We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Travelling through Heidelberg from chunnel to Bayreuth - needed a place to rest and briefly enjoy the historic City. Delighted to get a promotion of superior twin room plus breakfast included. Hotel on one main streets and easy to find - locating basement car park was confusing - clearer signage needed. Good welcome and great room - with compact but lovely en-suite shower room & toilet.
Staff very knowledgable about nearby attractions. We went to Old Town in the evening and found a really good value pub with very tasty food. Excellent hotel breakfast, loads of choice and good quality. Very enjoyable stop-over - left with a smile on our faces.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Smithyian,

thank your for your review.

We are happy, that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that we will be your first choice again nex time you visit Heidelberg again.

Best regards
Alexander Greve

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 504 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel in the central of the city, very clean.
the room was comfortable and big enough.
the bathroom was clean and big enough.
The extra services was missing, like
no free wifi!!! and no parking!!!
The staff was correctly And showed willingness to help

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avinoam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you for taking time, to share your experience in the Holiday Inn Express.
I am pleased to read, that you had a nice stay in heidelberg. Concerning your comment about the wifi, I am happy to tell you, that we will offer this service free of charge, from 1st of May.
We are looking foreward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Katherina Knab
Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is located right in front of a Tram station and open area all around. All important places are quite close to hotel or very much approachable from Hotel.For Indians i would like to inform that these are budget hotel series from holiday inn and shall not be compared with Holiday inn hotels in India . IN India The Name Holiday inn is associated with Lots of service and luxury but here these are similar hotels like Ginger with self service concept.
Hotel restaurant is reasonable in size and mostly caters to need of Non Vegetarians and even in the breakfast there is little choice for vegetarians.
Staff of the hotel should be little more polite and should show little hospitality which we felt was quite lacking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear TAlok,

first of all we want to thank you for your comments.

You perfectly described the differences between Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Thanks for doing, because it will help to avoid failing expectations due to misunderstanding the brands. While Holiday Inn is more luxery as you wrote, providing leisure facilities, a restaurant for dinner or room Service, Holiday Inn Express is focussing efficiency. You will get what you Need and due to this we are the right choice for everyone who expect Efficiency. Breakfast (Continental Buffet without any hot items) is included in rate and also for the second Person, Wifi is free of Charge for all guests and if you forgot your toothbrush or you need a sewing kit, we are happy to provide you.

We also want to thank you for your feedback regaring our staff´s courtesy, because we will use your review for Training.

We hope, that you enjoyed your stay though we did not provided all luxery you probably expected before and would be happy to welcome you again, next time, you stay in Heidelberg.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent five nights here while we explored Heidelberg. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. Tea/coffee making facilities are in the room, as is a security safe. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and very tasty, the only thing we really didn’t like was the watered-down fruit juice. Would recommend this hotel - very good price and very convenient with tram stops just outside and it’s only about a 10 minute walk from the main station. Oh, and there’s a good supermarket right next door, too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lidayM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Jr. Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear H0lidayM0nster,

thank you very much for sharing your nice comment.

We are happy to receive comments such as yours, to improve our service even further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Katherina Knab, Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is brand new and the room still smelled of new furniture. The room was not very large but sufficient. Everything worked fine with the exception of the internet for which the staff admitted there were problems. Of course they charge for internet service but not if you are a member of the holiday inn loyalty program so join before you leave. The original hotel employee I dealt with was as cold as ice, but later employees were extremely helpful. Breakfast was disappointing - usual hotel fare, and its a mad scene as the breakfast room cannot facilitate the numbers. The location is about 3 blocks from the main train station and a healthy walk to the old city. Pay parking is on a lower level. No fitness room or swimming pool just in case you were expecting one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear bruce a,

thank you for your review.

First of all we are happy to announce, that WIFi will be free of Charge beginning 1st of May to all our guests. Additionally we want to inform you, that we are currently looking for an alternative Internet Provider to offer a better performance at WIFI.

With your comments regarding our staff behaviour during arrival, you help us very much to identify our training needs and inprove our Service. Many thanks to you again.

We hope, that you will choose us again for your next stay in Heidelberg to see the changes we did in the meantime.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week starting March 15th, and I was enjoying it. Traveling alone, even though the room seems to be small(double bed and small sofa), it is enough for one person.

The hotel is close to the Hauptstrasse, maybe a 5-8 minutes walk, so very convenient.

The layout is well thought, however the TV has no English news channel(s), the WiFi once that you signed the membership at reception, is free, however if you have a 2nd device you cannot sign in, or in other words you can have 1 device using WiFi at any point in time but not more than 1.
A major issue I found is the countersink power outlets!!! I was lucky enough that 1 piece of my travel kit, could make the connection with my power adapters; I do not understand why they do not use flat power outlets in hotels?!

Also instead of wired Internet outlets would be better to have the the USB outlets...were none present.

Room was quiet and the bed was comfy.

Reception personnel was helpful and courteous. The bar had good tap beer, that's a bonus already.

The breakfast is very good and offers plenty of choices along with a good cup of coffee.

The overall impression was 9 out of 10, considering the items mentioned above, however a great time in a good new hotel.
Definitely I will choose to stay here again when traveling back in town and also I will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you chose a room facing the front street, is still OK, as the room is quiet despite the traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Adrian S,

thank you, that you sent us your Feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and also happy to announce that WIFI will be free of charge for all guest beginning 1st of May 2014.

And if you stay with us next time, you will get as much login voucher as you need to use all devices.

Hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards
Alexander Greve

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week. It was really nice. Seems to be brand new. Close to town and the train station. Took the shuttle from Frankfurt airport and it dropped me off a few blocks away from the hotel. 5 minute walk. Hotel is nice. Rooms were small, but that is a German thing. Hotel was clean. Loved the breakfast. Make sure you get there early because it can be picked over pretty quickly. Front desk staff was good. Parking in the lot below the building worked out well. They did not have any English news channels. Most were in German. Internet worked fine. Hotel is not grand, but does provide the basic needs for a traveler. Room was a little crowed. Otherwise, place is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim-Mey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Jim-Mey,

Thank you very much for sharing your friendly comments.

We are always happy to receive comments such as yours, to improve our service even further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#11 of 75 in Heidelberg
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#7 of 75 in Heidelberg
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 75 in Heidelberg
905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 75 in Heidelberg
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre

Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 23, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $95 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of the Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg City Centre hotels central location between Heidelberg main station (Hauptbahnhof) and the bustling Hauptstrasse shopping street. A contemporary building on a lively avenue of bars and restaurants, the Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg City Centre is a short stroll from famous attractions such as the Heidelberg Castle and the historic Old Town.We are a few minutes’ walk from the Neckar River where you can cross medieval bridges to reach the centre of this Renaissance university city. The hotel is also conveniently close to the Heidelberg Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing