We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the stay just for the breakfast.”
Review of Hotel Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Santo
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay just for the breakfast.”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having read the reviews we were not looking forward to our stay but as far as we were concerned ALL the bad reviews are misleading. Our stay was excellent, all the staff were attentive and eager to please. We too stayed in room 411 (see post below) and room 412, noise what noise? We had our windows open every night all night and the AC worked very well.
Breakfast is really worth the stay, all you can eat from a very wide variety of items including cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, toast, muffins, cereals along with bacon, sausages and eggs cooked in various ways, preserves and a large choice of fruit juices.
The reception staff were very helpful and kind all of the time so Thanks to Daniel, Matisse and France for taking care of us.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back of the hotel which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 258Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    52
    16
    21
See reviews for
17
70
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

After main food we Where waiting 20' for Walter which wasńt présent So we Where tired to wait we left to our bedroom .
30' later at 11 pm In bed thé waiter knockout at thé door ask Why you donnt wait for me to sign thé Bill ?
I answer to him i was looking for him and hé was not there for 20' and i told him It is his raskol to look a this clients , as an answer he was looking at me and laughed , i told him i am sad for him that hé doesńt understand his rôle as a waiter , but i never saw So arrogant attitude

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank herve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karlsruhe hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed one night in Room 411 in June 2014: It was too hot in the room. AC wasn't working. I opened the window and heared voices from the outside restaurant and the neighbors celebrated a party on their balcony until 1.30. Impossible to sleep! What a pitty: Because breakfast was great the check-in-service too. Better to go there for breakfast ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Located casual 15 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof alongside a pretty park, about 20 minute walk from the town centre -- palace, shopping, and on a main tram line. The staff was very friendly and helpful, free fast WIFI, nifty bar (half price on the evening I was there). The room was large enough, comfortable, with an espresso machine, good size cupboard, safe, etc. All was clean. Breakfast buffet had large variety of high quality products. The bed was too soft for my personal taste. The trams could be heard in the room (windows open), but I am an early riser so it didn't bother me.

Room Tip: If your are sensitive to street noise, ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Santo is a small hotel in an acceptable location not far from the city centre of Karlsruhe. The rooms are functional, ok in size and with all amenities needed for a short stay. In my road facing room traffic was audible, but didn't disturb my sleep. Bathrooms are nice and clean. Service is friendly. Breakfast buffet is extensive and very nice. The hotel offers free Wifi, which didn't work in my room.

Overall decent hotel and good value. But if your are looking for anything special, this is not your place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is a very acceptable place for a one night business stay. The rooms are small but have all the essentials including free Wifi for as many devices as you want, a safe, a comfortable bed and an OK bathroom - though the "marble" sinks look disturbingly corpse-like.

The lobby decor is hideous and the basement italian restaurant barely average for food but the service was pleasant. The breakfast buffet was actually very extensive and very good quality and the staff very courteously made sure that I had everything I wanted as they started to clear up at the end of service.

There is no gym but there is free access to a very good gym a block away. However this does not open early most days of the week.

Overall good value for money and fine if you dont plan to spend much time in the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank muchtravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

the hotel is very good.
my room was nice and spacious.

the breakfast, was very good for a 4 star hotel.

staff was very nice to me during my stay.

the hotel is between the center and the train station, which is very convinient.

great choice that I recommend.

there was free expresso and coffee, in the lobby, excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank pbk6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Südstadt
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
#8 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#13 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo

Property: Hotel Santo
Address: Karlstr. 67-69, 76137, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südweststadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing