We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Sleep”
Review of Parkhotel Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkhotel Atlantic
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Downtown Heidelberg hotels were all booked, so based on reviews we selected the Parkhotel Atlantic. Turned out to be a great choice. Due to the Christmas market the downtown area is very busy and crowded in December, and likely to be very noisy well into the night. The Parkhotel is located just five minutes drive above the town on the road that goes to the castle. Drive above and past the castle about 1km to find the hotel. Wooded location is very quiet and our room (Room 4 in main building) was quite large with an enclosed balcony. Very comfortable and quiet made for a good night's sleep after 14+ hours/9 time zones in transit. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection for a relatively small hotel.

Note: Hotel is not very practical for those without a car. Also, typical of many european hotels, double bed is really two singles with separate duvet covers.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eneljee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2005

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful nights at the Park-Atlantic in Heidelberg. We were taking a car trip all around Germany and wanted a hotel away from the traffic and noise. The Park-Atlantic was perfec; close to the Heidelberg Castle, and on a major hill over-looking the Neckar River.

We want to compliment the staff especially Christina who was so helpful when I had to send and receive faxes back to the states. The owner's daughter greeted us when we arrived and gave us a fan, an iron and an adapter for me to use my laptop.

The room was the largest we stayed in throughout our whole trip in Germany. The Breakfasts' were also equal if not the best on our trip.

What else can we say. If your going to Heidelberg...Stay at the Park-Atlantic

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

This hotel is in a very beautiful location above the city of Heidelberg. With two buildings, there is a choice of older or more modern accomodation. We stayed in the modern building in room 25. It has the most increadible view with corner floor to ceiling glass and has a feeling of 70's modern chic. The room was clean and comfortable with very good linens.

The breakfast that was included was quite good and the dining room is elegant. It is in the old residence and has a view over the garden and the valley.

Some have commented on the distance to the city. If you take the stairs beside the castle, then it really should only take about fifeteen minutes and the location of the hotel is worth the walk.

We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Billlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
868
Reviewed August 23, 2004

This is a very nice hotel - nice rooms, lovely grounds, lovely quiet neighborhood.

HOWEVER, it is very isolated - you are way up on the hill by the castle, and (other than the castle) there is almost nothing you can walk to - only 1 (very good restaurant) is anywhere nearby, no shops, no stores, etc. Go here if you want to put up your feet and relax, or if you have a car, otherwise you'll feel stranded.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2004

The Parkhotel Atlantic is a wonderful, quiet hotel, located above the castle in a beautiful residential neighborhood. We spent one night there last summer (June 2003) and we wished we could spend a week! The rate was very reasonable, the room was very comfortable, the staff was friendly and spoke excellent English, and breakfast was delicious. It's away from the hustle and bustle (and nighttime noise) of the old town, and yet it's easy to walk to the old town (about a mile, downhill on the way down, lots of uphill steps on the way back), if you're in reasonable shape. Note - a taxi driver may have a little trouble finding the place - you may want to ask for good driving directions. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

4  Thank GBMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2003

This hotel is in an excellent location above Heidelberg castle. The people there made us feel at home and went out of their way to serve us! Beautiful rooms and great breakfast in the morning! Would highly recommend!!

4  Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank hessepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Heidelberg
Hotel Heidelberg
#13 of 76 in Heidelberg
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
#52 of 76 in Heidelberg
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
1.8 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#18 of 76 in Heidelberg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Atlantic

Address: Schloss-Wolfsbrunnenweg 23, 69118 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $102 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parkhotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Atlantic Heidelberg
Parkhotel Atlantic Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing