We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, very nice, well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Over the years this small hotel just steps away from the Heidelberg City Hall has served us very well. The rooms are quiet and adequate. There is no elevator so you must schlepp luggage to the upper floors. The breakfasts are very good. All in all, a good bargain.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if the schlepping will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a twin room for 2 nights in August. The room was huge and the bathroom was just outside our bedroom door. This hotel is older style and we identified the furnishings as quite outdated, this is not reflected in the websites pictures. The level of cleanliness was very good in the bathrooms and rooms. There was a bad smell of urine in the hallway one night and when we asked about this were told that someone had stayed with their dog and it must have peed in the hallway - the smell was better the next day but I would not have booked if I’d known that pets were allowed in the hotel. The biggest downside to our stay was the unfriendly reception we got from the english man who greeted us, he was also sarcastic when we departed. On a good note the hotel has a great location within easy walking of all the key sites in Heidelberg. Based on overall experience I would probably find somewhere else to stay next time in Heidelberg.

.
the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here last week with my wife and have no complaints. Perfect location, quiet, clean, & spacious room. We had a balcony with a great view which was very nice. I liked that there is a wonderful bakery about 200 feet from the hotel. There is also an ATM next door. Comfortable bed. Plenty of space for clothes. Good shower with plenty of pressure and hot water. No issues.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immer-sonnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is right on Kornmarkt, a half block from the parking garage at the base of the funicular to the castle. It's half a block off the main shopping street, so it's perfectly located. We had a balcony room, which is worth the extra charge. Breakfast was downstairs. The staff was pleasant - the even loaned us umbrellas (which we did not need).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very nice and comfortable. It had a balcony overlooking the MarketPlatz, right next to the railway to the Castle. After we cam down we discover that by foot is extremely close to the hotel, if you don't mind walking upstairs. Breakfast was good, though not included. We asked about a laundromat nearby, but the answer from the staff member was: They are far from here, give it to me and I'll do it in one of our machines". Amazing!!!! Next day in the morning, our laundry was made, folded and everything. And they didn't charge us!!!! That's how nice the staff is.
We will stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We booked two rooms in this hotel -- one for 110 Euros and one for 70 euros. If you stay here book one of the A,B or C rooms as they have more space and bathroom. The cheaper room shared a bath and had no TV. Despite the fact that we were there in the middle of winter it was still very expensive. As a result many of the tourist shops are dismissive of their customers.
The hotel was nice and had a terrific view of the corn market. We didn't eat there because breakfast was 9 Euros.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank dlaberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I booked Hotel-Garni am kornmarkt following a recommendation in a website. It was quite a small family-run hotel in an old historic building with not many facilities. The guest room was clean and average with a reasonable price (I booked a quad room, so it was quite jam-packed for 4 adults). However, the location was really great. It located near a public parking building and almost adjacent to the Tram station to Heidelberg Castle, which is the main tourist spot. It was also directly on the main street of the town (Hauptstrasse), with lots of shops, bakery, restaurants, and nightlife. I would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a convenient accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nattysjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Hotel Goldener Hecht
#39 of 76 in Heidelberg
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#18 of 76 in Heidelberg
124 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#55 of 76 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#38 of 76 in Heidelberg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt

Address: Kornmarkt 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing