We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid Tasty Awesomeness”

Vetter's Alt Heidelberger Brauhaus
Ranked #8 of 497 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stupid Tasty Awesomeness”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

As I am writing this, I have lived in Heidelberg for almost three years. I have religiously eaten at Vetter's at /least/ once a month, every month of those three years. I have never had a meal I didn't like or a beer that was stupid tasty. My personal favorite dishes are the goulash and mixed meat plate.

No matter the time of year, you're going to have trouble getting a table in the evening. Coming for lunch has never been a problem.

I /highly/ recommend this place for anyone and everyone that visits Heidelberg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JAGalvan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    401
    120
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem !!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Honestly, I have never seen this restaurant empty, even on a weekday. The food is excellent. Beer is one of the best in town. Great place for a get together with friends and family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orangepajamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dunkel Weissen Bitte”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Love the dark beer here. Its got great flavor to it and 1 LTR does me just right. hard to finish the food and the beer butstill great. I have to get together with a few friends so we can order the 5 LTR barrel. Food is pretty good also. Like a few people have said already, service can be a little slow at times

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaperClip619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Beir!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in Vetter's for a beer after a full evening exploring the Christmas markets.

This was our first experience in Heidleburg at a beer hall and did not understand the sizes of beer so I ended up with a full liter of the house pilsner, which was great but I was surprised as I expected a pint.

We also enjoyed a portion of cheese, which hit the spot.

I fun crowd and once we understood the size of the beers a good value.

The service was good if you just wanted to hang out with friends and a beer.

Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakeanahuac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special experience - tasty and fun”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was there very early on a Friday evening (3 pm) and it was nearly empty, though you could see they were prepping for a big night, with big tables under reservation. I tried all the beers (except for the strong gimmicky beer) and preferred the standard helles. The schweinbrat was very very very good with a dumpling. The duck was dry, but maybe that's just next to the goose. Stick with pork here, drink a bunch of beer and you will be happy. I give it 5 stars because of the chance that we had to sit next to a large table as the audience of an extensive beer lecture and tasting. I could tell the brewmaster (or assistant) was extremely committed to his work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vetter's Alt Heidelberger Brauhaus also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Vetter's Alt Heidelberger Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing