We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Indian restaurants in Germany!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punjab

Punjab
Ranked #316 of 666 Restaurants in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Innenstadt-West
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in Germany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is one of two restaurants which I always go to, when I am in the Karlsruhe area. The centrally located restaurant (only three blocks from Ludwigsplatz and the town's pedestrian area), feels like a piece of India in Germany, with its authentic decoration and very enjoyable atmosphere. The service is very good (we are normally served by the nice lady who owns the restaurant with her husband) and above all, the food is amazing!

I normally order one of the set menus that they offer, which are a very fair value-for-money, or I ask them to put me something nice together, so that I can try different variations of Indian food.

The food is very original Indian (something which is unfortunately rare to find in Germany) and the 'Nan'-bread (a must) is always freshly prepared. In the evenings I normally have a good wine to accompany the meals, while in business hours I normally stick with the mango lassi or one of the other typical Indian, non-alcoholic drinks which they serve.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RafaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful tandoori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The lamb tandoori is quite possibly the best I have ever tasted, the daal is amazing. It's not the cheapest around, but believe me it's the best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, service, and ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had dinner here the other night and ordered Naan bread, Alu Gobhi Masala (cauliflower and potatoes, cooked in Indian spices), and a vegetable Korma (vegetables cooked in coconut/cream sauce). The food tasted quite good-- the Masala was spicy, and the Korma was sweet. The Naan bread was typical, not extraordinary. But we were very happy with our meals. The ambiance was nice. We went for an early dinner on a Thursday night, and it was not busy, with only one other group there. We brought our baby in his stroller, and the host was friendly about seating us. We plan to return again in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceEarth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent indian food in a very pleasant environment.

The lamb tikka curry was really nice. Recommended!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eballes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wanting a break from the otherwise fairly poor other restaurants in the area, I was pleased to find this gem - staff are helpful, speak English and provide great Indian food. So good I went there twice during my trip

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab also viewed

Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing