We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a basic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed in February for a business trip, its a nice and basic hotel. My personal experience was a little spoilt by conflicting information by two different staff members at reception in the morning, but apart from that staff are helpful and friendly. Please note that if you're taking a taxi, please be sure to stand outside by the main door otherwise you may risk losing your taxi.

The breakfast is good, if you choose american option, you may ask restaurant staff to make you an omelette which is quite good in my experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muhammad_Adeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 380 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Let's acknowledge the good news first: the staff here are friendly and helpful. They are absolutely doing their best and I would like to thank them. Now the bad bits: this place is as ugly as the Russian Ministry of Planning. A concrete slab, tiny windows, horrible eighties interior... It really is in a time warp. Internet access only works for one device. No one could log out my iPad so I could log in my PC. "Call the helpline...." I finally wangled an other access code. But the hotel firewall prevents VPNs from working... Maybe this his not a hotel for business people. But who for then? Dinner in the downstairs restaurant was a drab affair. All alone in a cantine-like decor, the food could be qualified as "institutional international" at best. Breakfast was generous but bad. Check-out was impossible: the computers were "down". This Renaissance unfortunately under-delivers. If someone has a better tip in Karlsruhe, please send it to me.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiSimon2014, Director of Sales at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback on what appears to have been a bad experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the technical failures you experienced while checking out - the computer system shut down for a while and we weren't able to offer a quick and smooth check out as usual.

We will take the chance to thank you as well for your positive feedback for our well trained employees and the quality of service you experienced.

We would be happy to welcome you again to convince you of the Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel with all the advantages that we can offer. If you like to contact us you can reach us at (+49)721 3717-360.

Kind regards,
Simon Wieck

Director of Sales
Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After a long drive we checked into this hotel one Sunday evening just prior to Christmas. We were greeted by Magged on the Front Desk, who could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Our room was good, although a little small, but the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Downtown, near tram station, you have access to all you need. The hotel has large rooms, modern and well equipped bathroom. All is very clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet is generous, you can have what you want.

Room Tip: Ask a room "inside" side to avoid street noise which is anyway low during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkippyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lots of pluses and minuses leads to an average rating. The hotel is comfortable, but the room ran warm. Even with the air conditioning on full, I still had to leave my window opened overnight to keep the room reasonably comfortable (since the hotel is in a busy area, this makes for a noisy room). The internet connection is very disappointing, you have to reconnect throughout the night and it is very slow. While the breakfast is very good, the turnover of tables is very slow as well as the replenishment of food. The hotel is in a convenient location, with a Tram stop right outside the room and walking distance to Karlsruhe's main shopping area.

Room Tip: Haven't found a great room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMyers4371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Spent a night in Karlsruhe before returning to the states via Stuttgart. This was a convenient location less than an hour's drive (depending on traffic conditions) from the Stuttgart airport. The location is in the city center, and there is a major tram stop right outside the front door. Parking is also available, though a bit pricey at 17 euros per day. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, and provided us with information for an afternoon visit to a location just 15 minutes away via tram that we would not have been aware of otherwise. They also offered us to go breakfast bags as we needed to leave early for the airport. We had a very good meal in the restaurant, which was appreciated as the weather outside had turned bad. Room was comfortable, but not remarkable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTJayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As Renaissance properties go this one was not as up to snuff as others. I might have been a little more complimentary but of the 16 nights on the trip, this hotel was the most expensive by far. The food at dinner and at breakfast in the morning were superb. But I was hot and this made it difficult to sleep. I would say the front desk while professional was not overly friendly. Although I expected a complimentary breakfast because of my Marriott status, this was not expressed during checkin ( when I checked out I said I had eaten breakfast and they said then - it was free for me). I paid 60% more than Renaissance in Dusseldorf.

Maybe next time to this area - I will try local hotel

Room Tip: Since there is construction out front, pick a room off the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,050 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
267 reviews
Schlosshotel Karlsruhe
#11 of 61 in Karlsruhe
42 reviews
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe

Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#7 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your new and exclusive meeting and event hotel is located in the heart of Karlsruhe, the second largest city in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 215 modern and fully air-conditioned rooms and suites pamper you with comfortable interior and technical equipment of highest quality. We offer you seven meeting and banquet rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art technique. We make your events at our meeting area (460 sqm in total) up to 250 people unforgettable. Our competent staff is supporting you with the planning of your individual corporate or private events. Be sure, you are in the right hands at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe. At the hotel's own, bright restaurant "No17 Fleur de Sel" with elegant furniture and its large window front we indulge you with exquisite cuisine and noble wines. Make your after work drink a special one at our stylish bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing