We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stop in Heidelberg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Marstall
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stop in Heidelberg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Was pleasently surprised by the Villa Marstall. Very nice hotel in a great location. Very clean and quiet with a wonderful, friendly staff. Very good value for the $. I will be back again...highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    136
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
318
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed last December and if there is anywhere you want to see in fresh snow, it is the beautiful old town of Heidelberg at Christmas. Top picks for Christmas market towns: Heidelberg, Strasbourg and Colmar, hands down.

This charming hotel lives up to the promise of it's website and then some. There was a sparkling cleanliness to the rooms which was a refreshing cultural difference to the French! The breakfast buffet is good value and generous. Umbrellas were by the door on snowy days. Couldn't fault it, really.

Travel tip#1- Your train into Heidelberg will probably stop at Altstadt, which is only ten minutes walk along the river. Check the swiss rail website sbb for timetables.

Travel tip #2- Unless you are ninety years old, repeat after me, you do not need to take the funicular to Heidelberg castle.

Travel tip 3#- The best castle in the region is a day trip by train to Ludwigsburg- go early, do the English language tour, and rest in the belief that you've seen more of europe than you ever thought you would...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyonHolidays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel Villa Marstall for work. The service was excellent, rooms were adorable - location was perfect. This was my second stay and I'll be back again. Each room has its own touch of elegance - but cozy. The breakfast in the AM is just right for a busy traveler. Highly recommend! (but it really is a best-kept secret in Heidelberg). Great memories!

Room Tip: All rooms offer a great view. Some of the river which is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Visited our daughter who is in college this year in Heidelberg for 3 nights. Very cold in February but the hotel room was excellent - spacious, clean, nice view of the river. Excellent and friendly staff. Close to the old town and good restaurants. Parking is offsite and a walk but it worked fine with the hotel discount at the garage P2. Couldn't recommend it more. Also, very easy to ask questions beforehand by email as the staff is quick to respond, excellent English and very friendly. Thanks Villa Marstall!

Room Tip: The river view was lovely - worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I and 3 colleagues stayed here in October 2011 and 3 of the 4 rooms were as shown on the website. The 3 rooms that were quite good were on the lower or middle floors.
My room was unfortunately on the top floor and was not good at all and certainly not what I expected. It was a tiny loft style room with sloping ceilings that I bumped my head into 3 times on the first night. That was not the worst aspect of this room though.
As soon as I entered the room I was overwhelmed with the uncomfortable hot temperature. To my dismay, I found that there was no individual temperature control.
I returned to reception and asked for assistance only to be told that there was a single point of temperature control for the whole hotel and thSt it could not be turned down as that would make other rooms on lower floors too cold.
I asked if I could be moved to another room and was told there were no other rooms available and that I should simply open the window.
I ended up spending the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel in 20 years of global business travel. Had to sleep on top of bed with no covers, sweating profusely with window wide open. To top things off after finally falling asleep in early hours of morning, awoke an hour or so later only to find numerous insects had entered room through window and were biting away at me.
That was it for me. In the morning I calmly and politely asked receptionist if I could change rooms for next 2 nights. Told it was not possible and that I must respect reservation for next 2 nights in the same room. I could not do that so checked out and found another hotel for remaining 2 nights in Heidelberg.when I checked credit card statement upon return home, found that hotel had billed me for 2 extra nights. I called and spoke to manager and explained situation again and asked to reverse charges as I had done everything in my power to find comfort in this hotel. She refused and said I was typical foreigner trying to abuse system. I have travelled extensively for 20 years and have never once found need to check out of hotel early.
I contested charge with credit card company and after a couple of rounds of detailed written explanations they accepted my story and returned charge to hotel.
Again, my 3 colleagues rooms were fine but top floor lift room was just brutal, as was the customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canaussie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Everything about this hotel is outstanding. The location is perfect, in the old section of the city overlooking the Tauber, yet very quiet since the windows are so well insulated. Rooms are tastefully decorated in soft creams with a blend of traditional and modern that compliments the property perfectly. All the staff, including the owner was incredibly helpful and friendly. I loved the serene setting for the breakfast in the cellar each morning. What a great way to start your day! I

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona,Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

All excellent; reception with a smile and offering perfect service, good breakfast, soundproof rooms with views, very good location, all in all very recommendable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solinvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Marstall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marstall

Property: Hotel Villa Marstall
Address: Lauerstr. 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#2 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marstall 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant hotel is a beautiful 19th-century villa in the heart of Heidelberg, directly overlooking the Neckar River and a short walk from all historic attractions.Opened as a hotel in 2006, the Villa Marstall offers a range of stylish rooms which are classically furnished with solid wooden furniture and cherry-wood floors.All rooms feature all modern amenities, including a small fridge, 40/32-inch LCD TV and free internet access. All rooms are non-smoking with fresh-air AC ventilation to guarantee complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Marstall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marstall Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing