We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Deutscher Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser
Ranked #59 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Was making a long car journey through Germany and stopped off in Heidelberg for a night. This hotel is 15 mins walk from the main town centre.

I was given a pleasant welcome by the staff and room size was good. Very clean and has all the service expected of this type of hotel (incl free wifi and parking). It's very close to the historic Tiefberg building.

Next morning, the continental breakfast was tasty. I cannot find any fault with the food, staff or hotel and therefore can recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked the hotel based on the previous reviews which were mainly positive. However as it turns out the few negative ones really were accurate. Though we were aware that there was no A/C, the top-floor studio room(for family of 3) was incredibly hot as it was right under the roof (ok, that's really the weather's fault...). Though the room itself was reasonable, the bathroom shower had a broken fixture so you had to hold the shower head when using. The interior of the hotel made a very rundown impression (worn out carpets, missing tiles in back entrance). Staff though helpful with luggage was quite grumpy. The location was even more remote than indicated in previous reviews. This would all be ok for a price of maybe EUR 60-80, but definitely not for EUR 150! We decided not to stay and had to negotiate with the manager to pay EUR 50 as we used the shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A small hotel but very helpful staff. It was very clean and the location wasn't too far from the tram station, which the children loved using. The street is a bit noisy at night as the noises rebound off the buildings in the street so we had to keep our windows closed at night.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel. The family rooms are two rooms and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aft100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was just what we hoped to find. Clean, quiet, great breakfast, good shower at a very reasonable rate! It was a little hard to find but not if you know it is by the big church. It is not close to downtown Heidelberg, but easy enough to get to all tourist attractions using the train system. There are excellent restaurants on the same street. All other services and shopping are close to the hotel. There is no elevator but was a short flight of stairs to our room. We really enjoyed meeting the people whoop lived in the area. Everyone was very helpful and friendly! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeJay180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very clean, well organized hotel with a friendly staff. Huge room which worked well for me, my wife and two teenage daughters. There was a mix up on our reservation and after a little discussion the hotel manager fixed the problem, which is all one can ask. A bit far from old city and no air conditioning, which is why I did note rate it a 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1955_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was ok, but be aware that the front desk is only stated to be open until 10pm and they will close early if they feel like it. They do not tell you at check in that you need to sign a form to get a code from the front desk in order to use the complimentary internet. We didn't know this and checked then went for dinner. By the time we got back we went to use our laptop to find out we had no access and the desk was closed until morning. They also only intermittantly serve food from their restaurant at their discretion apparently. We went down to try the food within their stated hours a few times and they were not serving at that time. Breakfast is good, but not a huge selection. The hotel is also out of the way and most cab drivers don't recognize it so be sure you have the exact address for them. You can use the bus/tram system but will still have to walk almost a half mile from the nearest stop. It was an ok stay, but if we go back to Heidelberg we will stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbreinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We pulled into the courtyard and found a very neat tidy older hotel. We were set up in the newer part so cannot speak for the old building,the newer part was starkly decorated but was very clean and comfortable. The room had two sets of twin beds put together to make King beds (very common in Europe) we slept very well as the bed was great! Breakfast was included and was an awesome German style with many breads, cheeses and cold cuts that are hard to find in Canada! It was not close to the downtown walking area but was in a nice part of town, apparently if the courtyard is full you can park on the unrestricted streets. Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: Can only speak for the new portion and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottomowbeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
#48 of 76 in Heidelberg
37 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
4.2 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#34 of 76 in Heidelberg
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bayrischer Hof
Bayrischer Hof
#28 of 76 in Heidelberg
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#56 of 76 in Heidelberg
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser

Property: Deutscher Kaiser
Address: Muehltalstr. 41, 69121 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidelberg Hotel “Deutscher Kaiser” is located in the heart of “Handschuhsheim”, a northern part of Heidelberg. The center of Heidelberg can be reached within 7 minutes by tramp, which can be accessed 3 minutes far from the hotel. Handschuhsheim itsself houses some shops and restaurants. The hotel is located in a quiet area.The whole hotel was redeveloped from the ground up in 2006 now blends classic buildings with contemporary comfort and modern technology and houses in addition to 17 hotel rooms and studios, a classic sports bar. We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel Heidelberg in Handschuhsheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing