We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BoardingHouse Heidelberg
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Drove from Belgium to Heidelberg arriving early evening. Very easy place to find on Rohrbacher Strabe and plenty of parking. The Studio Rooms were modern, spacious, clean and quiet. Queen sized bed with great mattress. Plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe and very handy kitchenette. The bathroom was small but cleverly designed and towels, hair dryer and soap, shampoo etc were complimentary. Breakfast was included at Juices across the road and it was fantastic. A short stroll down the road took us to the Market Square where we indulged in Bratwurst and Gluwein and lovely Christmas Markets. There was even an ice skating ring. Terrific shopping with H&M, Kathe Wohlfahrt and shoe/boot shops everywhere. Lots of choice for eating out or buying meals from Marks & Spencer. Our stay was so comfortable we could have stayed for a month! Would highly recommend BoardingHouse Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for BoardingHouse Heidelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Went to Heidelberg on business and found the hotel very cosy. The studio was decorated balinese style which was unique. Located near the city centre with nearby restaurants, mall amd high street.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhairul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a "Business Class" suite in June 2011 and for €108 a night enjoyed a clean, well furnished, airy room at the back of the building with pleasant views over the adjacent leafy, backyards of adjoining houses. Located about half a kilometer from the business centre of Heidelberg and reasonably handy to the train station it is about a half hour walk into the historic centre. The area is quiet but there are several, very good, restaurants nearby. I would recommend it for those who don't mind a bit of a walk and like being away from the tourist centre.
The staff were pleasant and professional and the included breakfast also good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

It's a good furnished apartment with free wi-fi. I couldn't get the breakfast deal but the kitchenette was good so I could prepare my own breakfast. It's close to nice restaurants too (Thai, Italian, Chinese, Indian). A common self-washing facility (washer and dryer) would be helpful for people staying for long terms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalCitizen_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

First the good points - Spacious & clean, Very close to the Bismarckplatz (city center), Free high speed internet, polite staff, well-equipped kitchenette.
Could be better - The rooms are supposed to be cleaned twice a week. If you are a staying for a long duration, they could forget to clean the room if you don't put out the "clean my room" sign on the door. Their laundry services are really expensive (Euro 7.5 for a single shirt)! There is no common washing machine available within the building which can be used. There is one laundromat near the hotel but if you have a busy schedule, you won't find it open.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with windows opening onto the main street, if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Boarding House is around a 20 minute walk to the old town and is close to other parts of the city that tourists don't usually explore. There is a small kitchenette - although a deal with breakfast means you eat it in the Juice bar across the road (a very good place, with a variety of cooked and cold food). The room was very hot and there's no air conditioning. We were at the back so not too noisey and with the window grills down you can open the windows at night.
Not sure if I'd stay here again - it's not cheap and if you were intent on touristy things then it's not as convenient as some other places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Trushte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the hotel was booked on internet. The communication was not good and satisfactory answers about the hotel were not provided. Even the booking invoice was controversial and we were charged more than our understanding from the invoice. The total charges for 4 person (2 adults and 2 children) were not given but there were breakups. In the end we payed 150/ night for the small cramped business studio for 4 person with 25 Euro extra asked for cleaning. We borrowed a DVD player which was without remote and charges were not told but came to know only at the time of check out. Breakfast charges were also extra. We felt paying more than it worth.
There are 3 buildings of the hotel but we were not not told which one to go and we disembark at the wrong one and then dragged the luggage to the other one. The reception was closed and then to go to other hotel to pick up the keys. The location was quite but 10 minutes walk to enter into the city center.
However, the good things were, cleanliness, fully equipped kitchenette, room cleaning on weekdays, security, fast elevator and free tea coffee at the reception.

I would prefer to stay within the city center next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanveerul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
0.0 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#18 of 76 in Heidelberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BoardingHouse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BoardingHouse Heidelberg

Address: Rohrbacher Str. 32, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Heidelberg
Price Range: $105 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BoardingHouse Heidelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BoardingHouse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing