We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Hotel Renaissance in Karlsruhe--but where's the WIFI?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Hotel Renaissance in Karlsruhe--but where's the WIFI?”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 days at the Hotel. The Staff was very friendly. Despite having its location besides the elevator, the room was quiet. The Hotel was very clean. Breakfast was well to. The only thing to criticize was an not existing free hotel wi-fi. Dident happen to us for a while and makes us wander if we are really in 2014?
So despite of the wi-fi - a very recommended hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room to the court-yard. As in most Hotels that makes it quieter then the rooms to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick-Hotwaterbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    171
    72
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
72
33
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I come to Karlsruhe once a year and as per my company always stay here. Staff are great, rooms are good and food is good. One stand out is actually room service... It's the same menu (I've seen) globally and the returned favorite of mine is the Renaissance burger...... It's a business hotel with some finer touches. I can't fault it for a business hotel and the food is actually very good, ie a nice surprise.I'll happily be back.

Room Tip: burger at room service is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Easy off motorway access. Excellent service from front desk staff. Other staff also very customer focused. In this day and age of need for constant internet access this hotel's wi-fi service needs upgrade. Too many dead spots in guest rooms. Accessing internet is also multiple step process. Renaissance and Marriott generally have VG connection service. This location needs to step up. Hotel also well located for getting around town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Manager at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Serviceprof,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your stay.

You indicated in your response that the service of our internet provider was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the Renaissance for one evening while visiting a client in Ettlingen. We arrived early in the morning (10:30am) after our flight into Frankfurt and was thankful that a room was available for early check in. The hotel staff were extremely kind and helpful and even the GM welcomed me to the hotel.

The room was spacious for European standards and was very clean. Frankly, it was exactly what you expect from the Renaissance brand in the US - just in Europe! Additionally, the hotel is in a great location - an easy walk to the city center where the palace and market are located.

The only downside was that the WiFi was downright brutal with limited connectivity and when it did connect was painfully slow. However, that absolutely wouldn't prevent me from staying here again and I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamthemorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The staff are EXTREMELY good at this Karlsruhe Renaissance! It's just great - enjoy it.

We found the prices very moderate for a reliable Renaissance - no need to choose a cheaper chain.

Karlsruhe is wonderful with the amazing gardens, palaces and so on. It's the perfect choice for a stopover if you're on a massive drive from the baltic to the med, or anything like that!

The Renaissance is perfectly easy to find on a nice main corner. The trams and so on are right there if you need them. Underground parking (moderate price) is immediately (3 meters) adjacent the main front door, which I love.

Simply pull your car up literally right in front of the glass doors of the hotel on the large sidewalk for the purpose, and take your time to check-in. Then pull the car forward 3 meters and drive in to the underground parking which is simple and right there on the first level and there's a door up to the lobby. No hassles.

All of the staff, night staff, day staff, are just fantastic. They've all been with the hotel a long time and it's a great team. Bravo.

One note, breakfast is "OK" - it's perfectly acceptable and there's plenty of it, but it's not gourmet artisan localvore magnificent German breakfast cuisine, as you might find at some gourmet hotel -- it's just a big spread of perfectly acceptable everything, which is no problem. If you're looking for magnificent German breakfast cuisine with the usual incredible hams, eggs, local food etc, search for a gourmet solution.

Again - the staff at breakfast are first rate, everyone had a great time.

Thank you Renaissance for an absolutely trouble-free stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are a little old-fashioned and clunky, but good quality beds etc. Prices are moderate (surpris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We got a room on the 6th floor. The room was very clean, the staff were very kind and helpful, and the hotel restaurant/bar offered agreeable food. Also, there's a bus/train stop right in front of the hotel.
The hotel buffet breakfast though is the best I've seen at this price range and it's priceless at 6:30am for a jet lagged traveler!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend and were very pleased with the hotel staff as they were super helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The hotel is located on a busy street but is conveniently located across the street from a train stop and just a short walk to the center of the city where the castle and gardens are located. Breakfast was 19 euro for the "American Breakfast" and the food was decent. Although I think the price should be a bit less for the food served, it was still worth the expense out of convenience. The rooms were decent and the beds were quite comfortable however the room ran extremely warm. We even put on the air conditioning in March and opened the windows at night, but still had to sleep on top of the sheets. Really, it was that warm. Not to mention loud at night with the window open. Overall, we were happy with the stay for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,005 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
161 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
245 reviews
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe

Property: ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#7 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your new and exclusive meeting and event hotel is located in the heart of Karlsruhe, the second largest city in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 215 modern and fully air-conditioned rooms and suites pamper you with comfortable interior and technical equipment of highest quality. We offer you seven meeting and banquet rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art technique. We make your events at our meeting area (460 sqm in total) up to 250 people unforgettable. Our competent staff is supporting you with the planning of your individual corporate or private events. Be sure, you are in the right hands at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe. At the hotel's own, bright restaurant "No17 Fleur de Sel" with elegant furniture and its large window front we indulge you with exquisite cuisine and noble wines. Make your after work drink a special one at our stylish bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing