We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff make this hotel great.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insel-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Insel-Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Heilbronn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The staff make this hotel great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I spent two nights here on a visit to Unilever's Knorr team for business. Check in was very friendly and overall initial atmosphere was rustic, warm and welcoming. My room was comfortable, however a little basic... No mini bar and I was gasping for a beer having arrived late and thirsty. No complimentary water, you had to pay for it. I was given impression wifi was free and basic wifi interface did nothing to dispel this impression. Got stung for quite a bit. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was of a standard in keeping with the hotel and I was able to enjoy it out I the glorious sunshine. Checking out was slow. I was an idiot and left my passport in the room safe. The staff were superb and secured it for me so that I was able to pick it up after my meeting and travel directly onto the airport. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS.

Room Tip: Spend an extra few Euro to get a bigger room. The small ones are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistairio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
14
10
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
249 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

One of the positive surprises while staying in Germany. Older hotel but well kept which offers all in all nice ambiance. Quality of food was good both in room service and breakfast. Only point of criticism were the fully booked parking spaces (and the limited help) and that staff could not provide some forgotten basic toiletries. Luckily the location is conveniently near to high street shopping. This hotel comes with my strong recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alotofdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

One of the nicer hotels in Heilbronn, the Insel is located on an island in the river and is centrally located for access to town centre facilities. Rooms are comfortable and well-equipped and the restaurant offers a selection of seasonal, local specialities, although it is more expensive than other restaurants nearby. If you visit in Winter, beware that the marble patio around the main entrance can be very slippery.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side look across the river, although the view is only average because the adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Insel is an old property (just like everything else in Heilbronn) but has been updated nicely in recent years. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The beds are a bit shorter than I am used to, but are manageable. The breakfast is good, and waitstaff friendly. In a great location for walking along the river, shopping and visiting the winter market in December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITRVL4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We found this hotel when visiting our son staying in Heilbronn for his university studies. We have now stayed many times and have found the rooms to be of excellent quality with exceptionally comfortable beds. It also has secure on site parking, and an excellent restaurant. It is in the centre of town so is very convenient, with many restaurants close by, but we always choose to eat in the hotel restaurant, on the terrace if the weather is good. We do not speak German, but there is always someone in the restaurant who speaks English, as do most of the staff. On our last visit there was a Jazz band in the restaurant, giving us an excellent evening.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but a Comfort room is slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

It's a beautiful hotel, probably the best one in Heilbronn. I was there on a business trip. The staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate most requests. I asked for a Iron / Ironing board but they did not provide. Instead they said ironing services are offered for €4/pc. I required ironing late evening and the front office lady volunteered to iron my jacket herself and she didn't even charge me for it. The restaurant is impressive though with limited vegetarian choices. Parking can get very crowded. Rooms where very clean n modern though the bathroom could've been soacious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samitnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Finding the hotel without a GPS could be a challenge, but we had one on the car. I think it is quite close to the train station, and it is also in the heart of the town.
Reception staff - very helpful and nice.
Room - clean, yet very small (I had a single room with a 1 person bed). However, no nice details such as toilette products in the bathroom - bring your own!
Breakfast and lunch - nice, respectable, vegetarian choice quite limited.

Room Tip: Take care - the stairs can be slippery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miruna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heilbronn hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Heilbronn
Mercure Hotel Heilbronn
#1 of 22 in Heilbronn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Heilbronn City
Ibis Heilbronn City
#2 of 22 in Heilbronn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Am Kastell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel TraumRaum
Hotel TraumRaum
#4 of 22 in Heilbronn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
26.7 mi away
Hotel Prinz Carl
Hotel Prinz Carl
#11 of 22 in Heilbronn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#6 of 22 in Heilbronn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel-Hotel

Property: Insel-Hotel
Address: Willy-Mayer-Bruecke 1, 74072 Heilbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heilbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Heilbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Insel-Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Insel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insel Hotel Heilbronn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing