We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Theatre and central city”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arthotelroyal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthotelroyal
Ranked #52 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location for Theatre and central city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Arthotel Royal in Karlsruhe for 4 nights during April to visit family. The hotel is great value as its location is central to the city and across the road from the State Theatre. It is a short tram from the train station. Breakfast was included for the price and was fine but not outstanding. There is a restaurant and bar downstairs which we did not go to. The bar was a little noisy on one night when the football was televised. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Staff were helpful and friendly. No safe or mini bar in the room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnyanny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
3
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Decent value for money. Ideally located for the theatre in Karlsruhe - right across the street from the Baadische Staatstheater. The "art" in the hotel is hiding pretty basic ugly facilities (room, bathroom, restaurant). Breakfast was rather good and is included in the price for room. We decided to have dinner in the hotel too, but would not recommend the restaurant. You can get better Italian food almost anywhere else. Service was friendly, free parking available. On the whole pretty much what I expected at this price level - I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was recommened by german colleagues of mine who live in Karlsrhue. The hotel is well situated within 10-15 minutes walking distance of main city centre, etc. It's clean and has lots of modern art pieces hanging from all the wall. The rooms are adequate for the location - not small but not huge either. You won't feel claustraphobic. They also include the usual amenities(TV, desk, wardrobe, fridge etc). Rooms facing the street are not overly noisy - unless there are roadworks happening - but request a room at the back if you're a light sleeper. Wifi is free. Breakfast is included in the price. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The only real negative point is parking. They have a small parking garage near the back of the hotel but it's only really for 5-6 cars. If this is full you're left with street parking but I've never had a problem finding space in front or in a side-street close by. After 7pm parking is free until 8am if I remember the hours correctly.

Overall. This is a good hotel for a short stay in Karlsruhe.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are not overly noisy but ask for a room near the back if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 485WilliamB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

I will never recommend to stay in this hotel.
1. It should have been renovated 20 years ago - dirty walls, old and smoke-smelling carpets, very dark. Cigarette smell everywhere.
2. Bathroom is in really bad condition and incredibly small - 2m*0,7m. There were 2 SPIDERS (!!!) in our bathroom as well as a lot of net in room. Room #106.
3. Carpet in room is very old and bad smelling.
4. Breakfast room is dark and not clean.Breakfast is poor and ....also not "clean" (i have seen cherry-tomatoes on the plate, which were even not washed, there've been pieces of soil on them). Not properly cleaned forks and spoons. Bad food.
5. Unfortunately from my table i have seen a kitchen - it's very old and dirty. And i have seen a lady, putting slices of ham on a plate and cleaning the plate afterwards with the wet,dirty looking rag.

It was the worst hotel experience in my life!Believe me, even hostels are looking better, that this hotel.Definately not worth 80 eur/night.
There can be no stars at all and cheap furniture, but cleaniness is something that shows your real attitide to your guests, as well as to the business you're doing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaniYani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karlsruhe hotels

London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

I stayed here with friends for three nights during the World Cup. We had a memorable trip, made even better by our experience at this hotel.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable.

The bathroom also clean and the shower was hot and powerful.

There is a fantastic cocktail bar at the hotel, run by Carlos the Spanish barman. This guy knows how to run a bar! Very relaxed atmosphere and seemed popular with the locals and stayed open as late as you need.

Breakfast is continental but more than enough to choose from. The staff kept it open an hour after it should have closed due to my friends sleeping in.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but the little outside courtyard was packed with locals each evening.

It's a short walk to the centre of town and numerous bars and restaurants but bear in mind Karlsruhe is not the most exciting city in Germany!

Only problem we had was finding our room in 3 inches of water after a massive thunderstorm. We moved to another room without any fuss.

If you want a place to stay in Karlsruhe I can recommend this one. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Innenstadt-Ost
Hotel Blankenburg
Hotel Blankenburg
#12 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Innenstadt-Ost
No photo provided
Pension Stadtmitte
#32 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
Alfa Hotel Karlsruhe
#37 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Barbarossa Hotel
Barbarossa Hotel
#45 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#14 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Innenstadt-West
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
Hotel Am Markt Karlsruhe
#23 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthotelroyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthotelroyal

Property: Arthotelroyal
Address: Kriegsstrasse 94, 76133, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Innenstadt-Ost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthotelroyal 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Arthotelroyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing