We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value...”
Review of Novum Hotel Greif

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novum Hotel Greif
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value...”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is fantastic value. We got one of the balcony rooms... only thing to watch out for is the noise from the road (especially the trams). Might be worth asking for a room that does not face the road (and therefore no balcony). Was very clean and there are internet facilities for 2euro/hour, which is damn handy to print out those last minute boarding cards ;)
Its a bit of a walk up Karlstrasse to the centre, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ours had a balcony and faced the road and was noisy when a tram passed through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MungBeanSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
6
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a spacious room on the fifth floor with a balcony. The room was very clean and tastefully and refreshingly colour-coordinated. We had a slight problem with the hot water running but the receptionist explained that we needed to keep the tap running for at least 4-5minutes. Then it was fine. It is only about 6minutes from the main train station. Reasonably priced (about 75 Euro for two adults).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

One of the best family run hotels in Karlsruhe, Greif has nothing to grieve about. The quality of room, demeanor of the staff and class of service would easily put premium properties to shame.

I stayed at the Greif to attend a 2 day convention at the Europehalle in Karlsruhe & cherished the moments spent at the hotel. The breakfast was delighful & was something to look forward to. Stayed in a double room which are reasonably spacious & the bed was comfortable.

The staff was friendly & helpful. It is one of those few good hotels which run with quiet efficiency & carry in the air the familiar warmth of a home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ARajMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We picked this hotel since it is on the way between Baden-Baden and Heidelberg. There is staff 24 hours. Also there is private parking garage with gate but it cost 4 euro. We have a suite which has two rooms/1 bathroom. It is small but we have spent only one night there. It is sufficient. The room is average. The breakfast is included and standard. The internet is not free. Overall, it is good for its value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaskoSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlsruhe hotels
Hotel Maurer
#26 of 61 in Karlsruhe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Durlach
Ibis Budget Karlsruhe
Ibis Budget Karlsruhe
#17 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Hotel Eden
#52 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Newton
#40 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Südweststadt
Hotel Astoria Garni
Hotel Astoria Garni
#41 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Weststadt
Acora Hotel Karlsruhe
Acora Hotel Karlsruhe
#21 of 61 in Karlsruhe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Greif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Greif

Property: Novum Hotel Greif
Address: Ebertstr. 17, 76135, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Greif 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Greif Karlsruhe is located in the center of the city, close to the Karlsruhe railway station. All our rooms are functional, but stylishly furnished and mostly have a bathroom with shower and WC, cable TV and hairdryer. A rich buffet breakfast is served at an additional cost in our breakfast restaurant. During your leisure time, you should take a walk through the pretty streets of the city to Karlsruhe Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Greif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing