We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, reasonably priced hotel”
Review of Deutscher Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed in the 4-person room, which was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The windows/skylights opened up and provided a wonderful view of the surrounding area, as well as a nice breeze. The staff was very friendly. There is very limited parking for guests, but it appeared that parking on the street would not be an issue. The neighborhood is very quaint and there are several nice restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphins23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Deutscher Kaiser
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great find a few mins from downtown. Stayed in an atelier family room. Was clean and spacious. The breakfast was ample and good...if you're expecting the full English or American, then you won't enjoy it, but fresh breads, cheese, cold cut, yogurt and cereal are available. The tram is only a 10 min walk away and the 5 or 23 take you in centrum. The reception will give you a map-it's easy to figure out. You won't have the pain of trying to find parking in a very busy centrum. Ifyou wish to eat close to the hotel, the are a few bakeries and quaint gasthaus restaurants along the walk to the tram. Much more affordable than downtown, though we couldn't comment on them as we ate in centrum. The local bakery was good as we bought toddies for our journey to Ottobeuren. Our young daughter enjoyed the stay as well, and will thus say that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Admittedly, I didn't realise that this was 2km out town when I booked it - which was a bit silly in the middle of winter, but with a tram available from the end of the street, I needn't worry.

This was a great little find, with a good (relatively quiet) bar to watch some football (but don't think this is a rowdy sports bar!), and even better - free wireless internet.

Rooms were spacious and whilst not plush, this isn't a five star hotel, they were more than comfortable and reasonably priced. The breakfast was solid and the hotel hosts and staff were super friendly. All up, no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is 1 mile north of the city but easily accessible by tram. It's a small, family run establishment and the staff were polite and courteous at all times. We did not travel by car but could see there were parking problems in the small courtyard. Our rooms were at the back and up some stairs (no lift) and they were clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. Word of warning though: noise from the courtyard is amplified and funnels up to the rooms very easily. Be prepared for a potential early wake up call from delivery men and/or staff chatting. We also suffered from a late night event that saw smokers spill out onto the court yard to puff away and natter until the early hours.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and chose this hotel because it was a lot cheaper than staying the heart of the old-town. I was a bit worried about its location and what it would be like. I needn’t have worried – this place was a good find and we were very happy that we stayed here.
The Deutscher Kaiser isn’t in the heart of Heidelberg, but it is well connected by public transport – it is 10 minutes on a tram to the main tourist strip and 10 to 15 mins tram to the train station. When we arrived it was late at night and the taxi to the hotel was approx 10euro.
Our room was well sized, light, airy and clean. The bed was comfortable. There is free internet (a really good connection) and a good breakfast. The local area has a number of restaurants and bars, as well as ‘normal’ shops, post and bank so you stock up the bits and pieces you need on holiday.
The staff at this hotel were very nice and helpful.
Other reviewers have commented on the noise from the courtyard/carpark: we didn’t notice any noise.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Ponder this: there are people who complain for the sake of complaining and there are people who are impressed enough to take the time gush about this place. I'm a 'gusher'. The staff was great, plain and simple. When I asked...they answered. The breakfast was on par. Nothing over the top, but it was free, tasty, and there. FREE INTERNET!!! The room was very clean. We stayed on the top floor and there were 5 roof top windows that you had a good view of the town from. You could just open the window and stand comfortably, taking it in! We got a room that had way more room than we needed/expected. We were traveling with a 7 month old, and to my surprise, they already had a crib set up for us without any prompting. The location is a bit of a distance (maybe 2 or 3 km) from the castle and shopping, but without even knowing where we were going (headed toward the river) we found everything by walking. The location around the hotel is like a little quaint German town, and people would stop and greet us in German. Bottom line, there is no reason to NOT consider this place. We are a family that doesn't require swanky accomodations, but it was nice to feel like we had them here.

Room Tip: Try expedia or bookings.com
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qumungis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Nice hotel, friendly staff (husband & wife), close to Altstadt (healthy one-hour walk or 10 minute strassebahn ride). New, clean, big rooms at a great price for Heidelberg. Sports bar on premise is nice experience to rub elbows with locals and the included breakfast wasexcellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vazmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
#52 of 76 in Heidelberg
40 reviews
4.2 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#32 of 76 in Heidelberg
66 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkhotel Atlantic
Parkhotel Atlantic
#38 of 76 in Heidelberg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser

Address: Muehltalstr. 41, 69121 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $123 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidelberg Hotel “Deutscher Kaiser” is located in the heart of “Handschuhsheim”, a northern part of Heidelberg. The center of Heidelberg can be reached within 7 minutes by tramp, which can be accessed 3 minutes far from the hotel. Handschuhsheim itsself houses some shops and restaurants. The hotel is located in a quiet area.The whole hotel was redeveloped from the ground up in 2006 now blends classic buildings with contemporary comfort and modern technology and houses in addition to 17 hotel rooms and studios, a classic sports bar. We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel Heidelberg in Handschuhsheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing