We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Appropriate Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Appropriate Location”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is located right in front of a Tram station and open area all around. All important places are quite close to hotel or very much approachable from Hotel.For Indians i would like to inform that these are budget hotel series from holiday inn and shall not be compared with Holiday inn hotels in India . IN India The Name Holiday inn is associated with Lots of service and luxury but here these are similar hotels like Ginger with self service concept.
Hotel restaurant is reasonable in size and mostly caters to need of Non Vegetarians and even in the breakfast there is little choice for vegetarians.
Staff of the hotel should be little more polite and should show little hospitality which we felt was quite lacking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear TAlok,

first of all we want to thank you for your comments.

You perfectly described the differences between Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Thanks for doing, because it will help to avoid failing expectations due to misunderstanding the brands. While Holiday Inn is more luxery as you wrote, providing leisure facilities, a restaurant for dinner or room Service, Holiday Inn Express is focussing efficiency. You will get what you Need and due to this we are the right choice for everyone who expect Efficiency. Breakfast (Continental Buffet without any hot items) is included in rate and also for the second Person, Wifi is free of Charge for all guests and if you forgot your toothbrush or you need a sewing kit, we are happy to provide you.

We also want to thank you for your feedback regaring our staff´s courtesy, because we will use your review for Training.

We hope, that you enjoyed your stay though we did not provided all luxery you probably expected before and would be happy to welcome you again, next time, you stay in Heidelberg.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    221
    79
    15
    9
See reviews for
125
135
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent five nights here while we explored Heidelberg. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. Tea/coffee making facilities are in the room, as is a security safe. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and very tasty, the only thing we really didn’t like was the watered-down fruit juice. Would recommend this hotel - very good price and very convenient with tram stops just outside and it’s only about a 10 minute walk from the main station. Oh, and there’s a good supermarket right next door, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Jr. Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear H0lidayM0nster,

thank you very much for sharing your nice comment.

We are happy to receive comments such as yours, to improve our service even further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Katherina Knab, Junior Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is brand new and the room still smelled of new furniture. The room was not very large but sufficient. Everything worked fine with the exception of the internet for which the staff admitted there were problems. Of course they charge for internet service but not if you are a member of the holiday inn loyalty program so join before you leave. The original hotel employee I dealt with was as cold as ice, but later employees were extremely helpful. Breakfast was disappointing - usual hotel fare, and its a mad scene as the breakfast room cannot facilitate the numbers. The location is about 3 blocks from the main train station and a healthy walk to the old city. Pay parking is on a lower level. No fitness room or swimming pool just in case you were expecting one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear bruce a,

thank you for your review.

First of all we are happy to announce, that WIFi will be free of Charge beginning 1st of May to all our guests. Additionally we want to inform you, that we are currently looking for an alternative Internet Provider to offer a better performance at WIFI.

With your comments regarding our staff behaviour during arrival, you help us very much to identify our training needs and inprove our Service. Many thanks to you again.

We hope, that you will choose us again for your next stay in Heidelberg to see the changes we did in the meantime.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week starting March 15th, and I was enjoying it. Traveling alone, even though the room seems to be small(double bed and small sofa), it is enough for one person.

The hotel is close to the Hauptstrasse, maybe a 5-8 minutes walk, so very convenient.

The layout is well thought, however the TV has no English news channel(s), the WiFi once that you signed the membership at reception, is free, however if you have a 2nd device you cannot sign in, or in other words you can have 1 device using WiFi at any point in time but not more than 1.
A major issue I found is the countersink power outlets!!! I was lucky enough that 1 piece of my travel kit, could make the connection with my power adapters; I do not understand why they do not use flat power outlets in hotels?!

Also instead of wired Internet outlets would be better to have the the USB outlets...were none present.

Room was quiet and the bed was comfy.

Reception personnel was helpful and courteous. The bar had good tap beer, that's a bonus already.

The breakfast is very good and offers plenty of choices along with a good cup of coffee.

The overall impression was 9 out of 10, considering the items mentioned above, however a great time in a good new hotel.
Definitely I will choose to stay here again when traveling back in town and also I will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you chose a room facing the front street, is still OK, as the room is quiet despite the traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Heidelberg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Adrian S,

thank you, that you sent us your Feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and also happy to announce that WIFI will be free of charge for all guest beginning 1st of May 2014.

And if you stay with us next time, you will get as much login voucher as you need to use all devices.

Hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards
Alexander Greve

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week. It was really nice. Seems to be brand new. Close to town and the train station. Took the shuttle from Frankfurt airport and it dropped me off a few blocks away from the hotel. 5 minute walk. Hotel is nice. Rooms were small, but that is a German thing. Hotel was clean. Loved the breakfast. Make sure you get there early because it can be picked over pretty quickly. Front desk staff was good. Parking in the lot below the building worked out well. They did not have any English news channels. Most were in German. Internet worked fine. Hotel is not grand, but does provide the basic needs for a traveler. Room was a little crowed. Otherwise, place is fine.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Mey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jim-Mey,

Thank you very much for sharing your friendly comments.

We are always happy to receive comments such as yours, to improve our service even further.

I am looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is brand new and a great choice for short staying in Heidelberg. Clean, new and I paid a good price. You can walk 10-15 minutes to both the main station and the city center from the hotel. There is no restaurant but they serve breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear KAL2008,

thank you for sharing with us your experiences, you did during your stay.

We are very happy, that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Last night my father, my brother and their fellow travellers were supposed to arrive at Holiday Inn Expressed, Heidelberg where they had booked rooms for the night.
Due to traffic jams on the way they arrived this morning around 7 o'clock.
They had travelled more than 1600 km so naturally they were exhausted and just wanted to get to the rooms for which they had paid in advance. They were given the keycards but it turned out that they couldn't open the doors.
The receptionist didn't assist them at all and said that access was denied because they were late.
Then they asked to at least use the toilets in the common area of the hotel but they were not allowed to.
So after all this, they just had to leave the hotel for which they paid for without being given any service or assistance. There is no need to mention that they weren't offer any refund.

We are wondering if this is your idea of good hospitality and if this is how you treat all your guests who are late due to unforeseen circumstances?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Halli G,

thank you for your Feedback.

First of all I want to apologize for the inconvenience, your family and friends experienced with us.

As the Hotel Manager I currently investigate in this case and would appreciate, if you send the Reservation Details directly to me at alexander.greve@fmhos.com. Afterwords I will come back to you to find a solution.

Best regards

Alexander Greve
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 23, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of the Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg City Centre hotels central location between Heidelberg main station (Hauptbahnhof) and the bustling Hauptstrasse shopping street. A contemporary building on a lively avenue of bars and restaurants, the Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg City Centre is a short stroll from famous attractions such as the Heidelberg Castle and the historic Old Town.We are a few minutes’ walk from the Neckar River where you can cross medieval bridges to reach the centre of this Renaissance university city. The hotel is also conveniently close to the Heidelberg Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing