We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked It Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reading, PA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We Liked It Fine”
Reviewed November 17, 2007

After reading the reviews, I was skeptical about having booked this hotel, but we are Platinum Priority Club members, and took the risk anyway. First the positives. The hotel was easy to find just off the A5. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful whenever we needed something. They all spoke English, and happily switched over as soon as they encountered our mediocre German skills.We were upgraded to a large, spacious room because of our Priority Club status (without asking) and offered a few other perks (free drink, appetizer, US newpaper, etc.). The bathroom was large, clean, and well-appointed and everything worked fine. In-house dry cleaning service was same-day, and very good. Now the drawbacks: The hotel is not in the center of town. If you have a car, it is an easy 5-minute drive into town, and not a problem at all. You shouldn't plan to walk it since it is on a busy road and would probably be unsafe. Yes, the room did have a bit of a stale, musty smell. Maybe I was more conscious of it since others had mentioned it here. I don't know what to attribute that to, but it wasn't as bad as others related, and didn't put us off our room. There was construction going on across the road, and sometimes the vibrations in our room in the morning sounded like an earthquake. That was really annoying, but we weren't hanging out in the room much during the day anyway. We felt the 7 euros a day charge to park was a rip-off (its not like you're downtown in the city centre, where we could understand such a charge), especially for Platinum Priority Club members. The fee for the in-house internet is equally outrageous. We didn't patronize the restaurant or bar while at this hotel, and took all our meals in town. The bed wasn't really up to our standard. It was like two twins pushed together, the covers were weird (more like duvee covers) and the pillows were lumpy and flat. The brass & glass desk in our room was wobbly and made it unpleasant to use our laptop there. So if you're an American traveller going to Heidelberg, I would say consider this hotel, because it's a Holiday Inn and you'll know what to expect, but also note a couple issues that may make you think twice depending on your circumstances. I do believe we'd stay again on a return trip, given that the hotel worked fine for us and we're loyal Priority Club members.

  • Liked — Large, spacious room
  • Disliked — The bed.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Berks1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    156
    128
    41
    13
See reviews for
52
129
28
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This hotel was clean, and not a bad place to stay if you are looking to save money. However, the hotel is not close to downtown, and you cannot walk from this hotel to the main tourist area. If your not concerned with this detail then I would recommend it, but don't expect frills and thrills.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TrektheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The nice hotel in Heidelberg. A little bit far from old town and station( 10 min walk to the center ). there's cute swimming pool. The room and the staffs are OK. Avoid the extra charge when you ask something.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sornin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

This hotel was not very clean. When we arrived with Globus escorted tours they were not organized and ready with our room assignments. Our sheets in the room smelled like a dog had been on them and the toilet was not flushed making me think no one had cleaned them. If you go with Globus this is where they make you stay. When you stop in Heildelberg tell Globus you want to stay in town for a few hours and take a taxi back. Otherwise, we got to stay in town about 20 minutes. I would stay somewhere closer to town.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — no pool : far away from anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank valAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heidelberg hotels

London, England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Thanks to PriorityClub.com I received an upgrade to Executive Room.
I found it spacious,spotless,quiet and more than adequate.
All the staff were efficient,cheerful and fluent in English.
Room service was quick to deliver and good value for money.
The bar had a pleasant atmosphere and shut about 1am.
Now.....the location. The hotel is not in the middle of Heidelberg. There is nowhere to go around the hotel. To see,eat,drink you have to go to the centre of town, the following apply......
Taxi from the main station, journeytime 10mins, cost 7 euros each way by day, 9 euros at night.
5 minute walk to the bus stop, buses run every 20 mins, journeytime 20 mins, cost 2 euros 10 cents each way.
So do you choose this hotel but spend more on transport or a dearer hotel and less on transport.
If you are visiting Heidelberg for a couple of days I honestly think you can't go wrong by choosing this hotel. Even with the added bus/taxi costs I still think it represents excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness,efficiency,value for money.
  • Disliked — Nothing around the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noonehasthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium, Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We stayed here for one night in November and were very satisfied. On the basis of our experiences it is difficult to understand some of the reviews on this page. The hotel was definitely four star quality in all aspects and better than some other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. We were travelling by car so it did not bother us that the hotel is outside of the old town.Highly recommendable

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Diplomat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed here for a few days during the World Cup. It was okay, but nothing to shout about. The hotel is about a 10-minute drive from the main train station and a little longer from the old town of Heidelberg, where most tourists go. The location seems more geared to tourists who are traveling by car. That said, a bus stop is just five minutes away and connections to old town were quite convenient. The hotel is older and the rooms are not particularly nice. One of our rooms smelled like sewage that the reception desk lamely described as being due to recent "renovations." On other matters the front desk staff were helpful. The restaurant and bar are decent but there is only one other restaurant nearby; you have to take a bus or car to get anywhere else. I think there are better options in Heidelberg.

Helpful?
1 Thank RedChileLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
1.4 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
1.7 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
2.3 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#32 of 76 in Heidelberg
66 reviews
1.2 mi away
hotelo Heidelberg
hotelo Heidelberg
#55 of 76 in Heidelberg
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Property: Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Address: Pleikartsfoerster Str. 101, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes by public transport from the Old Town and the Heidelberg Castle the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg is a great location for those visiting Heidelberg for travel needs. This Heidelberg hotel is easy accessible from the highway A5 and just 5 minutes distance to the main station. Companies like SAP Walldorf, Heidelberger Druck, Henkel and Wild Werke are located in our direct neighbourhood. Relax in our modern business room featuring amenities like a quiet room location, a large working desk and free wireless internet access. Start your day with a healthy breakfast which contains a large variety of organic food. Experience a high quality room service or indulge yourself after a hard work day with a fine dining in one of our two restaurants. Our team is looking forward welcoming you. We can help make your day so join our fitness area and unwind in the sauna. We are here - ready with all you need to make your trip to Heidelberg a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing