We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosshotel Molkenkur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schlosshotel Molkenkur
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
london
1 review
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were there for a course, it is absolutely excellent. nice view and cozy and nice staff, and also great food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fslcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
25
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Molkenkur was an unexpected find via Easy-to-Book. Located just above the old Schloss in the most beautiful and historic part of Heidelberg you can park your car and walk or take the funicular (right beside the hotel) down to the best sights of the city without the parking hassles that can accompany a trip to the old parts. The room we were given was the largest in the hotel (from the fire escape plan) and the bathroom was also huge. The best aspect was being able to look down to the Schloss, the old bridge and even all the way to Mannheim down the Neckar River valley including the amazing sunsets. I stayed in the cold months but could image dining on the terrace below the rooms in the restaurant would be wonderful in the summer months. There was no kettle or fridge in the room. The linen was good quality and the heating and sound proofing were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreignforays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

After driving 1.5hrs from Frankfurt, we arrived at this hotel on Check In time 2pm, to be informed that our room would be ready in another 20mins. After waiting 30mins, we were given our room key but soon discovered that the room had not been cleaned or made up for our arrival. I ended up walking up the hallway to ask the cleaner when she could attend to our room. To her credit, she skipped all of the other rooms along the hall and came straight to our room to prepare it.

The room itself was very large, had everything necessary (but very small bathroom) and had a spectacular view of Heidelberg and the river. As we arrived on Sunday, the hotel was not very full and we weren't bothered by noise.

We had dinner on Sunday night in the hotel restaurant. There were only a few diners and the menu displayed minimal choice. One thing that did lessen our appetites was the number of small mosquitos buzzing around our table (we swatted at least 6 of them). Breakfast was typical - cheese, salami, hard boiled eggs and cereal.

The hotel is located right next to the Funicular railway, which can take you up to Konigstuhl (awesome view of town and surroundings) or down to Heidelberg Castle (definately worth a look) and the town. Parking is free.

This hotel is good if you're only staying for 1-2 nights, are craving some space and want to experience an awesome view of the town (particularly in the early mornings when the mist comes down the river valley).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamelSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heidelberg hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

There are wedding receptions and evening parties held at the hotel every Saturday night. I had to change rooms at 2am because of the noise.

I was told by reception that the party would not finish till 4:30am!!

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Exp_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

I booked this hotel because it was not the normal chain hotel and wanted to experience a local hotel. The directions from the website map were very helpful and the although it is not in the city center there is a tram that is within a stones toss of the hotel. Parking is horrible in town so the tram was a great plus stops were the Castle and City Center. If you like to walk you can also walk to the Castle.

The couple who own this place are very friendly and helpful. I sent an email to confirm my stay and it was done. The breakfast was very nice and had many cold items to choose from. If you want a hot brunch then join the many locals who come to the Sunday brunch it was packed. Cost was @ 20 plus euro.

It is by far the best view in town. I had the room with the balcony which had a two twin beds to make a king size or you can split them to make two twins. The bathroom was small but it had what you needed.

I have been in the hotel business for over 15 years and really enjoyed this hotel it was worth the euro, drive and the view.
I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Pam
Houston Texas USA

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

We decided to stay here on the basis of the lovely views shown on the website. I've no idea when the picture was taken, but it's pretty clear that the artist who drew the picture had an active imagination as all that can be seen from the hotel terrace is trees and certainly not the schloss.

Apart from that, as with many hotels in germany there was no air conditioning. This usually isn't a problem, but in this hotel it was incredibly stuffy (probably because the trees stopped any breeze from blowing in) and because the curtains were very thin.

Add to that walls so thin that you could here everything (walking, talking, midnight bathroom visits) and we were delighted that we were leaving this hotel after one night (and about 5 hours sleep).

On the upside, the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
1.0 mi away
Parkhotel Atlantic
Parkhotel Atlantic
#41 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
#51 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Molkenkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Molkenkur

Property: Schlosshotel Molkenkur
Address: Klingenteichstr. 31, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Molkenkur Hotel)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Molkenkur 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique venue situated above the famous Heidelberg Castle and next to the historic cable car. The ***Hotel is equipped with a full service restaurant, banqueting/meeting rooms and terraces offering exceptional views. On clear days, you are guaranteed a spectacular view of the sunset which will make your visit to the Molkenkur unforgettable. The scenic location is only one mile from Heidelberg`s old town. Free parking for guests, WLan access in lobby and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schlosshotel Molkenkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molkenkur Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing