We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location, clean and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is right on Kornmarkt, a half block from the parking garage at the base of the funicular to the castle. It's half a block off the main shopping street, so it's perfectly located. We had a balcony room, which is worth the extra charge. Breakfast was downstairs. The staff was pleasant - the even loaned us umbrellas (which we did not need).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very nice and comfortable. It had a balcony overlooking the MarketPlatz, right next to the railway to the Castle. After we cam down we discover that by foot is extremely close to the hotel, if you don't mind walking upstairs. Breakfast was good, though not included. We asked about a laundromat nearby, but the answer from the staff member was: They are far from here, give it to me and I'll do it in one of our machines". Amazing!!!! Next day in the morning, our laundry was made, folded and everything. And they didn't charge us!!!! That's how nice the staff is.
We will stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We booked two rooms in this hotel -- one for 110 Euros and one for 70 euros. If you stay here book one of the A,B or C rooms as they have more space and bathroom. The cheaper room shared a bath and had no TV. Despite the fact that we were there in the middle of winter it was still very expensive. As a result many of the tourist shops are dismissive of their customers.
The hotel was nice and had a terrific view of the corn market. We didn't eat there because breakfast was 9 Euros.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank dlaberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I booked Hotel-Garni am kornmarkt following a recommendation in a website. It was quite a small family-run hotel in an old historic building with not many facilities. The guest room was clean and average with a reasonable price (I booked a quad room, so it was quite jam-packed for 4 adults). However, the location was really great. It located near a public parking building and almost adjacent to the Tram station to Heidelberg Castle, which is the main tourist spot. It was also directly on the main street of the town (Hauptstrasse), with lots of shops, bakery, restaurants, and nightlife. I would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a convenient accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nattysjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

For a European hotel, this was great. A very cute town with a very cute hotel. I had booked a room directly a month in advance, I checked in and the room was unavailable so I was upgraded. The rooms were great, comfy bed with linens, excellent location away from the busy shopping street. Breakfast was really good. Staff was nice, very low key hotel with charm.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peer_giemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nordlicht2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Hotel Goldener Hecht
#44 of 76 in Heidelberg
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#17 of 76 in Heidelberg
125 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#54 of 76 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#34 of 76 in Heidelberg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt

Address: Kornmarkt 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing