We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from a "Marriott light"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip with a colleague. Rooms are nice, stylish and conservatice modern.
Nice lobby bar.
Walking distance to city center.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

STRENGHTS: Good convenient location in city however easy to locate for transit guests also, very nice and helpful staff (Reception and Restaurant), typilccally good Renaissance Hotels Standard, excellent breakfast
WEAKNESSES: Noisy location close to main streets
OVERALL: Very good choice. Definitely recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collector582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is really nice. In walkable distance to the city center. However, we have not seen a lot in Karlsruhe, we went ones to France and the other day to Baden Baden. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice room facing the back (quiet side) of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent. We would go back any time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resorttrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great reception. speaks english. Arrived early, went shopping, our luggage transfered into room before we came back. Hotel accessible to transport. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnfieldGusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on points so we didn't compare many of the hotels in this area. Without comparing, this hotel was fine. Once inside, we could have been in any city in the US but that's what you get at an American Chain no matter where you are in the world. The lobby was new and somewhat modern and that was it. They offered coffee in the lobby every morning. If anything else was served, I did not see it. The staff was efficient. Some gave a smile while validating my parking ticket each morning, some did not. The room was clean and in good shape but very very small. Maybe we got the worst they had since we used points. This is usually not the case in the states but I would be surprised if all deluxe rooms were so small. The location was a little bit away from the centre but across the street was a great shopping center which was great. We never ate at the hotel so I can't comment on the breakfast. Nothing great, nothing bad. If you get a great rate, I would recommend it. I would also recommend it if you want a/c. Hard to find those.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flight001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

super surprise great quality hotel for second night of tour to Italy..slap-bang in middle of town, opposite a big mall with eating/shopping/sport/spa things...town is really easy to get round. My room - so nice I took photos of it, and later looked to see what the pillows are made of/are for sale. Check out marriott shop for answers to both those queries.
Staff really helpful except when it came to breakfast, and some of our party were shunted into a lower-floor area. Staff seemed unprepared as to who should eat where as some of us made it undetected (and, I must say, unsuspecting) into the main restaurant and started eating; those who were there already could stay, the rest went into the bowels of the hotel. Not a great idea, Marriot! A lot of the party loved the pillows, and said they had had a good night's sleep, despite the city centre location, but it is well soundproofed.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkingmanNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The location of this hotel is very good if you travel for business (because you can reach it in few minutes from the highway), not so good if you are a tourist (because you have to walk for about 20 minutes to get to the city centre).
The rooms are comfortable, but if you are allergic to pollen and dust you could have some problems due to the wall-to-wall carpet. The bathroom was ok.
The hotel restaurant is very good, with delicious German typical dishes in a romance atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didi483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Novotel Karlsruhe
#1 of 61 in Karlsruhe
1,032 reviews
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
170 reviews
Hotel Rio
#3 of 61 in Karlsruhe
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe

Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#7 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range: $106 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your new and exclusive meeting and event hotel is located in the heart of Karlsruhe, the second largest city in Baden-Wuerttemberg. 215 modern and fully air-conditioned rooms and suites pamper you with comfortable interior and technical equipment of highest quality. We offer you seven meeting and banquet rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art technique. We make your events at our meeting area (460 sqm in total) up to 250 people unforgettable. Our competent staff is supporting you with the planning of your individual corporate or private events. Be sure, you are in the right hands at ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe. At the hotel's own, bright restaurant "No17 Fleur de Sel" with elegant furniture and its large window front we indulge you with exquisite cuisine and noble wines. Make your after work drink a special one at our stylish bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Karlsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing