We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visit Australia!”
Review of Hip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hip Hotel
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“visit Australia!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was our first stay at this unique hotel in the heart of old city center in Hidelberg. We lived in room called "down under" - all the furniture was upside down :) bed was comfortable, everything clean and sweet!

hotel has no aircondition - in summer you have to use windows and fan which might be disturbing as kitchen ventilation is right under the room.

you definitely have to try the hotel restaurant "Zum Guldenen Schaf" - the food was really great!

services as well as professional and friendly attitude of the personel made our stay unforgetable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
61
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I would rate this hotel as an upscale 3 stars . The interestingly decorated room had a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom with toiletries. There were also complimentary sleepers.The internet worked with a cable. There was no air conditioning and this may be a problem during the summer months. There was no view but the hotel is located on the main walking promenade of this very old city. It does get noisy if you open the windows.
For breakfast there is a nice buffet and the coffee of your choice is brought to the table.
Do not eat at the Goldene Hecht , restaurant overlooking the river. The service is very poor and we found that the food too.
Heildeberg is not a very exciting town when school is closed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Honnef, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are quite unique and very fun. The decor is so like the city the room is named after. The staff were quite plesant and helpful. My friends and I had three rooms and each room was so very different but comfortable.

Room Tip: Think of your favorite city in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The location was superb. The rooms are unique, spacey and clean. Breakfast was very nice and the service throughout was good.
We stayed in 3 separate rooms and all where great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdhxhcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Level Contributor
264 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed in the London room, it was so authentic it seems to take you there. The front desk clerks are so friendly and helpful. The decor was faboulous. I just had one problem with the entire stay. And that would be the Morrocan restaurant Soltana was empty and it seemed as though they should have waited for tourist season to get full swing before opening. I wanted to try the food but the place was seemingly abandoned. No problem, I will be back and will try it out. I love the room destinations though. Stay, enjoy, live, you are only here once.

Room Tip: The bed is squeaky in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clausrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We made the booking via booking.com, therefore got a nicer rate than the one on their website.....like 45% discount.
We were warmly greeted upon arrival by a charming lady who even offered us a welcome drink in the adjoining restaurant meanwhile she placed our luggage in London Room.
Room was not so spacious but had everything you need. Decor is their key selling point as the ambience recreated in their different rooms types related to cities in the world is their charme.
ON the down side, the WIFI...never understood how to find it...perhaps signal is too weak.
Excelent menu at their restaurant, but pricey for the morrocan and exotic dishes.
Location is perfect, 1 block away from universitadt platz where you can get the bus to the main train station...same location to drop off on your way in.
Cleanliness more than correct...tiny walls...could here other guest noises.
If less than 100eur a night, I would totally recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Friendly staff, who escorts you to your room, which is also essential to understand the elevator.

Rooms were nicely decorated by hot... until the mid of the night, when it was cold.

The beds are extremely hard (as Germans like it) and have not enough pillows, but they provide them upon request.

There is only one small blanket on the bed, which was not so nice when I woke up in the midst of the night due to the cold.

No WiFi nor minibar, is not what you expect nowadays.

Good beakfast.

Room Tip: All are special, but the staff thinks that Marakech is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
ArtHotel Heidelberg
ArtHotel Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weisser Bock
Weisser Bock
#40 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel

Property: Hip Hotel
Address: Hauptstr. 115, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hip Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing