We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful evening”

Le Gourmet im Hotel Die Hirschgasse
Ranked #37 of 482 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Price range: $51 - $146
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Expect to find in the Heidelberg gourmet restaurant Le Gourmet a beautiful discovery - awarde with on Micheln star and 17 points in Gault Millau. Ambience with modern interpreted gourmet food served from a dedicated cuisine and delightful service. A loveley rose terrace awaits you.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A delightful evening”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a very serious restaurant that has fun with the food and their hospitality. She had three courses, I had four, but between the appetizers served gratis with the aperitif, the ten variations of root vegetables and oysters in the innovative salad, the many tastes in the main plates, and the desserts upon desserts, I imagine we had 25 distinct "dishes" each. Service was flawless as well as discerning and humorous (the description of the blood pigeon still makes me smile). The recommended wine was sensational. All in a room that is a kind of medieval jewel, cozy and tasteful itself. We were told by our hotel that this restaurant has been consistently excellent for many years and has now earned a Michelin star. Seems well-deserved to us. Highest recommendation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lyricskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Le Gourmet im Hotel Die Hirschgasse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear lyricskipper

You detected well our culinary "weak spots", which we have been following for so many years with a great passion and devotion.

Thank you for your excellent rating, which touches our very long way to a Michelin star. But after all, it still has to be fun to the guest. We are glad, that we could make you smile with a fitting or unusual translation of the blood pigeon. Our quest is not only for great food and wine but also for a delightful evening to our guests.

We hope to see you soon in the Le Gourmet .

I remain with very best wishes
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely. Amazing.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I meant to write this quite some time ago! We were in Heidelberg in July of 2013. It was a wonderful town, and everything about it was delightful. This meal, though, was the most amazing thing I've ever enjoyed. From start to finish it was delightful. The flavors were fantastic, and the presentation lovely. The servers were gracious, witty, and tremendously entertaining. The food? Out of this world! Each plate that came was unbelievably good. The wines that accompanied them were just perfect. We closed the place down and heard not one word about the lengthy stay. I want to get back as soon as possible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A well-deserved Michelin star”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Superb service, ambience and food were what one expects at a Michelin-starred restaurant. Everything was choreographed by a wonderful French Maitre d' who was able to give each table his full attention. The food was innovative, tasty, well-presented and made full use of local produce. Le Gourmet did not disappoint.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Loved the maître who was knowledgeable and friendly too, a perfect complement to the fine food with obvious respect for seasons and terroir, well worth the recently awarded Michelin star. Would return again if in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
496 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Probably the finest dining option in Heidelberg”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

They earned their first Michelin star just recently, and still show the engagement and motivation they needed to get it. The food is very refined, showing lots of small details on each plate (example: as amouse bouche, they served a miniature club sandwich, as one mouthful, and besides the same, disassembled into the single ingredients).

The atmosphere was remarkable, one room in a historic building with an interesting mix between modern and antique.

Service was also immaculate as expected, the only thing on the downside happened when I called ahead to do the reservation. Staff was not satisfied with my ETA "between 19:30 and 20:00", which I think should not pose any problem. She wanted to know exactly when we will arrive for some managment reason.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Le Gourmet im Hotel Die Hirschgasse, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear dkbe,

Thank you very much for the granted positive accolade, which speaks for itself.

Regarding the ETA.
Yes, you are right, at a first glance it might perhaps appear somehow petty. But half an hour of production time on a stove with limited space can influence the service timing of a whole evening - also for other tables - and guests. We also want to focus on a good timing serving the individual dishes of a menu without unnecessary long pauses in between. Have you ever felt the comfort, which you had with half an hour time extra on your hands? Asked the other way round, do you remember the feeling to catch up half an hour?

If you are the only table in the restaurant then of course this is totally irrelevant, but if more and more tables are taken - then time is of the essence. It is wonderful, if no restaurant guests feel that another guest is being somehow served quicker. That is also our aim - besides cooking as engaged like on "starless" nights.

Hoping that I could unfold a little bit of the management reasons to you I look very much forward to welcome you again in the Le Gourmet.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gourmet im Hotel Die Hirschgasse also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Le Gourmet im Hotel Die Hirschgasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing