We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BoardingHouse Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BoardingHouse Heidelberg
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

It's a good furnished apartment with free wi-fi. I couldn't get the breakfast deal but the kitchenette was good so I could prepare my own breakfast. It's close to nice restaurants too (Thai, Italian, Chinese, Indian). A common self-washing facility (washer and dryer) would be helpful for people staying for long terms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizen_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
11
16
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

First the good points - Spacious & clean, Very close to the Bismarckplatz (city center), Free high speed internet, polite staff, well-equipped kitchenette.
Could be better - The rooms are supposed to be cleaned twice a week. If you are a staying for a long duration, they could forget to clean the room if you don't put out the "clean my room" sign on the door. Their laundry services are really expensive (Euro 7.5 for a single shirt)! There is no common washing machine available within the building which can be used. There is one laundromat near the hotel but if you have a busy schedule, you won't find it open.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with windows opening onto the main street, if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Boarding House is around a 20 minute walk to the old town and is close to other parts of the city that tourists don't usually explore. There is a small kitchenette - although a deal with breakfast means you eat it in the Juice bar across the road (a very good place, with a variety of cooked and cold food). The room was very hot and there's no air conditioning. We were at the back so not too noisey and with the window grills down you can open the windows at night.
Not sure if I'd stay here again - it's not cheap and if you were intent on touristy things then it's not as convenient as some other places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Trushte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pakistan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

the hotel was booked on internet. The communication was not good and satisfactory answers about the hotel were not provided. Even the booking invoice was controversial and we were charged more than our understanding from the invoice. The total charges for 4 person (2 adults and 2 children) were not given but there were breakups. In the end we payed 150/ night for the small cramped business studio for 4 person with 25 Euro extra asked for cleaning. We borrowed a DVD player which was without remote and charges were not told but came to know only at the time of check out. Breakfast charges were also extra. We felt paying more than it worth.
There are 3 buildings of the hotel but we were not not told which one to go and we disembark at the wrong one and then dragged the luggage to the other one. The reception was closed and then to go to other hotel to pick up the keys. The location was quite but 10 minutes walk to enter into the city center.
However, the good things were, cleanliness, fully equipped kitchenette, room cleaning on weekdays, security, fast elevator and free tea coffee at the reception.

I would prefer to stay within the city center next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanveerul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here at the suggestion of the distributor I was visiting on business. I didn't do any comparison shopping, but the price/quality ratio seemed very good. You get a very nice small kitchenette and a nice bathroom. Free internet via wi-fi and ethernet. The location is good, and the breakfast place is quite cool. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWbySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

we stayed for three nights and had a great time we found the hotel clean and rooms are spacious, at first we thought there was no curtains but later discovered electric shutter blinds with switch on wall beside window.the hotel is well situated 2 min walk from marktplatz were you can get most buses or trams. Heidelberg a beautiful city and german people very friendly would go back again and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I've stayed in what I thought were noisy places before, but this place sits at the top. My room is on the street (Rohrbacherstrasse), and while comfortable enough is so noisy. At the moment, because its hot, the windows need to be open (no air con), meaning the noise from the busy street invades the room.

In order to sleep at night you must shut the windows and lower the shutters, and then hope the fan in the room blocks out the noise of the front door buzzer, the slamming door, followed by clattering footsteps on the stairs.

That said, the hotel has a number of redeeming features: location, and very pleasant service. Its close the the main tourist/shopping area filled with lots of bars and restaurants, as well as being within an easy walk of the train station. You can take the tram to the station as well as there are two stops within 300 metres of the hotel.

I'd stay here again in cooler weather, but not in Summer again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syd2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#7 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
0.0 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BoardingHouse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BoardingHouse Heidelberg

Property: BoardingHouse Heidelberg
Address: Rohrbacher Str. 32, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BoardingHouse Heidelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your BoardingHouse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing