.

If you want something fun and different, then this hotel is worth a stay and I can see why the company who invited me use it for their guests. However the next time that I go I will certainly be staying in a traditional business hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a strange little place!
I had one of the themed rooms, the carpet was a constellation of stars, the bed was in a pyramid, the furniture and décor were 1980s while the theme was more science fiction. Iw ould have preferred curtains on all the windows, I don't find voils to offer privacy in a lit room. The room and the en-suite were very spacious, which was nice. The bed was comfy and I had a good sleep.
The breakfast service is good with a range of cold and hot foods on offer. There was ample seating space and the staff were very efficient keeping the tables cleared and clean.
I went to the hotel restaurant for my evening meal but I found it to be too big and noisy, so I ordered room service instead. The food was fresh andhote and tasty.
The wifi is not included in the room rate (a pet hate of mine), you have to purchase an access card from reception. They are not at all expensive - but neither are they of use when construction in the town means there is no television and no internet access anywhere!
This hotel offers excellent value for money.
There is ample car parking underground - the narrow passage alongside rocky outcrops takes some getting used to though.

Room Tip: The themed rooms are quirky and a little strange, but there are standard rooms also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

good location, close to the center, yet quiet area and on the other side of a large Beergarden. Breakfast has a great variety, (lots of choices). The hotel is a mixture of lots of buildings so it can be a bot bewildering navigation around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perlfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Walking past the Virgin Mary, down the stairs that appear from nowhere in the middle of the hall, then looking out over the twin cupolas, one with a boy, one with a girl (did I miss the fairy tale connection?), and finally overlooking the back hoe-crane abandoned years ago which now serves faithfully as garden sculpture and bird sanctuary, one can only think that the people who run this place may have gone nuts. But it's the Kuebler, so you know they have!

Fortunately for us, we have a cousin who lives a few doors down and rather than crowd into her limited apartment, we spend a few euros (about the cost of a stateside Holiday Inn) and enjoy staying at the Kuebler. Our most recent visit was our third over the past eight years and the place has not changed a bit. Well, it has aged a little, but that adds to its many charms.

The rooms are clean and by European standards fairly large and the tri-lingual staff is always helpful. Don't miss the Kuebler's fruhstuck, a hardy and healthy German style breakfast, which is well worth the eight Euros each they charged us for a self-serve, all you can eat buffet, pleasantly served in their glass enclosed garden room. That was great fun too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "garden" side of the hotel, rather than on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Hearing from my colleague that we were to stay here in theme rooms I was very skeptical. However my room was very large and high standard, just behind the two eyes in one of the towers with a face. That was the only strange thing, haha. A family with kids would love these kind of theme rooms.

Couple of minutes away from Europa plats in the city center. Their restaurant is very popular and have good food and their own brewery.


  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icing70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights. It is difficult to describe this hotel except as wacky! There seems to be much construction work going on but it is difficult to know what is part of the ‘architecture’ and what is not. Anyway, back to basics, the hotel complex seems to comprise several ‘units’, ranging from apartments to normal hotel rooms to weird rooms. I stayed in one of the apartments which had its own cooking facilities and a sofa-bed in addition to the single bed. The hotel has its own garage and there seemed to be plenty of space.

Breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice, hot and cold. Unusually for German hotels in which I’d previously stayed, this hotel offered some hot breakfast food (eggs) cooked to order.

The bathroom included a shower in a bath – both worked very well with lots of hot water. Within the bathroom, which had all internal walls, was a WC.

The bed was small but very comfortable. It would have been useful to have another pillow. Sadly the view from the room was not good – see the photo – the room was quite dark, unless the lights were switched on.

The TV was an old style tube – some other rooms have flat screen TVs so there seems to be some refurbishment slowly taking place. The remote control worked well. English channels comprised the usual CNN and sometimes BBC World News.

Attached to the hotel complex is the Badisch Brauhaus restaurant which has its own microbrewery. This was excellent – food, beer and wine – and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Car on the roof? Why not, everything seems to be possible in this peculiar hotel. Personally I don't think that the wacky design makes this hotel special. In fact this is pretty standard 3-star hotel. I had a really small room in the attic, so the skew ceiling made the space even more limited. The bathroom with a tub was part of my room, divided only by glass wall. Thank god the toilet was in a separate room. The bed was standard size with too soft mattress (for me) which is kind of typical in Germany. The breakfast buffet was good with standard variety of cereals, sausage, cheese etc. I tried also the hotel restaurant which is quite big and rather noisy place in the evening. The meal was good and the prices reasonable. On the whole this hotel is nothing but average (except of its extraordinary visage)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kulda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
0.1 mi away
Allvitalis Traumhotel
Allvitalis Traumhotel
#54 of 61 in Karlsruhe
11 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Karlsruhe - City Park
1.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Greif
Novum Hotel Greif
#49 of 61 in Karlsruhe
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Karlsruhe
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Karlsruhe
Ambassador Hotel Karlsruhe
#22 of 61 in Karlsruhe
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Markgrafler Hof
Hotel Markgrafler Hof
#32 of 61 in Karlsruhe
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAAA Hotelwelt Kuebler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAAA Hotelwelt Kuebler

Address: Bismarckstr. 39-43, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range: $92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AAAA Hotelwelt Kuebler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your AAAA Hotelwelt Kuebler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing